We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff friendly and helpful; food excellent; traditional style hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Ship Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Royal Ship Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Royal Ship Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Queens Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 32 Dolgellau B&B and Inns
Hampton in Arden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Staff friendly and helpful; food excellent; traditional style hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in a twin bedded room, en-suite. The room was spacious and although the decor is a little tired, the beds were comfortable and the room clean. There is a small TV and the hotel has free wi-fi. The bathroom was as clean as the old tiles would allow; the shower easy to use, although definitely waiting for a re-furb. However, we did not stay in the hotel to admire the decor!

Breakfast was excellent. Freshly cooked and served on a hot plate, so it didn't go cold quickly. We had two evening meals there, including a late Sunday lunch. I had cod loin, which was beautifully presented and cooked. Very good value for money.

The car park is situated in the rear entrance to the hotel and is a little small. Some people just come to eat at the hotel. If the car park is full, it is possible to park on the road, but you need to read the restriction signs. Once the diners have left, you can move your car into the car park.

The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and we would definitely stay there again, despite the out-dated decor. Our stay has put us off "chain" hotels, which lack character and flexibility.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShipHotel, General Manager at The Royal Ship Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Mollie

Our sincerest thanks for writing such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate that the rooms are a little tired, this is due to years of under investment by the previous tenants and we are working on resolving this as soon as possible. In the meantime we ensure our rooms are clean and comfortable. We very much look forward to you staying with us again.

Trevor Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    65
    43
    18
    22
See reviews for
31
85
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

For my boyfriend's birthday we and his parents are staying in the area for the weekend and came here for his birthday dinner. We were welcomed by friendly staff and served immediately. We got a lovely seat by the window and though the room was dated, it felt like a real pub, not like this chain rubbish. The food came quickly and was in massive portions, and wasn't expensive. We were doubtful of the Sunday roast as we thought it might be tinned/frozen veg but upon seeing others going past we realised we were wrong! I got the game pie which was huge and delicious, and piled with fresh veg. Perfect pastry - go get it!
The drinks were reasonably priced and with quite a variety, and brought to us which was a nice change from some pubs.
Nothing here was gourmet but it was delicious and there was lots of it, a place to check out!
(We didn't stay in the hotel so I can't comment on that I'm afraid.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShipHotel, General Manager at The Royal Ship Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are all glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Trevor Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

good stop over point,good for stocking up on the essentials i.e cakes bread milk wine,b&b,s around this area are expensive shaby sheek,as i say it is ideal for a stop over for supplies to the north.we stayed around this area once at penycoed hall never again,[once bitten twice shy].

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShipHotel, General Manager at The Royal Ship Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our town. It is in a great central location and is a perfect place to explore Snowdonia and North Wales. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Pen y Coed Hall and would hope that your stay there wouldn’t put you off staying in the area again. Next time your in the area why not pop in and see what we have to offer.

Bob Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in Dolgellau last weekend & went to the Royal Ship on both Friday & Saturday evening. We did not eat there but had a few rounds of drinks & found the place to be very friendly & cosy.
The bar man was chatty & said he was getting married next weekend so congratulations & best wishes to him.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShipHotel, General Manager at The Royal Ship Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Lorna

Thank you for writing a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Sir Johns Bar and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon. I have passed your congratulations on to Dave and Vicky who would like me to thank you for your kind words. Their marriage and party went well and they are now enjoying a well earned rest on their honeymoon.

Bob Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years and have an affection for both it and Dolgellau itself. Unfortunately, it appears to be suffering from some behind-the-scenes management convulsions at present. This may help to explain why (a) no record was found on arrival of my online booking, (b) cooked breakfast was unavailable one morning (no apology offered) and (c) no water issued from the hot water tap in my bathroom on another morning. It is to be hoped that the Ship can soon put its current vicissitudes behind it, as it is essentially a very nice hotel with pleasant, courteous staff (well, most of them), and has an ideal location for those like myself who rely on public transport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShipHotel, General Manager at The Royal Ship Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry to hear that there were a number of problems with your latest stay. Unfortunately, during that time we had some gas valves which failed and needed to be replaced this was done as soon as possible. However, this did result in us being unable to provide a cooked breakfast one morning and hot water being unavailable for a short period on another day. You were made fully aware of these problems and the cause of them at the earliest opportunity. Our Head Chef also personally apologised that he was unable to provide you with a cooked breakfast but made sure you were provided with an extensive continental breakfast buffet. So we are puzzled and saddened to see you have written a review of this nature on TripAdvisor claiming not to have been offered an apology. If you had bought these issues up with our staff during your stay or upon your departure you would have been offered a 20% discount on your next stay with us.
You are right to say the hotel has changed hands and this has resulted in some issues arising but the change in management has also resulted in a large number of improvements across the business. We hope that you will return in the near future to see any future improvements.

