We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant beer garden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Vaynol

The Vaynol
Lon Pen Cei, Abersoch LL53 7AP, Wales
01758 712776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Abersoch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Brilliant beer garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The Vaynol is the place to be in Abersoch especially when the sun is shining. The pub has a beer garden at the front where you can watch the world go by and enjoy a refreshing drink or some of the excellent food. The pub is pleasantly decorated inside offering a separate bar and restaurant. There are a selection of pub classics and sandwiches etc. And a good variety of drinks - the latest offerings from inc rekorderlig and excellent real ales local and national. There are bottled beers available from across the world. In addition, biscuit at the side offering pottery making/decorating with iced teas, home made cakes and speciality coffees etc. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Finally, a place that knows difference btwn well done,med & rare!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went here the 1st night of our stay, we were only staying 2 nights, but once we'd tasted the food, we didn't see the point in looking elsewhere it was so good. The chef there really knows the difference of well done, medium and rare. Great sized portions, and good value for money. Would definately recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thanks to the other pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We called at this pub as it was recommended to us by bar staff at a different pub a few miles away , the staff were very pleasant , it was quiet when we arrived so we had a pick of the best table , which overlooked the front of the pub , we placed our orders ,I ordered for starter a chicken liver pâté , which I'm my opinion was the best I've ever tasted , the others had soup which was very thick and tasty , we had all orderd Sunday lunch which I can honestly say it was almost as good as the one I make with plenty of veg and extra roasties ,, we decided to order just two sweets and share , we orderd chocolate pudding and chocolate sauce ,well thankfully that is what we did as it was huge !
Parking in the village is difficult even in winter but the vaynol has its own car park which is an added bonus , we will definatley be going back soon .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, lovely staff, fab Sunday roast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Vaynol is such a great place for a drink or to eat. The owners and staff treat you like old friends, so welcoming and it has s brilliant atmosphere. Fabulous two course Sunday roast. A real treat and our favourite local when down this way. Also has a fab terrace nice for early doors on a sunny day and if you are a sports fan all the big events if you are interested. They are also dog and child friendly which is an added bonus.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

we had a weekend away here on 16/17th march 2013. Had a drink sat on the front as it was very pleasant day. The rubgy was on england verses wales so as we have a six month old baby we sat out with the pram as the pub was very busy. As a dog lover i thought it was great you can take your dogs in with you. We decided to have a meal here on the sunday, we had pate, roast beef for me and chicken for hubby followed by the best sticky toffee pudding i have ever tasted. The service was great, all the food was presented well and the value for money is excellent. Strongly recommend this place to eat

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vaynol also viewed

 

Been to The Vaynol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vaynol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.