We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Y Llwyn Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Y Llwyn Guest House to your Saves list
Y Llwyn Guest House
Stryd Dinam | Corwen, Llandrillo, Corwen LL21 0ST, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llandrillo B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Thanks Eirlys for your hospitality. You let us leave the bikes with you well before check-in time which was very helpful. The village is well situated in fantastic countryside, and the view from the bedroom is stunning. The Berwyn Restaurant and Dudley Arms pub were both fine. The New Inn in Llangynog (10 miles by the impressive mountain road) was very good value for food.

Llandrillo is a great base for energetic biking, or for walking. The hills however are challenging! The coast is less than an hour away across Snowdonia.

We had a great long weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for sending a review, it's good for those who might like to stay here at Y Llwyn to know what it's like. We are central for the North, East and West, and if you like plenty of sporty things to do, near the Snowdonia National Park as well, with 3 excellent restaurants in this village, This is the place to be!
I look forward to seeing you again soon. Happy cycling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

i was traveling around North Wales for the week staying in different guest houses. This was the best by far. It is located in a beautiful small village with a couple of pubs that are with in walking distance from the guess house. Eirlys (the owner)was friendly and made me feel very welcomed. She was very helpful with getting my bearing with the local area. The room was a very good size, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast finished off a lovely stay and i would not hesitate to stay here again when in the area.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
I' m so glad that my information is sometimes useful, and that you had a comfortable stay here at Y Llwyn Guesthouse! Thank you so much for this great review.
You should however try it out a second time to check it out completely, you will probably find more things to surprise you!
North Wales has a lot to offer, historically as well as it's unspoilt beauty. We do have a lot of
undiscovered walks in Llandrillo, and the megalithic stone circle on Moel Ty Ucha is a plus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthWest UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Eirlys runs a lovely little guest house in a great part of Wales. The bed was very comfortable and the room clean and attractively furnished.
Good breakfast, although at communual table (in this isn't your thing) and plenty of hot freshly brewed coffee.
Eirlys is a great lady, and we spent hours chatting about cooking and baking, as she is a keen participant in the local shows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for spending your precious cake making time leaving a great review. Yes, I will be baking for the show tomorrow, picking tomatoes from the greenhouse, flowers and vegetables from the garden etc. There will be homemade bread and cakes for my guests tomorrow for sure, as well as jams, marmalades and chutneys!
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Eirlys was a friendly and welcoming hostess who was eager to help us to improve our stay with her local knowledge or her ipad! Great breakfast and very clean rooms - a quaint guest house in a picturesque little village with great access to Snowdonia National Park / Tryweryn river / Bala Lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review, I do apprecaite it.
We do have wonderful scenery looking from this house, and unspoilt beauty in the whole area. I'm so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again sometime soon! I'm sure to find plenty of interesting things for you to do again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A very warm welcome from a very friendly host. Our room was superb, very comfortable, with all the little extra touches to make it a very enjoyable stay. It's a very peaceful location, and the view from our window was lovely. Breakfast was also superb. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for using your precious time to write this wonderful review!
It's good to know that you enjoyed yourselves. The white water raffting on the River Tryweryn should be good as well with all that rain that we've had! I hope to see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very friendly owner, I was made to feel at home straight away with tea and welsh cakes. The room was really nice, comfortable and clean, just what was needed after a long day. The house is in a great location with excellent views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm glad that you enjoyed the Welsh cakes, or 'cacen gri' in Welsh.
We do have a wonderful scenery, this week you'd be able to count sheep to go to sleep as well! There you see, you'll have to come back to see that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked at the last minute with no time to look at reviews, and were really delighted with our choice.
Eirlys is a very welcoming and attentive host and the house is charming, in a really peaceful location.
We slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the conservatory the next morning - the welsh rarebit was absolutely delicious.
Even our mountain bikes had a comfortable night in the garage!
We would happily return, if we needed B&B in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YLlwyn, Owner at Y Llwyn Guest House, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
i am so glad that you were delighted, your family are actually really easy to please, I am sure of that! We do live in a peaceful part of the world, with it's natural, unspoilt beauty. Just the place for cycling and white watersports. See you next time, and thanks again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Y Llwyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Llwyn Guest House

Address: Stryd Dinam | Corwen, Llandrillo, Corwen LL21 0ST, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen > Llandrillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Llwyn Guesthouse overlooks greenfields and The Berwyn mountains.We are within a short walk of three excellent places to eat. Llandrillo, Corwen is near the Snowdonia National Park, an hour from the coast to the North and West, and an hour from Chester with it's famous Roman walls.The area is renowned for it's outstanding natural beauty, great for walkers and cyclists, also bird watching and white water sports. Y Llwyn has had an ensuite bathroom added to it's facilities to modernize the guesthouse.The conservatory has had a new facelift, and new carpets and curtains in most rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Y Llwyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Llwyn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.