Katharine Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Shabby rooms, uncomfortable beds. We knew when we booked that our bathroom would be separate but were disapointed to discover there was quite a walk to find it. We stayed in three different places in Wales over three nights all priced identically. This was by far the most “budget” of the three and I think very overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShipHotel, General Manager at The Royal Ship Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We are aware that some of the rooms are dated and some of the mattresses are in need of being replaced. The hotel has recently changed hands and after several years of under investment by the previous tenants some areas are in need of work. This work is planned to commence in the near future and will involve all the mattresses being replaced and the rooms redecorated.
Whilst 17 of our 23 rooms are en-suite, 6 do have a private allocated external bathroom. Whilst most of these are located next to the room or directly opposite none are “quite a walk” away. We would of course prefer all our rooms to be en-suite, but in a 200 year old Grade Two listed building this isn’t possible as we are restricted in making alterations to the fabric of the building. We compensate for this by charging less for a standard room and our prices put us as one of the best value places to stay in Snowdonia National Park. We hope that you will return in the near future to see the improvements to our hotel.

Katharine Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I used The Royal Ship Hotel on 19th May 2013 and, overall it was an OK experience. It cost £90.00 for the night which included full English breakfast that had been per-booked.

We would have like to sample the evening meal, but because we had not per-booked it, we could not be served. I would have expected the staff to ask if we wanted the evening meal on arrival but unfortunately they did not which was a shame. In any case, they stop serving evening meals at eight pm!

Here are the positives:

A great breakfast.
Comfortable bed.
Coffee and tea making facilities in the room were good.
A great central location to explore the surrounding areas of north Wales and mountain walking.
Good service although somewhat slow.
Secure car-parking.

Now for the negatives:

Overall the hotel is somewhat tired.
Stop serving meals too early in the evening (EIGHT PM!).
No soap in the dispenser located in the public toilet downstairs. This made me wonder if the serving staff also used this toilet and, how (or if) they washed their hands.
We went for a drink in one of the hotel bars - Y Llong Fach (the Small Ship). The beer was tasty, but the tone of the place was destroyed by several male and female local yobs with their foul and very loud mouths. I heard more F words during the space of an hour in that bar than any lout football match. The hotel staff did nothing to quell this behavior - one female member actively participated in this loutish behavior. In the end, we decided that enough was enough, so we retired to our rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalShipHotel, General Manager at The Royal Ship Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are sorry to hear that everything with your stay was not to your liking, though we do appreciative the constructive criticism.
We are sorry you were unable to eat with us during the evening but our restaurant can be very busy and can fill up fast. So whilst we do make every effort to accommodate our residents we can not always guarantee a table during busy times unless pre-booked. We stop serving food at 8pm on a Sunday as we can not guarantee the availability or quality of our popular roast beyond this time. All other days we serve food to around 9pm, depending how busy we are.
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and recognise some of our great selling points such as our great central location and secure parking. We appreciate that some of the rooms are dated and this is something we are looking to rectify. The hotel has recently changed hands and after several years of under investment by the previous tenants some areas are in need of work. This work is planned to commence in the near future and will involve all the rooms being redecorated.
We check the public toilets regularly and the soap dispensers are topped up by our housekeeping team at least once daily or as required throughout the day. Any issues between checks can be bought to the attention of a member of staff who will rectify them immediately. We have a separate staff toilet and can assure you that all our staff wash their hands after using the facilities or at one of our hand-wash stations in the staff areas and we have a 4/5 food hygiene score as part of the “Scores on the Door” scheme.
Y Llong Fach is the hotel's public bar and as such can get rowdy like any bar in the country. I was in the bar that evening with some friends and can assure you that I did “quell the behaviour” when it became too loud. We also have a separate residents bar which has a quieter more relaxed atmosphere and you would have been more than welcome to drink in there should you have wished.

Katharine Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Ship Hotel

Address: Queens Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Dolgellau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Dolgellau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Ship Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The team offer you a warm welcome to The Royal Ship Hotel, Dolgellau. The Royal Ship Hotel is an early 19th century Coaching Inn, in the heart of the old Market Town of Dolgellau. We are ideally situated to explore the beauty of North and Mid Wales. Located in the picturesque Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is surrounded by mountains, rivers and fishing lakes and is only a few minutes drive from the coast of the Irish Sea. It is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break. The Hotel offers 23 bedrooms. There are 17 en suite rooms and the remaining 6 rooms have private allocated bathrooms. You can choose between Single, Double, Twin or Triple rooms. Some of our rooms have an attractive view over the Town Square and the Cader Idris Mountain Range. All rooms are well equipped with tea & coffee facilities, TV and local tourist information. We can cater for large groups and families. Pets welcome.Surrounded by Mountains, Rivers, Lakes and the Seaside, you are spoiled for choice with the activities this stunning landscape has to offer. Walking, Biking, Lake & River Fishing, Wild Water Rafting, Canoeing, Hill Climbing, High Adventure Parks, Trekking, Golfing, Bird Watching, atmospheric native Welsh Castles and the magnificent Edwardian World Heritage Castles. So whatever your interest or passion for the outside world involves, The Royal Ship is the place for you.This historic Coaching Inn has 23 individually furnished bedrooms, a residents bar, public bar with games room and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Royal Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Ship Hotel Dolgellau, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Ship Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.