We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent period property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Preston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent period property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Afon Rhaiadr for two nights and very impressed. It is situated on a standard tight narrow road in the west of wales. Not difficult to find, with clear signpost to establishment and lighted up drive way. On arrival had a warm reception and taken to our room where all information was passed on. Nice touch to be asked if we would like a drink on arrival with biscuits if required.

The room was good with all that one requires for a small stay. It was warm enough and the bedding was apporpiate for the weather to keep anyone warm. The place is tidy and the bathroom with underfloor heating is good. Shower is a big walk in with duel shower controls with no problems providing enough hot water for two.

Breakfast was ar a good time and not rushed. plenty of variety and verry good standard. Always willing to provide what you want and happy to provide additonal drinks and toaset if required.

Overall it was a very enjoyable visit to west wales and would recommend this establishment

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you both for a lovely review and taking the trouble to write one. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again in the near future. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you want a luxurious room, fantastic food and access to beautiful Snowdonia, look no further than this wonderful Victorian House for your stay. Great hospitailty from the owners. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will definitely return! Check out the website. You will be surprised!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely welsh retreat - we really enjoyed a great dinner especially the homemade desserts, one of the best nights sleep we have ever had with a bed to die for, great spa bath and a superb breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Afon Rhaiadr bed and breakfast with our friends using vouchers from buyagift. We really enjoyed our stay. The location is beautiful, and is ideally situated for visiting the Snowdonia area. Janet gave us great ideas for our days out and was very helpful in every way. The house was built in 1820 ( I think ! ) and has been tastefully renovated.
The rooms were lovely, the initial welcome excellent and the breakfasts were good with plenty of choice. We would definitely return here and do the walks we had planned but were unable to do because of the snow! Thank you for a memorable stay .

Room Tip: We stayed in a room which was not ensuite ,we did have our own bathroom . However next time we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We had two nights in March, our base for taking in / on Snowdonia.

We received a warm welcome into room 5, and we were immediately impressed by the luxury standard of the ensuite room - bathroom under floor heating, light up mirror etc.

Toiletries and hot drink making facilities were readily available, which was a nice greeting to us weary travellers.

We decided not to have dinner (£25 for 2 courses / £29 for 3, which we felt was a little expensive). Breakfast was served from 830-10am, there was a good choice of cereals and juices, as well as the obligatory full Welsh breakfast - which I found to be most agreeable. My partner reported the scrambled eggs that she had to be a 'bit watery'.

There was a lounge area available which we perused but didn't use, looked comfortable and with a open fire - rather appealing to.

For the second night / breakfast see above.

If you want a quaint, quiet, luxury b+b with a warm welcome then this is the place for you.

If you are without car, you are a few miles from Dolgellau. Our only suggestion would be for the entrance area to have a night time light, as it was tricky to negotiate a wet path in near pitch dark.

Overall 4.8/5

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet J, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are thrilled that you ,as well as our other guests, have appreciated what we have done in our refurbishment and the quality of our rooms and facilities. Martin is a Michelin Star chef -the quality of his cuisine and the time required to produce this quality is the reason for the cost of our dinner menu, but to be fair to the guests who have not chosen to dine, they were not aware of what they were missing. We are so busy with evening meals that we have had to reduce them to Wednesday - Saturday so that Martin can have a few nights off!. With regard to scrambled egg this would be seriously scrummy milky/creamy not watery. We are pleased to be in the lovely countryside just outside of the town and know that guests who appreciate a peaceful, star gazing, scenic location outside of the hustle and bustle of the town cente, then we are the place for you. Outside lighting is being extended to the front drive gate in the very near future. We look forward to welcoming you - you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this after being bought a voucher for a 2 night stay but have to admit we will be going again.
The house was beauiful, in a lovely, peaceful setting. From the moment we arrived the friendlyness shone through. Our room (which we had upgraded to) was gorgeous, spotless, and the attention to detail was fantastic. The bed was the most comfortable bed i have slept in, the waterfall shower was wonderful and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was luxury! You are spoilt for choice with breakfast and they do offer evening meals fora charge but we had booked to go different places so didn't sample them.
If you are looking for a B&B which is quiet, beautiful, comfortable and friendly, this is the one. Definately worth a visit!

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms, all im sure are lovely, but these are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked from 31st Feb to 3rd March 2013 for a short weekend break as part of an offer. The B & B is about three miles from Dolgellau along the Bala road and is set in a lovely location. On arrival (about 5 pm) we stood by the car and listened. Silence apart from a babbling brook and birdsong - marvellous! We were greeted by Anne and plied with tea and coffee before being shown to our room - large, airy and comfortable.
It is an ideal location to investigate the area of North Wales and we put it to good use visiting Barmouth/Harlech/Conwy/Angelsey/Bala and Blaenau Festiniog. Only downside was the steam trains not running until the end of march.
Most evenings we ate in Dolgellau though we could have ate at the B & B. The meals are prepared and cooked by Anne's husband to cordon bleu standard! The breakfast menu was large and varied and served by a young man who was a delight to talk to and had a good knowledge of the area which he was more than happy to pass on.
All in all an excellent B & B which we would definitely use again if we want to go to the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afon R, Owner at Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We look forward to meeting you again. Best wishes Jan & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast

Address: A494, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Boutique 5* Gold Award Country House in 3 acres with garden, woodland&waterfalls.Stylish décor, luxury bathrooms, luxury bedding, towels robes etc.Set in stunning scenery of Snowdonia near mountains and coast.Walkers paradise. Cyclists & Adventure attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Rhaiadr Bed And Breakfast Dolgellau, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.