We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coed y Brenin Forest Park

Coed y Brenin Forest Park
Ganllwyd LL40 2HZ, Wales
01341 440747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Ganllwyd
Type: Forests, National Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Mountain biking
Attraction details
Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent the day here, doing go ape in the morning and a walk in the afternoon. Lovely place with bike hire if you feel like doing one of the graded tracks! Visitor centre is good with a cafe that does big sandwiches.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not just for bikes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

On recent trip we took the "strenuous" volcano trail, but have visited center in past and done other walks. We bought walking maps there (good value) but there is also an excellent free app. Over Easter , despite catching glimpses of other walkers, and of many bikers, most of the time it was utterly peaceful. We had a lovely walk with beautiful sights. We were even lucky enough to see (not quick enough to photograph) a couple of deer. Truely lovely place , and only the main center has paid parking.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good and varied mountain bike trail centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Fantastic and varied cycle centre, albeit some parts showing their age, including the surprisingly small and poorly stocked cafe.

However the rest of the trails were fantastic, the bike shop had just the right amount of equipment in, if not massivley overpriced compared to the shop in nearby Dolgellau, and the parking reasonable for the day.

Obviously if you are going to go for mountain biking purposes I advise you search out specific cycling forums for more detail, however this ranks as average in terms of techincal difficulty and the black run is not particularly difficult.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Take a map with you!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We hired 3 bikes from Coed Y Brenin (by phone the day before we went); we were encouraged to take additional insurance in case we damaged them (I didn't want to risk potentially high charges, but felt that at £25 per bike, they might cover the cost of repairs out of the hire fees).

I had a good look in the cafe for maps showing the trails (I would have bought them if necessary), but couldn't find any. We went downstairs to collect our bikes, and I asked there if there were any maps available of the trails, and was told we should just try the blue trail, then maybe the orange one. I was nervous setting out in winter with no idea how far we were going, but having got this far, we didn't have much alternative.

We did enjoy the start of the blue trail, but must have missed a turning after about 20 minutes, and ended up at a public road, where there were no signs for any trails; we re-traced our steps up a hill, eventually finding the trail again. I was concerned that if we got too far into the forest we could end up lost and soaked, so reluctantly we took the bikes back, and decided it was an outing to do when we have printed off maps from the website in the summer.

On the way outside to the car park, we found there are some basic maps on boards, but you wouldn't pass these if you go to the hire place through the visitor centre; if I had know we could at least have taken photos of these for reference.

At £87 for bikes, insurance and car parking, it was a very expensive 1.5 hours. I would urge anyone visiting to take an OS map or print off maps before you go - and I think the place would be much improved by loaning people a laminated map when they hire bikes.

There's potential for a great day out here (nice cafe with friendly staff), but it's let down by price and lack of information.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Energetic Walking in North Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were in North Wales on our first visit with our dog and were out each day walking and sightseeing. We discovered Coed y Brennin Forest and decided to stop for a walk. There are different walks according to ability and health. There are well maintained paths for those who require a more gentle walk. We went on the Strenuous route. Everywhere was well sign posted. This route took us up and down on some very steep climbs and was full of waterfalls and fantastic scenery. It was great fun and we would thoroughly recommend it for those with an energetic and active disposition. Will definately go again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coed y Brenin Forest Park also viewed

 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Coed y Brenin Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coed y Brenin Forest Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.