We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but parts of the hotel could do with some work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Chester St David's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Chester St David's to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Chester St David's
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. David's Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
merseyside
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice room but parts of the hotel could do with some work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My party of four stayed in the hotel for one night as a short break away, our nearest devere hotel was fully booked so we decided to do some shopping in cheshire oaks then go to this hotel which was only about 15 minutes away.

The hotel exterior is nice but it's location right on a busy round about and fly over is not ideal.

The reception area was nice and modern and check in was fast although I wasn't really too sure why when checking in a card for any extra charges you are charged £25 as I'm sure with most hotels we have stayed in just take your details and then charge them in the morning or afterwards if you do a runner!

We got lost on the way to our rooms as there is no lobby as such, more like a rabbit warren, there seems to be a lack of signage, this then meant us taking the stairs tho the second floor using a fire escape/ general purpose stairwell that was tired looking with old floor tiles and damp on the walls.

When we found our way to the "upper deck" (328) room we found it to be clean and tidy but of a fairly small size. The only real small fault with this room was that the radiator shelf is cracking away from the wall.

We met up in the victory bar down stairs which was nice, modern and stylish with a good range of drinks and helpful staff.

We moved on to the restaurant (seperate review)

We came back to the bar and then headed back to our rooms, finally finding a small lift.

In the morning we came down for breakfast and were quite surprised by how busy it was, the buffet and breakfast fayre was pretty standard but enjoyable, we returned to our rooms to pack and went down to check out.

Check out was quick and efficient.

All in all a decent stay and would stay again if I needed to but would probably eat out somewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    288
    192
    91
    54
See reviews for
144
330
13
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our third visit in the last few months and we were very satisfied again. This is a great alternative to visiting a pub - the restaurant is casual and children friendly. The five course carvery offers outstanding value for money and is recommended. Pre-book and allow plenty of time. The food is all self-service with waiter service for drinks. There is a selection of starters with prawn cocktail, mackerel, tuna, various salads, cold meats; soup of the day; pasta station cooked to order; full carvery service with good quality meats carved for your plate, with wide selection of vegetables that is frequently replenished (so they are not overdone); waffle station with everything you'd need; cold cabinet with trifles, mousse, profiteroles, fruit salad etc; cheeses. You can order espresso or filter coffees too.
The food quality has been consistently good and the restaurant is light and airy with a separate section for large parties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

On arrival met by very helpful receptionist, room perfect for the one night we were staying. Ate in the carvers, wow, best carvers I have ever had, so many starters to chose and nothing too much trouble for the very helpful waiters, main course delicious selection of tender meats, struggled to finish it all, but was determined to have a try at the desserts, perfect meal all round. The morning hotel was buzzing with lots of pele and again the staff were faultless, breakfast perfect, admit was still full up from the night before. Would recommend this hotel for a couple of nights, close to amenities and everyone making us so welcome, special deal was done so worked out a bargain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights over the Easter holiday in an Upper Deck Room. It was certainly was not like flying upper class, more like reasonable economy. The room was really disappointing. Yes, it had a selection of Sky channels and a Bose sound dock but beyond this the room needed a really thorough clean. There was black mould around the shower door and plug hole and taps and a mould patch on the ceiling above the bed. The restaurant staff were extremely unsure as to what was and was not included in the meal deals offered at the hotel. We did eat in there on our first night and the food was just ok, however breakfast was poor with cheap ingredients. The bar areas throughout the day and evening seemed to be used mainly by the locals and were very busy, on one evening they had employed 2 bouncers which was very worrying for a hotel. I would not stay here again. It was ok but I was glad to come home a real shame. On checking out we did mention the lack of cleanliness to the receptionist and they did offer a discount to our final bill, however, cleanliness should be an absolute minimum for such a hotel so it was unfortunate that this was even an issue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband booked a relaxing spa weekend here for myself and my mum, as he works away. What can I say about this hotel.

The staff are very friendly and make you stay special, nothing is too much trouble for them. The room was clean and very spacious and the beds where very comfortable.

We had treatments booked in the spa and loved them, I had a massage and facial and was lovely and relaxed after, and my skin felt like silk.
The food in the restaurant was well presented and delicious and also very filling.

I would definatley recommend this hotel to anyone to stay as its so lovely. Will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I booked a stay at the De Vere hotel Chester for my husbands 50th birthday we have stayed at Slaley Hall which was good I was really disappointed in this hotel. We had dinner the 1st night we chose rump steak which we always have done medium it was far too thick and undercooked so it went back then it was tuff. We were offered a free desert which was included in the price. We did complain to the manager who said he would sort it when we came to pay he saw us coming and disappeared. We used the toiletries and they were not replaced the following day. I paid extra for a superior room which was ok but we have stayed in nicer Hotels for less money. I don't think I would rush back . We live in the Lake District wish now I had booked there but this hotel was recommended to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a nice stay and the bed was really comfy but the hotel itself wasn't as posh as you'd expect for a 4 star hotel. The early bird dinner menu was really great value though, £11.95 for 3 courses and it was tasty too! We paid a supplement for the steak and was worth every penny. However, the service was slow and the waitress who took our drinks order had completely forgotten us and it was only when we mentioned that we'd ordered drinks to another waitress that she suddenly remembered! This also happened when we asked for the bill.

The gym facilities were good but the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room were a bit cramped. I felt there could've been more changing rooms considering how many people use the facilities.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay which was good for a short visit but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Chester St David's

Address: St. David's Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Urban Resort Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Urban Resort Chester St David's has 140 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Urban Resort Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales - Flintshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Chester St David's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.