We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Travelodge overall!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Halkyn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Halkyn to your Saves list
Travelodge Halkyn
A55, Halkyn, Holywell CH8 8RF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halkyn
WILTSHIRE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Travelodge overall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Stayed with my partner on a cheapy deal with Travelodge.

The reviews on here seemed mixed so i didnt know what to expect.

Arrived at around 6pm and received a warm welcome from the guy on the front desk who couldnt do enough....a real buck to the trend of staff in lodges who normally dont give a monkeys...He advised on local servies and directions.

The room was very clean indeed (credit to the maid) but did look as if it needed a redecoration project.

I had two great nights sleep and surprisingly being so close to a main road the rooms placed at the back of the lodge were very quiet.

heating was just right too.

Very close to Elsemere Port shopping and Chester.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    33
    20
    23
See reviews for
49
51
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Arrived at this travel lodge not knowing what to expect, as I couldn't find any good reviews about this travel lodge. Booking in was fine, friendly staff no problems with checking in.

Room was a bit dated but clean and basic, and most of all did not smell.

We booked this room on the £9 deal, so wasn't sure it was going to be any good, but needn't have worried.

The only problem we had was finding somewhere to eat, other than the little chef next door, we travelled into hoylake fo find a pub, but ended up with a chinese takeaway back at the lodge, which wasn't a problem cos i had taken plates with us for breakfasts, as I was trying to keep this a cheap break for us.

I cannot fault this hotel for anyone wanting to stay as the staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. Having stayed at other travel lodges it was a welcome change to see anyone around after you had checked in.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not knowing where to go for a meal out
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2006

I use travelodge frequently, so at least I know what I will be getting. This is smaller than most of the sites I have used, but not a problem. We arrived at 10pm and had no problems checking in. The room was fousty and smelt of damp, looking at other reviews, I guess this is an ongoing problem for them. We would have just opened the windows, but we were on the ground floor, so didnt feel safe to. The room otherwise was good, excellent shower, v.comfy bed, lovely and clean and everything you'd expect from travelodge. The little chef next door was closed when we got there, which was surprising (I thought they were 24 hour) but was open at 7 for breakfast. If you go on little chef website, they are doing a voucher for buy one meal, get one half price, which is good.

  • Liked — value and big comfy bed!
  • Disliked — smell of room
  • Tips/Secrets — book 3 weeks in advance to get best deal
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

Stayed there for less than an hour in 2004. Place smelt of damp and decay. Room was full of flies and mold. Tried two rooms and both were poor, so got a refund and left. I also wrote a strong letter of complaint. I don't know what its like since, and I certainly wont be back.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Halkyn hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2005

Stayed for 2 nights 29-31 December 2004. Basic travelodge room, well appointed, but stank of damp. Upon closer inspection we noticed that the carpet had not been vacuumed for at least a week, probably much more. Found other peoples toe nail clippings near bed. Staff seemed uninterested when challenged about cleanliness. I asked for the carpet to be cleaned, vacuumed at the least, for the next day. Upon our return we found our request had been ignored.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Halkyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Halkyn

Address: A55, Halkyn, Holywell CH8 8RF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Holywell > Halkyn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halkyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Travelodge we provide everything you need for a comfortable night's sleep, whether you're on the road for business or enjoying a city break with your family. Every room has King-sized bed with cosy duvet, En-suite bathroom, Remote control colour TV and Tea and coffee-making facilities. Our research shows that most people staying in a hotel simply want a clean, comfortable place to get a good night's sleep and are happy to forgo the unnecessary frills offered in other stuffy, over-priced establishments. So we make sure we provide good quality essentials such as a comfortable bed and a decent-quality shower, but get rid of unnecessary extras. This means that we can strip out these additional costs, and pass on the savings to you in the form of great-value prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Halkyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Halkyn North Wales Hotel Halkyn
Travel Lodge Halkyn
Halkyn Travel Lodge
Halkyn Travelodge
Travelodge Halkyn Wales, UK - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Halkyn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.