We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...but with attention to detail & organisation it could be awesome!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Chester St David's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Chester St David's to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Chester St David's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. David's Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Bucks
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average...but with attention to detail & organisation it could be awesome!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Picked this hotel for location for a long weekend away and based on how it looked on the Village Hotels website.

First problem encountered was an almost total lack of signage - we were directed from reception to go through the in-house Starbucks and a little further for the lifts to the 2nd floor, but got past the coffee shop and got lost until a helpful member of staff said the lift was infact broken and directed us to another. But without signage we almost got lost again! NOT what you want after a long journey.

We'd chosen an Upper Deck room and to be honest was expecting something a little larger but it was okay for a couple; it was a nice, modern room though and nice to have bottled water provided and Starbucks branded tea/coffee.

First problem was the very ill-fitting window which let through a significant draught, so you couldn't really sit on the sofa near the window for long. Found that we hadn't been given the password required for free wifi access and to avoid the long walk back to reception, I phoned - but there was no answer. Found out that we should also have been given a special Upper Deck code for "exclusive content and offers" on the Village website. Despite being told that we had a "full Sky TV entertainment package", we needed a code to see any movies and we hadn't been given that, either! The bed was every bit as comfy as promised on the website with wonderful duvet and pillows, and the Bose sound dock was useful too. Dark wooden Venetian blinds and a Roman blind with blackout lining also helped us sleep very well indeed, and the shower was very powerful.

Arriving at the Verve restaurant for dinner on the first night (having made a reservation via reception when we checked in) the waitress who greeted us got our name wrong and although we corrected her, she continued to use the wrong name!! Arriving at 8.45pm the restaurant was quiet but service so very slow. We overheard the couple at a neighbouring table wondering aloud if the staff had gone to the supermarket for ingredients! Food was okay but nothing special; starter of salmon with beetroot & salad was lovely, but 'fat chips' with the main course were just greasy potato wedges.

Breakfast the following morning was very, very busy - restaurant heaving so we had to eat in the neighbouring bar/grill. Not the full range of food left and some of that was over-done and dried out, also fried eggs sitting on a plate full of oil. Lack of signs in the area mean people wandering around looking for things, generally disorganised.

Dinner on the second night was a similarly chaotic affair - restaurant again heaving, we were greeted promptly and warmly and promised that our drinks order would be taken quickly -20 minutes later we were still waiting and flagged down a waitress who couldn't even manage a smile and looked like she didn't want to be there. The queue for the carvery was HUGE, situation exacerbated by the queue for the cold meats (placed immediately before carvery) and the two queues were combining...would be helped by the cold meats table being moved elsewhere. When we eventually got to it, the hot food was better than it looked. We looked in the garden area with a view to sitting out there but there was so much rubbish lying around it didn't make for a very nice environment.

We found that breakfast on the following day was much more organised if you go early - we got there at 8am when the restaurant opened and everything ran much more smoothly.

However on checkout, we checked our bill to find that we'd been charged for breakfasts which were infact included in the price we'd booked at! So a word of warning - check your bill carefully when you leave, BEFORE you pay.

So all in all, a satisfactory stay but not as special as the 'Upper Deck' tag suggests - and the disorganised, chaotic restaurant lets down the whole place. With a bit of attention to detail (room maintenance and signage), and sorting the restaurant, this could be a very, very good place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the building, NOT the dual carriageway! And check how well the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    266
    179
    80
    49
See reviews for
132
295
13
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The 3 course set meal we were given when visiting the hotel for a works night out was an absolute disgrace. The soup was some inedible liquid of uncertain origin which everyone in the room left, the main course was just about edible and the sweet was tasteless with an unpleasant texture. I would not recoment eating there

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ewloe hotels

Burry Port, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Currently staying Monday-Wednesday with work at De Vere Village Chester St Davids. The room I was booked in was grubby and the fixtures/fittings tired. The window overlooking the dual carriageway wouldn't shut on one side, so the constant noise from traffic was present. The bathroom was REALLY grubby with mould/dirt on the shower screen and sealant around the bath looking as if a 3yr old had installed it. Also liked the big water stain on the ceiling in the corner and the EXTREME noise from next door's water system. Brill!
The food was expensive as were the drinks- I don't mind paying for food that is quality, however charging £15 for what is effectively a bar meal in the Victory sports bar is just scandalous. If I could some up the experience of my stay in the Village in a word or a sentence it would be "Poor" and "Trying to be more than it is".... At least Premier Inns are clean and tidy!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the 240 range- they back onto the dual carriageway, so traffic noise could be an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Fantastic deal dinner bed and breakfast for 105 pounds for two. Beautiful place rooms and reception. Great pool and starbucks in the hotel. Made to feel really special by the staff- balloons and special dessert for my birthday. Staff at dinner were so nice especially Heather who was so helpful and eager to please and help in every way, a great asset to the hotel. All the dining room staff at dinner and breakfast were great, a credit to the hotel. We had a few late drinks and there was no pressure to hurry up and go to bed. All in all a great experience. Thank you St Davids, Heather and all for making my 50th so fab. We will return and we will recommend you to all friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: Take your swimming and gym stuff - lovely and so relaxed. Make sure you use the sauna and steam room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth, staffs
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked a three night stay at the Dire-Vere Hotel, St Davids from the 28-30 April 2013 as a special Birthday treat, but checked out after the second night.

