We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical mystery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Lion Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Midweek Break
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bewdley
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Magical mystery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Have just had a great break on a murder mystery weekend. The deal was fantastic value for money. We checked into a super room on the second floor. Very spacious and a huge ensuite bathroom. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Had recently been painted so was sparkling!
Food was of a high standard and although we had a set menu for the deal as opposed to a la carte, there was enough choice and variety.
Breakfast buffet was kept topped up and there were other items that could be ordered fresh.
The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: Our room was super, but will not tell you the number cos we might want it when you do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    85
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
29
90
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

we have been staying at the Lion gor years now when visiting local family, i've never thought to write a reivew but was asked when we visited last month if I would. Well, for the past 5 years unfortunately my brother downsized so was unable to accomodate us when we visited. We decided on the Lion in Criccieth as advised by my brother. Everytime we stay were treated more like family than guests, the manager Sandra is very friendly and welcoming, the furnishings of the hotel are not the most modern out there but instead it gives the hotel a warm welcoming feel with an unmatched atmosphere. I'd say the best thing about the Lion is the staff, however the food is very good and exceptional value, the breakfast is all you can eat so we overinduldged on a full welsh breakfast every morning. The attached bar is warm cosy and modern, we invited my brothers family over one night for drinks and pub grub and it was good, also got talking to some of the interesting locals. Anyway, i'll be seeing all the staff next year. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Get one at the front or castle view cottage (I think that's what it's called) offers unbeata...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our second visit in as many years for a meal only. Stayed elsewhere. Very good food and good value but both last year and this year we had to tell the barman we had chosen meals from the 2for £12 offer. Other than that great place, lovely atmosphere and child/family friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent two nights in the hotel on their special offer and found it to be great value. Having looked at the restaurant menu would have liked to enjoy the excellent variety offered but were a little disappointed that the dishes were not available in the bar. Nevertheless we were given vouchers to cover the cost of dinner in the somewhat limited bar menu.

Room Tip: With a mobility problem they were kind enough to give us a room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke dock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

went for four night break on the 14 january with my wife for a very reasonable price.The hotel was very warm and clean with good food and beer and the staff our very friendly and helpful.Criccieth is very nice place to have a break and the locals are very friendly will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went on a coach trip with two of my friends on half board. -the buffet breakfast was as good as I have had anywhere with a wide choice.The evening meal was three course with 3 choices on each course and coffee or tea.All food was well cooked and plentiful, served by pleasant and presentable staff .The hotel was warm and cosy as was the single bedroom I had.The bed was comfortable and bedding was spotless . Furniture appeared to be quite new and there was a hospitality tray and a good size television.I would return to this hotel again.I had a very pleasant stay although my companions and I did not enjoy the murder mystery! No one in our group was impressed at all with it! I did have a problem with the shower which was resolved fairly quickly after I rang reception.

Room Tip: My room was at the top of the hotel-not a very good view but I didn't go to look out of the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here in December 2011 as we were visiting a friend for his 40th birthday.

Hotel was nice, friendly and clean but in need of modernisation. We would stay here again but unfortunately we probably won't be visiting Wales as my friends have moved.

Criccieth was a lovely place and we would love to come and stay for a family break when the weather is nicer :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.