We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality food in informal restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Y Sospan Cafe

Y Sospan Cafe
Queen's Square, Snowdonia National Park, Dolgellau LL40 1AR, Wales (Formerly Y Sospan)
01341 422269
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 23 restaurants in Dolgellau
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“High quality food in informal restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The quality of the food served in the evening at this popular, informal place is worthy of a more upmarket restaurant. I had crab cakes and sea bass, both excellent, and unlike some other reviewers I had no problem with the size of the portions.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you really enjoyed your meal and the potion size was just right for you. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    80
    59
    31
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food and service was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We nearly missed this restaurant as the downstairs looks like a tearoom. Upstairs the room is very nice and interesting. The food was good - tasty and good portion. The service was friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our upstair restaurant can be like a hidden gem. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over Priced Cafe Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went expecting good food, good service and good value, they failed on every aspect. The Pate we ordered came with the bread already buttered which we did not want. I had the soup which was nice. Our main meals came, I had Sospan's house special which came in a metal dish. My partner got the Salmon in sauce. we both sat there looking at them after the waitress said enjoy! and shook our heads thinking is this it? First of all no vegetables second I had no knife. We waited and waited but the waitress never returned so we managed to call one over and asked do we get vegetables with our food and could I have a knife, the answer to both was yes, so why were they not provided? My meal was at best a microwave dinner, my partners salmon was tasteless and had to put her own seasoning on it to make it palatable. We left feeling ripped off having suffered poor service and poor food with excessive prices. We would not go there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Y Sospan. I believe the pate you order was off our special menu which said it came with butted bread, if you had mentioned this to our waitress she would swapped it straight away.

Our Sospan gratin which I believe is the dish you are talking about is a very popular dish which has chargrilled chicken fillet topped with home cooked ham, homemade cheese sauce and creamy dauphinois potatoes. This dish is NOT a microwaved meal.

We season all our meat and fish but we don't like to over season so we do provide salt and pepper for people that like it more seasoned.

I am shock that our staff had not brought the vegetable our straight away and I have spoken to all our waitressing staff to make sure this never happens again.

We hope that you will give us a try again so we can enjoy what Y Sospan has to offer.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“welsh tradditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

great place with reasonable pricesб food is simple but very tasty, you have to reserve table better, sometimes its full.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Helen and Y Sospan team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a long wait for our meal despite only 3 tables in the restaurant being used. Disappointed with the size of portions, lamb casserole with not much lamb in it, and a small flat tray of vegetables for 2 people. At these prices we expected more than 1 piece of broccoli each and a few carrots, and diced potatoes. We have eaten here previously but during the day when it is a tea room. Also the tables are far too small and the chairs need cushions on them if the service means a long wait. Very disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah W, Manager at Y Sospan Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review. Im very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time in Y Sospan. I have made the chef and waitring on staff aware of your issuses and this will not happen again.
We hope you will give us another try to show you what we have to offer.

Helen and Y Sospan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Sospan Cafe also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Sospan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Sospan Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.