We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guests Matter...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marine Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marine Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Castle Street, Criccieth, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 18 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Guests Matter...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is not a luxury 5 star country retreat this is an honest seaside hotel with everything you would expect to find on a traditional break in a Victorian seaside resort. The charm of Criccieth is its yesteryear feel, and this lovely B&B fits right in.

My room had traditional fittings, not a high class power shower but a relaxing bath with lashings of piping hot water both morning and evening, the towels are excellent quality and pristine white, the loo roll is not cheap and the complimentary shower gel, shampoo, soap, body lotion, extra nice. The hairdryer is babyliss, not your bog standard hotel issue. (There was a shower over the bath but I was on a relaxing break and a long soak was a priority)

The bed, a decent size double, firm and comfortable with crisp white hotel quality sheets.

The tv, flat screen with freeview, internet access in the room and top quality tea, coffee and plenty of it, with the offer of extra on request free of charge.

The breakfast room overlooks the sea, a very nice breakfast from a varied well thought out menu.

On the whole this place made me feel that guests mattered, Gaynor and Martin are not going through the motions here providing the necessary on a budget, they have gone the extra mile. I very much appreciated it, will recommend it to everyone and return as soon as I can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
25
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel has had some bad reviews on TripAdvisor but I was proved right in my suspicion that these were from people expecting luxury on the cheap. The single room was small but well laid out so it felt cosy not cramped and scrupulously clean - as evidenced by pure white bathroom mats. It's true the decor is old fashioned and there are bits of grouting that could be refreshed but that didn't detract from the comfort. Wall-mounted TV is brand new with all Freeview stations available. Prime location - lovely view of the castle and the sea. The proprietors gave a truly personal service, friendly, flexible and with attention to detail (like making sure my breakfast toast wasn't served before I'd finished my first course so that it would be hot; Fairtrade coffee and tea, locally sourced; towels, toiletries and leaflets laid out with flair in the bedroom, hairdryer in the dresser; relaxed and ready to vary times of registration, check out and breakfast.) I really couldn't ask for more for £40 a night and have experienced much less at more expensive hotels than this.

Room Tip: Several have sea and castle views - at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrops/Staffs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed one night. Pleasant enough welcome from the hosts, but the whole place was just a little tired. Probably a bit of a catch22 for the hosts. The whole place needs a revamp, but would it be viable for them???
Old fashioned décor in the bedroom. 'Pink' toilet with white (mould speckled) shower. A wash basin in the bedroom which needed a five minute (yes, I timed it, sorry) wait for the hot water to arrive. Bed was a little soft, which made us both roll to the middle!
Nice fried breakfast, but rather too greasy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just got back from a one night stay at this hotel having booked it on the internet yesterday afternoon, so very last minute! The hotel is in a very good location overlooking the sea on the seafront. We booked a superior room with seaview which turned out to be a 'suite' (Room 1). The room was lovely and big with a very comfortable king size bed and a single bed, a two seater sofa, flat screen tv, and stunning views of the castle straight ahead and the sea to the side. The en-suite was clean and fresh, had a bath and shower over.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and had the most gorgeous succulent sirloin steaks, cooked to perfection. The food is very reasonably priced and the menu offers a wide range of choice.
There is also a residents lounge with views over the bay, a pool room, a function room and a nice cosy bar. The owners were very friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable of the local area. As the bar is open to the general public quite a few of the locals drink there also. Breakfast is cooked fresh to order and offers a good choice including cereals, fruit juices, grapefruit segments or prunes, full cooked breakfast or whatever you want (I have special diet requirements and this was not a problem at both dinner and breakfast.
In my opinion the hotel is clean and bright and the owners very obviously make an effort to keep it this way.
All in all we had a very pleasant evening and night and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We needed a room at the last minute and found this place via a recommendation. Very friendly and obliging owners, good breakfast and a cosy bar/ pool table area. Homely rather than plush but very good value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

we paid £158 for 2 nights in a 'suite' . I adore the area and we did have good views of the castle and could see the sea to the side of the view. We thought the hotel was on the whole, fair for a budget stay.
NEGATIVES- The suite had obviously been 2 adjoining bedrooms too small to market as double rooms and the bathroom was (as in previous photos), very pokey, with no bath just a shower.The decor and furniture in the 'suite' was dated and getting very tired. The cooked breakfast was 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 egg , 4 mushrooms and about 17 baked beans! Not at all comparable with a more local b&b we had stayed in last year.
POSITIVES- lovely area, good sized residents lounge, was offered attraction vouchers on arrival, pleasant staff, good old-fashioned pub style bar with open fire- good pint, food not too expensive and big choice of menu and our meals were good for money.
OVERALL- glad i went as had a lovely break but for the money would definitely prefer to stay in same b&b as last year. Awel Mor- just round corner - cleaner, friendlier, better views and better value if staying in front of house.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Don`t even know what to start with.
Negative points:
-Smelly, on coridors, rooms
-Mouldy showers, dirty toilets
-Dirty carpets
-Unfriendly an unhelpful owners ( Haven`t seen even a smile)
-No internet in rooms
-Awful breakfast (poor choice, cheap sausages, nearly burned egg, no has browns?) that made us eat elsewhere in the evenings
-Dirty curtains and pillows on chairs
-All hotel in desperate need of makeover
Positive points:
-good location
-amazing fish& chips up the road
We booked there only because everywhere else was full and now we know why.
Never again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Criccieth, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.