We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous comfort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Dinas Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Plas Dinas Country House to your Saves list
Plas Dinas Country House
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sumptuous comfort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Beautiful setting. We stayed 3 very comfortable nights in the Snowdon room. Sumptuous room with modern fittings tastefully incorporated, attention to detail even in the little things. Food at breakfast was excellent with friendly and professional service. Hosts made us feel most welcome. We had a great stay and will definitely book again next time we are visiting Snowdonia. Simon and Debbie, Aldershot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
207
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

When arranging a weekend of walking in Snowdonia, we decide we needed stayed somewhere that match the natural beauty of the area, while rewarding us after a hard days exercise, we chose Plas Dinas…. Wow, what a choice! The hotel is in a fantastic location with views to the sea and the mountains. We stayed two nights and were treated to luxurious rooms, that could not be faulted, the delights of Andy’s homemade biscuits, Julian’s superb breakfast and glorious sunny weather. Hence it just leaves me to say a big thank to our hosts, Andy and Julian, for the great company and to Patsy (the dog) of allowing me to become her new best friend.
Can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want views of the mountains from your bedroom, you can't go wrong in choosing the Snowdon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband booked at last minute,but I have to say this is one of his better bookings.what a wonderful place to stay,and the hosts are very charming.Every detail of Plas Dinas has been thoroughly thought out. We will definitely book again when in the area. Thank you

Brenda and Glenn Overton. Derby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here so that I could spend a weekend walking in Snowdonia. It was the perfect place to stay and relax after a day in the Snowdonia mountains. I arrived late but was made to feel very welcome by Andy and Julian. I stayed in the Snowdon room; it was very comfortable and had glorious views over the grounds and beyond to the Snowdonia mountains. Andy and Julian have thought of everything to ensure that the room lived up to my expectations; homemade biscuits, fresh milk (a really nice touch), TV, iPod dock - it was all the little details that added up to make it feel luxurious. After a day’s walking it was lovely to retire to my room and I slept extremely well. The house is full of character and it is a great place to unwind and relax whether it be in your room, in the Drawing Room or out on the terrace. Breakfast was first class and again had a very tranquil feel to it. Mount Snowdon was a very short drive away and Plas Dinas is perfectly placed to allow you to explore the area. I would thoroughly recommend it and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Booked short notice and cannot complain as standards were very high.Breakfast was excellent,setting you up to take on Snowdon.Hosts friendly and knowledgeable.May well book again one day,when I have built up the energy to tackle Snowdon again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bath,better to aid recovery from walking up Snowdon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Attention to detail is apparent at Plas Dinas, from the moment you arrive. The room (Snowdon) was spotless, as were the public areas. The Armstrong-Jones history is interestingly presented, and the original paintings and the photographs give a real sense of the history of the place. Breakfast was excellent and we also enjoyed dinner on one night. We booked direct online with Plas Dinas and got a better price than through a third-party site, so it's worth checking this out. Andy and Julian are delightful. We shall now be watching 'Four in a bed' with insider knowledge!

Room Tip: The Snowdon room does have a view of Snowdon, as long as the trees don't grow too much more! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Plas Dinas Country House managed to mix luxury with a homely feel at the same time. The setting was beautiful, and the historic mementos throughout the house very interesting.
The room (we stayed in the Snowdon) was very comfortable and thought had gone into providing all the extras we could need or desire. The cup of tea and cake was very much appreciated upon arrival.
Breakfast was amazing, with lovely fresh food, served with attention to detail, without having to wait any time at all, which was some doing given everyone there seemed to order different things,
We would certainly recommend this House to any one wanting to treat themselves, for us it was another tick on our list of 25 things to do in our 25th year of marriage.
Claire and Tony

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Dinas Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.