We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Two Nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Mair House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bryn Mair House to your Saves list
Bryn Mair House
Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1SR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Two Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had the best time here....such a warm welcome from Pete and Jan....lovely room, so clean and warm and cleaned each day like in a hotel. Lovely breakfast. Great info on the area. Log fire when we got back from the restaurant in the evening. Long soaking baths in the great big bathroom. Totally spoilt and looked after. Can wholeheartedly recommend. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: ALl of them are lovely...in different ways, but ours was my favourite....big bathroom with a bath an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
84
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family. It was simply outstanding in every way- the tea on arrival, the beautiful guest lounge, the welcome and the wonderful hospitality of Jan and Pete and the bedrooms and bathrooms. We could not fault it. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hosts Pete and Jan will make you feel right at home in this very well appointed boutique B&B. Right from the very warm welcome and throughout our stay here we couldn't fault the place.

Our room was very spacious with excellent views from both windows. The things that set this place apart from shall we say, 'cheaper' hotels is the attention to detail and the quality of all the soft furnishings, fixtures and fittings.

Throughout this huge house you can see that a great deal of thought and style has been added. The communal reception room and dining room wouldn't look out of place in one of the interior design magazines that are available to look at. In fact the whole place wouldn't

Our particular room had a very comfortable bed with two addition chairs to sit on to watch the TV. This also has a DVD player with Freeview channels and there are also lots of DVD's to choose from and watch.

The bathroom had been converted to a wet room and again this was all done to a high standard and everything worked really well and was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast is taken in the dining room which has great views across the village. There is also a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit and juice along with hot breakfast with lots of fresh tea and coffee and nice thick pieces of toast with butter.

To add to all of the above, you also have the friendliness of Jan and Pete who are more than happy to chat. They will give you information on restaurants, pubs and walks and nothing seems to be a problem.

Free Wi-Fi is also available in the house which Jan will give you a code for. To get into the centre of 'town' it will take you a minute or two on foot and there is also free parking.

As stated above, I couldn't fault the stay at all and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing and comfortable few days away in Dolgellau.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a roll top bath but this isn't en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

New year break with my wife and friends. Met at the door. Big welcoming smile from Jan. Pot of tea and beautiful lemon drizzle cake on arrival. Spacious rooms. Modern but fitting for the location. Bed was very comfortable. Fantastic views. Peter and Jan available at all times. Superb breakfast. Homemade vegetarian sausages were a real treat. Good advice and information about local area. Affordable and reasonable. A real find.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 4 night at Bryn Mair and can honestly say this is the best B&B experience we have ever had. The hosts’ hospitality, from the moment we were welcomed on arrival to our departure, was fantastic!
Everything about our stay was equally good… the accommodation and breakfast... all superb!

The bed was extremely comfortable.The room / bathroom were spotless and decorated tastefully plus you have all the finer touches that you get with a 5* hotel. They provide a guest fridge, with water and milk, magazines, books, maps, and really lovely guest sitting room.


It is peacefully located, but within 5 minutes walk of the centre of Dolgellau and all the restaurants. The location is ideal for a walking holiday as you can drive to the base of Cadir Idris within 10 minutes.

Jan and Peter have a place where one really feels at home... nothing is too much trouble. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.
Martin & Kim.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, but I think all rooms will have been equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for one night and wished it was longer. All the reviews are spot on. This is a lovely place to stay from the tea and Welsh cake welcome, the cozy room with lovely toiletries to the breakfast that kept us going all day.

Room Tip: There are only three so I think any of them would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just back from two nights in this lovely B and B. Hosts, Jan and Peter were very welcoming and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The room was spotless and very comforable. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Drive up to the house is a little narrow but you soon get used to it. All in all a very relaxing couple of days in a beautiful setting. Will return again.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are similar but some have slightly better views than others. We stayed in room 2 and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryn Mair House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Mair House

Address: Love Lane, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bryn Mair House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Mair House Dolgellau, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Mair House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.