We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings fine place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolgun Uchaf B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dolgun Uchaf B & B to your Saves list
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dolgun Uchaf, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AB , Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings fine place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed one night,, found it by accident, ,what a lucky find! Lovely spacious room with all facilities and wonderful shower. stable door allowed us to enjoy the gorgeous garden and scenery. Pleasant staff and decent breakfast with full English ,fruit ,cereal ,juice etc. Good value. The best place we stayed at in Wales.

Room Tip: We stayed in the court yard rooms, first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We spent a night here on a short break with family. The location was stunning! The rooms were very comfortable, we had one room in the main building and one in an annexe, both were quiet and well equipped. Following a night out in Dolgellau, we finished the evening with a drink in the cosy communal living room in the main building, perfect! The cooked breakfast the next morning was excellent! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We will definitely stay again and would highly recommend this to others!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

everything about dolgun uchaf was lovely the staff, the breakfast the rooms and surrounding area. Will be coming back one day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandovery, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I visited Dolgun Uchaf while visiting Coed y Brenin MTB trails.
I just wanted a cheap room for the night, this was the cheapest so I booked it. I was expecting much, but I was very pleasantly surprised.

I was staying alone and was given the Annex room. It is classed as a single room, but the bed was 3/4 which was nice and had the benefit of its own door.
While the room was fairly small it is plenty big enough for one person with a LCD tv, wardrobe, tea/coffee making and a nice en-suite.

The bed was comfortable and I had a good night sleep. Considering the price I didn't think breakfast was included, but it was and it was very nice. A few cereals available and cooked breakfast + toast.

Only one very small downside, if anything the room was too warm. I couldn't find a simple way to turn it down/off, but it wasn't too uncomfortable so I just left it.

Great base for anyone going to Coed y Brenin or just visiting Dolgellau area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

The good:
Situated outside of Dolgellau away from the traffic. Scenic and close to a few walks. King size bed was great and they had a good quality tv. The room was spacious. Breakfast was nice. Good overall value.

The bad:
The front door was so stiff and jammed that my wife couldn't open it herself and I had to apply a shoulder to jar it open every time. The room is right next to the camping area and apparently on the way to the ablution block, so there was quite a bit of traffic past the front door. Not very private. The curtain at the window didn't cover the whole window, so curious kids from the campsite could look in (not sure if any did). Service was a bit cold, but sufficient.

Overall, fine, if a bit rugged.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolgun Uchaf B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolgun Uchaf B & B

Address: Dolgun Uchaf, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 2AB , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolgun Uchaf B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dolgun Uchaf B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolgun Uchaf B & B Dolgellau, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolgun Uchaf B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.