We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location - comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lion Hotel
Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Criccieth
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great location - comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Criccieth. The room we were allocated was a good sized twin with en suite. It was clean, if a liitle dated and tired.The bedding and towels were very clean.
The hotel lounge area was large and comfortable with plenty of seating. The dining room was large and light. The breakfast buffet was a good choice of both hot and cold food. It was well presented and was well cooked.
The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpfull.
Overall, this was a good hotel to visit.

Room Tip: There were rooms in an annex at the back of the hotel which were ok. The best rooms, it seemed, were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    72
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
27
70
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were on a coach holiday and we highly reccomend this hotel as the location is good. We really enjoyed the excellent food and found the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We would go there again when visiting North Wales.

Room Tip: We had room 25 which had a double and a single bed. Also a setee and excellent bathroom facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Can be described as full of character, the room we had was ok, bathroom better.
Overall it is a clean & comfortable hotel, albeit a bit on the pricey side, however, the owners & staff were very pleasant and friendly, they do seem to be improving the fabric of the hotel although the decor can be a little quirky in places.
We had a lot of rain (no surprise) and spent some time in the hotel, the free wifi is welcome as was the hotel bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, the views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

As a base for visiting golf courses in this part of Wales it is ideally placed, good value for money and a friendlier welcome you could not wish for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

From reading the reviews on trip advisor I must admit that I was weary of booking here, but I went against the wind and went for it. What a lovely surprise it was I must say. Upon arrival the staffs were most helpful in assisting me. The room was fine, light and airy with a lovely comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. The bar had a variety of ales for all eager travellers and I recommend sampling the evening food from the Pink Restaurant!
All in all a grand stay. A lot of the poor reviews are form years gone by, they must have updated the hotel so I would recommend that you throw caution to the wind and give this place a shot!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I had a fantastic time at the lion. I arrived in criccieth to be greeted by friendly and efficient staff. Who did a fantastic job of settling me in after a very long journey from London. It felt as though i had driven to my own home rather than that of a foreign hotel. The staff were that good!!! The room was perfect. It was very clean with such a comfortable bed and a good bathroom. I thoroughly enjoyed the shower. Good power as well heat. The actual hotel is beautiful on ones eyes. Criccieth is an extremely scenic area, which the lion in particular stands out with its beauty and heritage. The restaurant was divine. Such wonderful food, and again the staff were sublime. I also have to pay comment to the lovely bar and garden in which you could drink in. Simply WONDERFUL!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambia09
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in May 2011. We liked the description on their website and found the rooms quite nice. This website doesn't reflect at all the reality. The hotel is very old and tired. The rooms are clean but very old fashioned. The bathroom have obviously not been refurbished for 20 years by the look of it.
The breakfast is just OK, it's very, very basic..
And all of this for £87 B&B! I found this absolutely out of proportion for what you get.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Hotel

Address: Y Maes, Criccieth LL52 0AA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Criccieth
The Lion Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.