We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage

Save Saved
You added Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cader Road, Plas Gwyn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed just one night in Plasgwyn and had a fantastic time. The whole house is spotlessly clean, the room was clean, welcoming and had everything you could need. The hosts were so accomodating but not in the way. The house is refurbished to such a high standard and the owners obviously have a great eye for detail as everything seems to fit wonderfully well. I would recommend this b&b to everyone. The bathroom in our room (a double) was spotless and the shower was fantastic. I wish the hosts well with their business and i am sure they will go from strength to strength. Breakfast was great as well. I could go on and on, there really wasn't anything to fault!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plasgwyn, Owner at Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you, we went through great trouble to get out TV's to show all the channels, glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
49
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked Plas Gwyn more or less by chance and didn't know what to expect, but were very pleasantly surprised, particularly considering the very reasonable price per night.

The b&b is in a quite substantial house similar to all others in the small town, which has been refurbished to a very high standard inside. Our bedroom had a brand new ensuite-bathroom, multi-channel TV and a small fridge, (with fresh milk for tea and coffee), in the antique wardrobe, where we could also keep chilled a bottle of champagne we had bought!

The room was otherwise carefully furnished with other very attractive antique items, and traditional features also abounded elsewhere throughout the house, the centre-piece being the beautiful, Grade-II listed wooden staircase. A generous cooked-breakfast was served around a large antique table, in a fine dining-room full of other attractive objects continuing the period theme. The hosts could not have been more helpful and welcoming, while at the same time not being over-the-top! The location is also very good, being in a quiet place, but with many great restaurants a minute away in the town-centre. Just two points might need a little further consideration: tall guests (unlike us) might find the bed rather short in our room, and I found the TV quite hard to operate.

In particular, I'd like to thank the hosts for generously mailing to me a travel-book I had left there. On a personal note, I was slightly anxious, in such a rural place, about finding a b&b where gay visitors would feel welcome, but on this occasion was very pleased to find I had no need to be at all!

I understand this is a new enterprise, and I'd like to wish the owners every success, which they deserve!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plasgwyn, Owner at Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Duncan, thanks you very much indeed for your comments, it was no trouble sending you book back. All the best Stu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

WOW !!! This B&B is seriously good ! We arrived and were greated by the owners who are absolutely lovely. The house is amazingly old and really does take you back in time. Everything is immaculately clean, they told us they have just refurbished the whole house. We stayed in the King Size Room which was wonderful, huge windows in both sides of the room, pristine soft white bedding, a sofa to seat on and endless channels on the TV with a CLEAR picture! I really loved the breakfast which was served in the dinning room, full silver service… sooo nice, there was so much to choose from, they make their jam, the sausages and bacon are local and so on, a real spoil, we had a private parking spot just for our car for the first time ever We only stayed one night but I wished I had stayed longer, we want to live there. Can only praise them as really made us feel welcomed. Thank you very much and keep up !!!

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was absolutely wonderful, i would recommend it, it was the King Size
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plasgwyn, Owner at Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for you're comments, we're very glad that you have enjoyed the cottage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

This review is for the cottage attached to Plas Gwyn B & B.
Stayed for four nights and it was perfect for our visit. The cottage is one bedroomed with all the facilities we needed. The owners have added lots of touches that make it feel homely and welcoming- kitchen well equipped etc. There's a wood burning stove which was great after long walks in the chilly weather! Location is good for all the local amenities and walks in the area, and there's garden space at the back which would be great in summer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plasgwyn, Owner at Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We're absolutely delighted that you had a good stay in the cottage, you are right, the garden is a great little sun trap in the summer. Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I just love this place. You can see great care and attention has gone into everything from the decor to having a fridge in the room with a jug with fresh milk for your tea in the beautiful antique cups and saucers. Having shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in the bathroom is great as I always forget one of them. Nothing here says your old fashioned B&B. It really is just what you want to find in a home away from home. We stayed in Mr Wynne Williams room which was gorgeous with windows at both ends and lovely original shutters. Breakfast in the fabulous dining room was delicious with lots of choice from fruit and homemade yoghurts and jam to the full Welsh, ideal if you're planning to go on a long walk. Oh and if you want it, a packed lunch. Just going to check my diary to see when we can go back!

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms but if the king size was anything to go on they'll all be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plasgwyn, Owner at Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear 123SallyH123, thank you very much for your lovely comments. We're very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Plas Gwyn. We are new to the hospitality business and your comments are a great encouragement to us. The other rooms are decorated in the same standard as Mr Wynne Williams' room and in keeping with the house's great history and character. We look forward to seeing you again soon, should you find space in your diary... Regards Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone - and if you're wondering why there aren't more reviews it's because it's brand new! Gorgeous listed old house with pristine room, comfy bed and outstanding bathroom. Located in the centre of Dolgellau it is perfect for walking into the lovely little place for dinner or lunch, but the location also seems quiet and rural. Breakfast is in the beautiful old dining room with silver ware and excellent food! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone because you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plasgwyn, Owner at Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Katie B, thank you so much for your lovely comments, my partner, the "chef" is over the moon and very pleased that you have enjoyed the breakfast, we only serve local produce which we buy daily in Town, the cost is higher but we believe it really does matter. Kind Regards Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our two night short break here. It’s a lovely period house, clearly recently renovated and despite being near the centre of town was also very quiet. The bedroom took cleanliness to a new level , how can you make somewhere that clean? Quality bedding and towels added a touch more luxury and an in room fridge with fresh milk for tea in the room is another great touch. (Plus there’s enough space for a bottle of wine).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plasgwyn, Owner at Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear DGandCG, just a quick line to say thank you very much for your kind comments, we do take cleanliness very seriously and are very pleased that you had a great time while at Plas Gwyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage

Address: Cader Road, Plas Gwyn, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1RH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Gwyn and Plas Gwyn Cottage are two grade 2 listed buildings just off the High Street in Dolgellau, offering excellent quality accommodation be it in the B&B or the Holiday Cottage. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service as well as serving a great breakfast lovingly cooked with local produce only. Dolgellau is located some 20 minutes away from the Barmouth Beach and 25 minutes away from Mount Snowdon. Plas Gwyn is located at the foot of Cader Idris for those who are keen on walking and cycling we are the absolute perfect spot ! We offer free private parking, free Wi-Fi, Mini Bar, Alarmed Bicycle Storage and Bicycle Workshop, Tea & Coffee making facilities. All guests are welcome to explore our Garden. We're looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage Dolgellau, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Gwyn B&B & Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.