We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cadwaladers - Criccieth

Cadwaladers - Criccieth
The Iris, Castle Street | Castle Street, Criccieth LL52 0DP, Wales (Formerly Cadwaladers)
+44 1766 523665
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Criccieth
Price range: $0 - $9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Cadwaladers was established in 1927 in the little village of Criccieth by David and Hannah Cadwalader. Over the years, we have expanded our popular ice cream and coffee cafes all over Wales and England, bringing the best quality service and products to our customers. We are proud to still serve our traditional recipe ice cream developed by Hannah Cadwalader (which still includes the famously secret ingredient!) and now our specially developed exclusive blend of espresso, hot chocolate and loose leaf tea which have been designed to redefine the standards of excellence in hot beverages. With our competitive prices, special products and caring team, we can assure you that we can provide options for all the family, including gluten free ice cream and cakes.So bring your friends, children, partner and dogs! To our lovely cosy cafés and relax in comfort whilst our friendly team treat you to the very best Wales can bring, served with a great deal of love and care.
BIRMIGHAM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Fantastic ice cream! Also does good snacks & hot & cold drinks, but seem to get distracted with a lovely ice cream!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadwaladersMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Criccieth, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review!
Customer satisfaction is our top priority, so we hope to see you again soon!
Best wishes
Cadwaladers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    51
    35
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal deals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great value for money meal deal available £4.95 for sandwich / panini ect crisp and selected drink
Presentation very good xx

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadwaladers, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Criccieth, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi
Thank-you for taking the time to write this review of our fantastic Criccieth store. We are proud of our food menu and we hope to see you back at Cadwaladers soon.
Kind Regards,
Cadwaladers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yes to icecream - no to food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Three of us ate here today and were very disappointed: egg and bacon roll consisted of a rasher of bacon and a disk of yellow stuff, supposedly egg; baked potato with duck and hoisin sauce was 'a mistake' our diplomatic guest said; flatbread stuffed with cheese and beetroot chutney was dry and tasteless. Food used to be good before the menu changed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadwaladers, Public Relations Manager at Cadwaladers - Criccieth, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi
Thankyou for taking the time to review our Criccieth store and hope our emails got to you okay and you received your voucher.
We are proud of our lunch menu which was developed by Anthony Evans of S4C fame and are disappointed that you had a substandard experience, contrary to other feedback we have had, on the change to our freshly made to order menu. As you can understand due to the size of our store we do not have specialised equipment in store to provide fried food such as egg, hence why we buy in the best quality precooked option.
If you have any other enquiries please contact us at info@cadwaladers.com
Kind Regards,
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were gasping for a coffee and thought we would try Cadwaladers. We had a large and medium latte but needed a ladder to get into the mugs! It was expensive and we had to complain - we given more coffees and an apology.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Overlooking the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Called in here Tuesday 15th October for a cup of tea,not an ice-cream.It was lovely to sit in the window seats just looking out over the sea.The place is spotlessly clean and staff efficient and friendly.Although we didnt have ice-cream today,we have done many times in the past.Many flavours and very reasonably priced.Go on give it a try!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cadwaladers - Criccieth also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Cadwaladers - Criccieth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadwaladers - Criccieth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.