We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a quiet area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caerwylan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Caerwylan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caerwylan Hotel
Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a quiet area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed there for one night when we were guests at a friend's wedding. The place appears to have been there for ages but is clean and in good decorative order but is a maze of stairways and short corridors. Our room (#35) was a sea view double and that was stunning with a lovely, large, comfortable bed.

Nice solid full English (Welsh?) breakfast which is cooked for you, none of this hot buffet rubbish.

A bit overpriced for where it is but, on balance, worth it. The girl on reception was very helpful

The only downside is car parking. They have a limited private garage but the alternative of the road outside is exactly 2 cars and a hairsbreadth wide. My partners spent most of the time worrying about her new car!!

Room Tip: Go for #35
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    31
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
113
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having heard about the quality of the food served at this hotel, we decided to give it a go and to be honest could not believe how this hotel had been renovated since I last attended about 5 years ago.It has been totally refurbished to an extremely high standard and can be classed as a modern
stylish hotel, probably the best in Criccieth. I can only comment on the the quality and service provided at the restaurant as we did not stay at the hotel being local to the area. so here goes:

On arrival the reception staff was most polite and instructed a member of staff to guide us to the lounge where we were greeted by the restaurant manager Anwen, whom gave us a detailed account of what was on the menu and gave good advice on what wine was best.
shortly after deciding on our choice we were taken to the dining room which was well spaced, warm and welcoming with some amazing wall photo`s of Criccieth from various locations. Service could not be faulted as our meal was delivered within 10 minutes of being seated. The quality of the food was amazing the prawn starter was better than what could be served by any Thai restaurant, the main meals lamb and beef was as tender as could be expected and all meats are locally produced. Deserts are also locally produced and are gorgeous to say the least.After the meal we returned to the lounge for coffee which was of excellent quality.

our compliments to Anwen and her dedicated team for a truly amazing service, we will be back soon.

Room Tip: ask about the locally produced malibu cheese cake....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fantastic - get a sea view if you can - we saw a whale leap in the bay one afternoon (OK - a small whale) but the view and the proximity of the beach are just magical. The breakfast is really very good. The evening meal is perfectly nice, the staff friendly. Shower was the best ever.

It would be easy for the owner to think that with (arguably) the best location in Criccieth, they could get away with cutting corners, but they have not.

Only possible let down is the parking, which is a bit narrow and you will need to be able to park! They have garages available though, if you book ahead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeside
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We first noted the Caerwylan a couple of years ago when staying at a cheep B&B in Criccieth. Tried to negotiate the owner down for a night, but no chance. However he did show us the rooms which looked very impressive. We booked for 3 nights at the end of August. The situation is fabulous. We had a sea view executive room, with a big bay window. Straight ahead was the sea, views right across to Harlech and Barmouth. To the left was the curve of the beach and views of the mountains., to the right, the splendid castle. You will not find a much better position than this anywhere.

The room was spacious and well fitted out in a simple but modern style, and everything worked well and easily, which is quite unusual. All I could find to criticise was a slightly misaligned toilet seat and a small chip in the bath. We like it so much we had another night which involved moving to an even bigger room of similar spec. The hotel itself is well appointed and immaculate. It is relatively recently re-fitted, and is carefully maintained by the resident proprietor and his team. No worn carpets here. The taps in the public toilets are worth a visit in themselves!

The restaurant offers excellent food and service. It is not nouvelle cuisine so portions are very adequate, but presentation and quality shone through. Choice was good, but after three nights we were more limited in options as the menu is not changed very often. On the last night there was a "Sunday Lunch" menu. In fact it was a lot more varied than a normal Sunday lunch, splendid. Service was first class. Again I think everything benefitted by close supervision of the Restaurant Manager. The wine selection offered several very acceptable bottles at below £15, which is very good nowadays. Of course the other members of staff were also super friendly and competent.

The hotel does not only have good views but seems is a perfect holiday location. There were several clearly satisfied golfers. However my wife and I are members of the Festiniog Raiway Society. This enabled us to get free travel on the fabulous Festiniog Railway and big discounts on the stunning Welsh Highland line. Both lines go from Portmadog about 5 miles away. Furthermore, from Criccieth, you can take the Arriva Wales train to Tywyn along the stunning coast and then use your Festiniog card for a free ride on the Tal-yllyn, taking advantage of reciprocal arrangements. If you like unique trains and fabulous scenery get your Festiniog Membership and Railcard and stay at the Caerwylan.

Is there a downside? Some people felt the parking along the narrow road in front of the hotel, but there are a lot of other options nearby, so not really a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are best, especially those with bay windows. I would imagine rooms on the Cast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Oh what a Gem.
A wonderful Three star hotel that should easily be rated Five.
The Hotel itself was Exceptionally clean from top to bottom.
With `Waterfall taps in the Public toilets downstairs to Modern `Flat panel` radiators throughout the public areas everything about this Hotel was carefully thought about when they decorated it.
The rooms are spotless and well dressed.
A bowl of fresh fruit in your room to welcome you ,very nice.
The food was just as good and nicely prepared and served.
I am Disabled and walk with a stick and use a scooter and was made to feel right at home.
Everything was thought of here to make our stay a relaxing and enjoyable one.
Had a good laugh with the staff when they asked if we wanted water on our table at dinner...i replied `No thanks` i prefer my table dry!.A good laugh all round with real friendly staff.
Will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 27 on the 2nd floor with Bay windows and a great view of the sea,well worth the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights over a weekend in a superior room (35), spacious with great views over the whole bay. The hotel, which is in a great location, has been fully refurbished over the last 5 years and is attractively decorated and fitted out. Staff are extremely helpful, for example we said are duvet was too hot and it was immediately changed for a sheet and blanket (with one in reserve). Breakfast was fairly run of the mill, but perfectly adequate. The food in the restaurant was well prepared and largely locally sourced. A garage (at £1.75/night!) is money well spent in high season. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely Sunday lunch with friends, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very friendly. Excellent food with a table looking out to sea.. What more could we ask for!! Although we didn't stay at the hotel what we saw was a wonderful place and one that we would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caerwylan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caerwylan Hotel

Address: Beach Bank | Criccieth, Criccieth LL52 0HW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Wales 2014 Gold AwardThe Caerwylan Hotel probably enjoys some of the best coastal views in North Wales. We are the ideal base to explore Snowdonia or the many beaches, steam railways, castles and attractions in this beautiful and relaxing corner of Wales. For walkers The Caerwylan is situated on the Wales Coast Path.Unwind in one of our contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Our sea facing Executive Bedrooms offer space and luxury, making them perfect for that special occasion. After a day of exploring let our Chefs prepare you a relaxing dinner in our stylish Tonnau Restaurant. Most of our food is sourced from, local suppliers.Our contemporary bar serves a range of local beers plus the traditional lagers, spirits and a varied selection of wines. From the magnificent sea-facing lounge we serve morning coffee, light lunches and afternoon teas. During the summer months we also serve light lunches and afternoon teas in our garden.See our web site for more information and on-line booking.TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award 2012 & 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Caerwylan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caerwylan Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caerwylan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.