Why?

On check in, the first room we were allocated (Room 106) had damp on the ceiling in the bathroom, the tiles and grout were black from mould and the furniture was knocked about, as were the walls (see pictures).

The unhelpful receptionist on duty then gave us another room (Room 119) which was no better, the bath panel was rotten and again there was black mould on the bath sealant around the bath/shower (see pictures).

We informed the receptionist again (different one this time) but she was as unhelpful as the previous one, so we gave up.

On the first night we were cold so put the extra duvet on the bed, but found blood stains and what looked like either vomit or urine stains on it.

We were also woken both mornings at 5.30am with children running up and down the corridors, riding up and down the lifts and screaming at the top of their lungs.

The buffet breakfast was cold and bland, the children were putting their fingers in the food and running around the tables yet again while you were trying to eat.

On the second night there was no hot water and after only having seven hours sleep in two nights, that was the last straw!

We complained to the Duty manager, who apologised and sent a bottle of wine to our room (as a sweetener) and offered us a free upgrade on the final nights stay. But the special occasion was spoilt and all we wanted to do was leave ASAP.

The spa facilities were dreadful. The Jacuzzi held 3 people at most at a time, there were limited changing cubicles in the changing rooms and the swimming pool was the size of a fish pond.

In fact I can find no positives about this hotel. The hotel supposedly had a major refurbishment last year. I can honestly say I'd dread to think what it looked like before.

For a 4 star hotel (according to their website), I've stayed in better at a holiday camp.

I would definitely not recommend this hotel or stay again if you payed me. You can ignore this review if you like, but you will be sorry you did.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in their Upper Deck room as aparantly they have been the last to be refurbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked this hotel for an overnight spa deal which for £49 each included full use of the leisure facilities, a 30 minute treatment (choice of 4), overnight stay and breakfast the following day. Can't complain about value for money.

Easy enough to find and plenty of car parking available. Reception staff were friendly and had no problems checking in early afternoon when our room was available.

We used the gym facilities in the morning, which include a large cardio room with good upto date technology, and a weights room. The other room was for spinning classes. Locker facilities were good, with plenty of hairdryers, about 5 showers all with body wash, and a spin dryer with bags for your costume.

Not a massive pool. Also had sauna, steam room, shower and jacuzzi. Would question Health & Safety in the sauna room in relation to the gap in which you have to get past the coals as really isn't a great deal of room.

Our bedroom itself was absolutely fine and decorated as per what seems to be the standard village decor. Would just recommend that the bottom of the shower screen is bleached!

Used the Starbucks which was very popular, and good. Definitely some general maintenance needed around this area, and especially on the ceiling. Some window panels are shot and need replacing.

Breakfast the next morning was good with plenty of seating and a good choice. No issues.

Overall, and enjoyable stay and a good deal.

Room Tip: Ask for not facing the main roads as wanted the window open but it was too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

To be clear - i live in ewloe, so havent stayed in the rooms, but have eaten here. A good number of years ago, this was a proper restaurant. We went a few weeks ago, on a sunday at 7pm for dinner. Gone with the formal dining experience - this was the buffet from hell.

Salad was thrown all over the tables - there was probably more on the floor and table than in the bowl actually. The meats were dry and unrecognisable.. even people in the (short) queue had to ask what we thought the meats were - pork or turkey? it was all dry and awful. Vegetables were sort of ok, yorkshire puddings swam in grease. The desserts were little chocolate moose things - but they had also been out so long that they had that sort of 'off colour' dry and crusty appearance.

It was a bit like school dinners really, the service was also not great - the staff couldnt be less formal.

If we had know, we would not have gone. And we certainly wont be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Chester St David's

Address: St. David's Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Urban Resort Chester St David's has 140 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Urban Resort Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales - Flintshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Chester St David's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.