We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aber Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aber Cottage
Save
You added Aber Cottage to your Saves list
Smithfield Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1DE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Aber Cottage is fantastic little find. We have stayed in Dolgellau a few times over the last couple of years as it is a great base for exploring North Wales. We stayed for two nights over the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend. Sarah & Graham were lovely hosts and very welcoming. The breakfast was amazing, the rooms were perfect. We will defintely be back and would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is a cottage style B and B but with the added bonus of being fairly central in Dolgellau. Also secure off road parking is an added attraction of this place (if you've been to Dolgellau you'll know what I mean).Just an overnight stay here but I was made most welcome, nothing's too much trouble.The room was cosy and well kitted out. Breakfast was fine with plenty of choices. Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham T, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Travelling the country working as an ecologist I have stayed in my fair share of hotels and B&Bs over the years and it's fair to say that Aber Cottage ranks as one of my favourites. Barbara is a fantastic host; friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The rooms are cosy, and Barbara's great artwork can be found in each room within the house. The breakfast is very good, not greasy at all and there is plenty of it! Aber Cottage is a relatively small B&B but that adds to the charm of this place; a cosy little cottage ideal for couples to enjoy (and there is a large family room if you want to bring the kids). If you work in the area (like myself) it is also ideally located for local services (shops, pubs, restaurants, etc). The Aber Cottage must be one of the few B&Bs in Dolgellau that has its own carpark, this is a unique feature in this town as parking is restricted throughout Dolgellau. In summary, this is a fantastic place to stay, the prices are extremely cheap when compared to other B&Bs in the area and the service is of the highest calibre- ENJOY.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Barbara Bebb was a perfect host - very friendly and helpful and made a superb breakfast. Useful local knowledge (e.g. avoiding the anti-English pub!). Lovely old cottage with pleasant room and features. Would highly recommend - brill! :D

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Was lucky enough to stay at this cottage with my wife and son in a family room. It was just what we had hoped for, being a well maintained and presented, yet traditional and charming Welsh cottage. The breakfast was great the host wonderful. Definitely one of the best B and B's we have ever stayed in and is located in a very unique and picturesque village. Secure parking at the rear is a bonus as it is hard to park in the village at times.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed with Barbara only one night but would have stayed longer. She is really sweet, has a great little B&B and makes really good food recommendations. Very good service overall, and parking was not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Nothing Was Too Much Trouble - Aber Cottage Gallery Guest House

Barbara Bebb, our hostess, could not have been more willing to make our stay at Aber Cottage a very happy one, which it was. In our case that included her cheerfully preparing us breakfast at 7 am one morning, making us tea and joining us for conversation along with her loyal terrier, Max, one chilly day, leaving the door to her private parking area unlocked and open for us one night when we were returning late, and recommending places to eat. Thanks to her, we experienced Y Sospan, with its excellent food, wonderful servers, and reasonable prices. Barbara sincerely wants guests to consider the common areas of her cottage as their home away from home. My wife and I stayed with Barbara for 3 nights. By way of background, over the years we have stayed in dozens of B&Bs throughout all of Great Britain.

The cottage is a beautifully restored lovely old stone building. The breakfast room is spacious and the adjoining sitting area is very comfortable and inviting. Our room, Number 2, The Degas Room, was roomy, light, and comfortable in every way. Barbara is a talented artist. It was enjoyable to appreciate the different subjects she has painted and the different styles she has used.

Barbara’s breakfasts were delicious and generous, and as I said, she was willing to prepare them for whenever we wanted them. Barbara’s website says that the cottage is “within easy walking distance to excellent restaurants and inns.” In our experience, “easy walking distance” could mean a 15-minute forced march, but in Barbara’s case it means right around the corner, literally, maybe 3 minutes at our leisurely pace. Her private, secure parking area is also a big plus. And my wife purred when she saw the friendly launderette directly across the street.

The Aber Cottage Gallery Guest House is a lovely place to stay in Dolgellau, and you can be sure that Barbara will make every effort to make your stay just as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyWrenDolgellau, Owner at Aber Cottage, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
What wonderful comments! Thank you so both so much for taking the trouble to write such a detailed and kind review about your stay here.............it's very much appreciated! Max and I look forward to your next stay with us. Take care. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aber Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aber Cottage

Address: Smithfield Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1DE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aber Cottage is graded as 3 Star by Visit Wales.The guesthouse is ideally situated in the town and within easy walking distance to excellent restaurants and inns. Guests will appreciate the ambience of the traditional stone cottage that benefits from good quality furniture and fittings for your comfort, with modern en-suite facilities to all rooms, TV, Internet access, complimentary tea/coffee, complimentary toiletries etc. Car parking, one per room, is in our own private car park with secure access.The guest sitting room and dining room has been decorated in a traditional style, as is the rest of the house, including guest bedrooms. There is a traditional style upholstered suite in the sitting room for guests to relax in at any time. The dining room has a built in breakfast bar where guests can help themselves to cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and fresh juice before enjoying their hot breakfast order.Aber Cottage is over 250 years old and due to the nature of the building, it may not be suitable for children under 8 years, or for those with limited mobility. Sorry, no pets allowed inside the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aber Cottage Dolgellau, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aber Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.