We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T.H.Roberts

T.H.Roberts
Parliament House | Glyndwr Street, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1BB, Wales
01341 423552
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: A fantastic Tea and Coffee House with the best cakes ever. Other reviews of Dolgellau B&B's mention it.
Bethesda, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

First and not the last visit to this fantastic coffee/cake stop in Dolgellau. DELICIOUS cheesecakes (and other lovely looking food) - vast array of teas. Delightful staff -polite, friendly, knowledgable. Can't sing its praises loudly enough.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    50
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A real find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Travelling to North Wales my companion and I stopped in Dolgellau to find some lunch. In town we came across T.H.Roberts. Others have written in previous reviews about the wonderful ambiance of this old hardware store with its original counters and display cabinets. As for food and drink the coffee was extremely good, the quiche and salad, the chicken, pancetta and spring onion baguette that we chose were excellent, tasty and well presented. The proprietor, her son and the other staff, mostly young and lively, were very friendly and helpful indeed. Altogether this was a delightful place to visit and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Dolgellau. We look forward to calling in again when we are in the area. It's certainly worth a detour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfy cuppa after a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Warm & comfy cafe in the middle of town (also allows dogs in) Particularly lovely cheese scone, coffees & tea very nice. Cheery, helpful staff.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Have visited this since it first opened. Love it and can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This cafe is worth a visit just to see the interior. The food is fresh and well cooked. Cakes all made by 'Mum' and absolutely delicious.

Family run - and they work hard. They deserve to be a success. Be prepared to fight off the locals - they love it too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of a kind gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a seriously good cafe and an absolute must if you are anywhere near this part of the world. They do a delicious Welsh rarebit but save room for pudding - the Bakewell cheesecake was easily the best baked cheesecake I have ever had (and as an American, I believe I know cheesecake!). On top of the food, the ambience is great: really friendly staff and a great place to get a feel for the community as it seems to be a regular stopping off point for the locals, too. And the decor is just stunning with loads of original fixtures and fittings and the most gorgeous old chandeliers. There's also wi-fi and a snug room - would be the perfect place to watch the world go by whilst writing a novel!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T.H.Roberts also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to T.H.Roberts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T.H.Roberts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.