We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Turkey & Tinsel experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Lion Hotel
Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Criccieth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Turkey & Tinsel experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Seven of us went to this hotel late November for a Turkey & Tinsel holiday. We all enjoyed the experience and the staff were friendly and helpful, the food excellent and the entertainment kept us amused ! My room was warm and comfy and I have no complaints. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room on the first floor on the side of the hotel - this was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    78
    34
    16
    7
See reviews for
28
80
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Sue and I spent Christmas at the Lion Hotel in Criccieth with Barnes Coaches Swindon. We left on 20th.Dec. and returned 27th.Dec.. Every thing about this break was brilliant. The coach trip to North Wales was very good, with comfort stops and lunch on the way. The hotel was family run and very homely. Food was exceptionally good and the staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were comfy and clean. The lounges were very comfortable....with roaring fires and lovely arm chairs to relax in. The entertainment every night was very good, and the drinks at the bar were at bar prices. All in all a wonderful holiday, full marks to The Lion Hotel and full marks to Barnes Coaches

Room Tip: grab the armchairs by the fire !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We our just about to leave the lion and am very sad to go. have been here for 7 days over the Christmas holidays.
The hotel is in good location and we were offerd a very friendly welcome after horrendous journey. offer of assistance was kindly taken and it was lovely to chill out in front of open fires.
The hotel is very nicely decorated in older style but that is perfect for us .
plenty of moden faceless hotels for those people like that.

but here you get a family run and friendly. very clean.
food in dining room was very varied and plenty of choice each evening and local welsh products.

Good entertainers each night varied to suit most tastes.

I was also taken back by jordan who worked there he was very freindly helpful and went the extra mile makeing you feel special. not that often this day and age.



Will be coming back already booked.

You will enjoy a stay here true welsh hospitality

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and myself have just returned from a 3 night break at the lion hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.All the staff were lovely and very helpful.The room was smashing,and all the meals were lovely,evening meals and the breakfast.Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just arrived back after a five day stay at the Lion Hotel, very good food and compfortable rooms although the furniture in our room was from all our yesterdays but we did see other rooms and they were very modern, very friendly staff, entertainment average, Criccieth itself has nothing of interest only a ruined castle, would deffinately use the hotel again if it was in another place,

Room Tip: number 14 and 17 very nice fooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Good clean room, very comfortable. Friendly staff. Breakfast good. Easy access to here via the bus services and train to next towns and within walking distance to some great pubs and dining places. Would stay here again on our next visit...

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days with a holiday group and was delighted with everything. My room was very clean and had a new bathroom. The food and service was excellent. I think the hotel was pretty full so the staggerd times for breakfast was a sensible idea although some people did grumble about it. I will look for future holidays that stay at the The Lion because I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.