We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country house hotel experience but more intimate and far better value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage to your Saves list
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cader Road, Plas Gwyn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Country house hotel experience but more intimate and far better value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for my husband's birthday - chosen at random on internet but looked at reviews first. It was everything I could have hoped for : luxury feel, beautiful furnishings, attentive service and small-scale so very personal experience. I booked surprise candle-lit dinner for my husband Sat night... Sole use of dining room, delicious food and even a cake with candle and a chorus of Happy Birthday! Superb stay! Thank you so much! Cannot recommend enough!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
64
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Superb is how we would describe Plas Gwyn! We've just returned from a 6 night stay at this lovely B&B in Dolgellau Snowdonia and can honestly say its one of the best B&B's we've stayed in (and over the years we've stayed in a few!). We stayed in the Wynne Williams Room (the green one). The room and bathroom were spacious, quiet, comfortable, spotlessly clean, all mod cons and as the rest of the B&B, tastefully and beautifully dressed and decorated. You even have the choice of feather pillows a rarity and real treat in a B&B! Breakfasts in the lovely dining room were delicious and plentiful; we also enjoyed the company of various other guests from around the world! The owners are charming, nothing seems to be too much trouble. They so richly deserve to continue the success of this their first season after so much hard work in creating this exceptional B&B. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

.......this would be the one they did. A truly lovely stay in a beautiful house brimming with style and character. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate throughout with soft bed linen and lovely thick towels. Mineral water and milk provided in the fridge in the room and plenty of modern touches such as WiFi and iPod stations. The breakfast was top quality local produce with a good selection of cereals, jams and a full cooked choice too. Our hosts were really helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. great trip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Lovely B & B with very friendly hosts. Shades of traditional Welsh cottage decor with modern features in the bedroom. Bathroom was beautiful and modern even with it's exposed oak beams. House with a lot of history and ideally situated. Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A wonderful B&B where everything is thought of. Bottles of mineral water and fresh milk in your own fridge, IPod docking station, toiletries in the bathroom, a map of the town with recommended restaurants etc Bedrooms are beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Only problem was that at 6ft tall my fiance was a little too large for the quite small beds. Delicious breakfast too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A nice B& B in a quaint Welch town. We were greeted warmly by our host and shown to our twin bedded room on the top of the house. The bed part of the room is small, but the connecting bathroom is large and well equipped. There are some renovations going on in the house. We had a window pane replaced by a piece of wood. Otherwise, the coffee/tea making equipment worked well. We enjoyed the 2 bottles of water in the fridge. The TV worked well. WiFi worked well also. We came down and asked about a place for dinner and were given a sheet with a list of restaurants in town. We took the short walk to the Royal Ship Hotel which offered a 1-, 2-, or 3- course meal plan. We had fresh salmon and cod and shared. The food was quite good.
I've read the reviews on TripAdvisor, the owner wasn't overly friendly, but we didn't find his rude either. It rained the following morning so we didn't see the patio. The repairs must have been made on the banister. We didn't see them.. Breakfast was well-prepared and delicious and the couple from the south of France were interesting breakfast companions.

Room Tip: NOT on the top floor, if possible. It's a long way up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

A super B&B. Attentive owner gave excellent service. Very tastefully decorated rooms (the breakfast room is amazing!) The bedroom contained fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge, good satalite TV and easily available WiFi. The bathroom was fantastic with dressing table and a brilliant shower/bath with unlimited nice shower gels etc. Breakfast was fantastic and the owner served us an hour earlier because we needed to start cycling early. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage

Address: Cader Road, Plas Gwyn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Gwyn and Plas Gwyn Cottage are two grade 2 listed buildings just off the High Street in Dolgellau, offering excellent quality accommodation be it in the B&B or the Holiday Cottage. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service as well as serving a great breakfast lovingly cooked with local produce only. Dolgellau is located some 20 minutes away from the Barmouth Beach and 25 minutes away from Mount Snowdon. Plas Gwyn is located at the foot of Cader Idris for those who are keen on walking and cycling we are the absolute perfect spot ! We offer free private parking, free Wi-Fi, Mini Bar, Alarmed Bicycle Storage and Bicycle Workshop, Tea & Coffee making facilities. All guests are welcome to explore our Garden. We're looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage Dolgellau, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.