We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Moelwyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Moelwyn to your Saves list
The Moelwyn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Criccieth
edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location, comfortable rooms, great food, excellent public spaces and very accommodating service. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were there one afternoon and had to ask for forks, knives, butter because the waitress kept forgetting. Even worse, the double cream turned out to be shaving foam cream type (the one from a canister) and the jam was of poor quality and badly presented. Extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback which is always useful to us.
I am sorry you were disappointed with your afternoon scone. You visited us on the first day of opening for the season with new staff. No excuse for poor service though and we are looking into our on- the -job training and hopefully providing more supervision so thank you for your comments.
We do not however, and never have used 'squirty' cream, using only fresh local dairy products as we always try to support local businesses
The jams we use are from a reputable local company and are presented in individual portions for hygeine purposes. I am sorry you found that disappointing and hope you will visit us again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We had a very enjoyable four night stay at the end of November for a short break. In terms of location and how other B&Bs we were considering looked from the outside once we got there, we think we couldn't have chosen better.

Given a choice when booking, we opted for a larger sea view but smaller shower room and that is exactly what we got, a fantastic view across the bay and an ensuite shower room with rather a small basin, toilet and shower. It was great waking up to the sound of the sea crashing against the shore just a few yards outside the window.

The room was not particularly modern (except for the flat screen TV) but was clean, warm and in good condition except for a creaky bed frame.

Breakfast was excellent with all of the usual items available and very well cooked. Being out of season the restaurant was only open for reservations and was closed every night that we were there so we chose to eat out at Spice Bank (good), Tir-a-Mor and Poachers (both excellent).

Overall we had no complaints and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a night for our anniversary in June during a mini trek around north wales. It was our favourite place of the whole trip and we will definitely be back to stay for longer.

Our room had a lovely four poster bed, views of the sea and had lots of lovely little touches.

The restaurant downstairs overlooked the sea too and had lots of delicious sounding dishes to choose from. We went for the three courses set menu and the food was excellent. Breakfast the next morning was just as good.

Throughout our stay the hotel and restaurant staff were so welcoming and friendly and incredibly efficient too. They made us feel right at home!

Criccieth itself is such a charming seaside town. It's very beautiful and relaxing - perfect for a romantic break or a relaxing holiday for friends. Although it's quiet, it's within short distance of many attractions, such as Porthmadog and its steam train and Portmerrion.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoelwynRest, Owner at The Moelwyn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
great that you enjoyed your stay with us
i will pass on your comments to staff.
hope to see you again soon
regards, olwen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We Didnt stay here but ate on the terrace one evening. It has terrific views of the bay and the food is ok. Nothing special. We were forgotton about as we were outside and they had good intentions but were to busy to cope so several people were a little unhappy about the service. The welcome we received when we first arrived was however very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Spent a couple of nights at the hotel and found it fitted our requirments perfectly. Superb view from dining room over Cardigan Bay so breakfast was a treat. Had a minor problem with the shower which was promptly fixed so full marks there. Room facilities were fine and fitted in with the standard you would expect. Service was excellent so we would have to contradict previous reviewers. All in all most satisfactory

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed in Room one which as a view of the bay. Room was comfortable with the usual facilities. Breakfast had a choice of cereals, fruit, yogurts and juice. The cooked food was tasty and with the view out to sea made a good start to the day. Had an evening meal which was enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moelwyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moelwyn

Address: Mona Terrace, Criccieth, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Moelwyn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a pair of Victorian Townhouses, Moelwyn offers six en suite, individually furnished bedrooms and a quality restaurant of enviable reputation, specialising in seafoods. The ideal choice for a relaxed short break holiday.With a stylish yet informal atmosphere, the restaurant has established an enviable reputation for the quality of our cuisine and boasts some of the finest views on the North Wales Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Moelwyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moelwyn Criccieth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moelwyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.