We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic nights stay!! Flawless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Y Meirionnydd

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dolgellau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Y Meirionnydd
Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dolgellau
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic nights stay!! Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is quite simply the best we have ever stayed in, bar none. The decor is exquisite, the hosts are amazing and the overall experience was second to none. Great food and top quality ingredients , the room was immaculate and the linen of an extremely high standard.
The owner of this amazing hotel is what sets it even further ahead from the rest, so approachable and literally cannot do enough for you as guests.
Will be highly recommending this fantastic hotel to all our friends and family and am already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: A higher floor is a little quieter as further away from restaurant,but all rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    28
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
107
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world but never have I experienced anything that beats this. Not only is the accomodation exceptional but the food is spectacular and the service second to none. The hosts make you feel special from the minute that you walk through the door. If you are looking to treat yourself look no furthewr

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Peter, many thanks for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We really do try to exceed our guests expectations when they stay with us, it's why so many come back again and again. We really look forward to welcoming you again.
Marc, Nick and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Thank you Mark and Nick and the rest off the staff for such a warm, friendly, knowledgeable and personal service. You are both very relaxed and humorous even when sleep deprived!

The hotel feels luxurious and romantic but is not at all stuffy or formal. From it's pristine appearance it doesn't look walker friendly but it certainly is. No horrified looks when we arrived dripping and covered in mud (but of course we immediately took off our mucky items before venturing further in). We are mostly used to camp sites and youth hostels so this was a big treat for us.

This is our second stay at Y Meirionnyd, both times for the New Year period and the main reason we returned is because of the atmosphere you created. This is evident by the amount of people - locals and hotel guests who appear to know you all by name and keep returning I'm sure, for all the same reasons.

We loved the food and atmosphere on New Years Eve and the fact that once you had a table you had it all night and into the early hours if you wanted. It was great to make friends with the other diners too.

Thanks once again!

Georgina and Fred

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Georgina & Fred, thank you so much for you great review. New Years Eve is a very special night for us, it's not just the busiest night of the year but it's also the night all our team can really relax and mix with our guests.
Not only residents but also all the loyal locals who come back year after year, most have already booked for the next one so you'll be in great company if you join us again - you'll know most of them already!
Kind regards,
Marc Nick & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Sorry this review is so late - I promised the owners I would write it on my return home!!

We stayed here in March 2012 for 3 nights, and we stayed in the room at the very top of the house (name escapes me) Met by the manager on arrival and made to feel very welcome and shown around. The house is beautifully decorated and very stylish. The room we had was simply beautiful with a fantastic bed and well appointed bathroom. All the finishings scream quality and there is nothing amiss.

Ate in the restaurant for the 3 nights and the food was superb, as was the wine. Service was attentive and informative without being intrusive. The food is sourced locally and they create some fabulous dishes as a result. Recommend booking as its popular with locals as well.

My family are originally from the area and I have very strong Welsh roots, so it was wonderful to show my future wife around my country with a comfortable base to travel from. It highlights what Wales has to offer at its best. Will stay again if i'm back in the UK anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellauhost, Owner at Y Meirionnydd, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review, we really appreciate it, no worries about the time it took to write!
It was our pleasure to look after you all and we hope we made a good impression on behalf of Wales to your wife - Cymru am byth!
Marc, Nick, Robin & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Y Meirionnydd twice now and think its a great place to explore the beautiful area. Rooms are very special and the service is Amazing!
We love the drinks selection in the bar too!
Nick & Mark are great hosts and go out of there way to make your stay as pleasant as the they can. The breakfast as also really tasty with a great selection!
Can't wait to return

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First time ive visited the Meirionnnydd, and very impressed I was too. Attended a works Christmas party in the restaurant, and the food and service was of the very highest standard. Very well and quality stocked bar with a superb selection of lagers and ciders that you wouldnt normally be able to buy locally, and the best selection of Penderyn ive seen at any restaurant or pub anywhere. Well worth a visit, as all the locals I know speak very highly of the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was a real find. Having been so disappointed with hotels in the more touristy parts of Snowdonia before, I approached it with scepticism - particularly when I noted how reasonably priced it was. I was however impressed from the moment I entered. The interior is chic and modern but retains the historic charm of the building. The staff were welcoming and efficient. My room was tastefully decorated - simple, but with nice touches like a feature stone wall, roll top bath and a chez longe. The beds were also very comfortable and lots of blankets were provided.

We ate at the restaurant and the food was very good. The steak in particular is recommended. As others have said, booking is recommended as this is evidently the place to eat in Dolgellau.

Two other tips for visitors - firstly, parking outside is for one hour only but free after 6pm so get there after 5pm and you are safe! Alternative parking is not far away. The second thing is that the rooms are generally quiet but the bin lorry passes near to one of the rooms at the back in the early hours (My colleague's room so not an issue for me).

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Y Meirionnydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Meirionnydd

Also Known As:
y Meirionnydd Hotel
y Meirionnydd Dolgellau
y Meirionnydd Hotel Dolgellau
Y Meirionnydd Dolgellau, Wales
Address: Smithfield Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1ES, Wales (Formerly Clifton House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Y Meirionnydd is a beautiful place to stay with the bonus of its own restaurant and bar in the centre of this beautiful Snowdonia town. Our three bedrooms and two suites are all en suite of course and feature White Company toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, free Wi Fi as well as many other little touches to make your stay as comfortable as possible.Add in superb, personal service, a lovely full breakfast and of course our superb restaurant for dinner and you have the makings of a perfect getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Meirionnydd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Y Meirionnydd to your Saves list