We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hand at Llanarmon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hand at Llanarmon to your Saves list
The Hand at Llanarmon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Upper Ceiriog Valley, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Colwyn Bay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Just been to the hand in llanarmon d c and had a lovely family meal. Group of 9 of us. The Food was superb, as was the service. Fine selection of cask ales. Lovely setting in the middle of a small rural welsh village. You must try the beef dinner and banana fritters. I will definitely be returning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    51
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
105
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for one night in the dog friendly double bedroom, which was very nice. We ate in the restaurant. Hubby had the lamb with roast veg. I'm a vegetarian, the menu was limited with the only choice being deep fried courgettes, which I don't like. I asked for the carvery, without the meat. I was presented with a plate with a Yorkshire pudding sitting in gravy. The veg, which was for two to share, was four small roast potatoes, five carrot batons and a small portion of cabbage. I asked for more veg, and we were given a small serving of new potatoes. The food was lovely, but portions very small. The sticky toffee pudding with ice cream was our choice for dessert and was delicious. The food bill was £43.00. Next day hubby had the Welsh breakfast and I had porridge, both very good. We also had toast with chef's homemade marmalade which was so good we bought a pot to bring home! All in all, we had a lovely stay in a delightful location. The staff are very friendly and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Llanarmon DC and The Hand Hotel are both excellent potential destinations for a Sunday Lunch.

A "Rosette Restaurant" and a brigade of named chefs should all bode well for a well prepared and presented "Roast Beef Lunch"

Not a " Big Ask" you would think but we were presented with very thin precision cut beef ensconced in pretty thin gravy topped with a compact steaming Yorkshire Pudding.

This main dish accompanied by glazed carrots and cabbage with mooli and under coloured roast potatoes.

At this price point of £14 for one course of beef, one might expect tender coloured thick cut rib cooked to choice of pink or well done, served with some interesting vegetables and roast potatoes that look as though they have seen cooking time in a roasting tin.

Starters were lacking inspiration and desserts were ok at this hotel but we really were expecting lunch cooked to a higher standard.

We were looking forward to and expecting more and at £43 for two excluding drinks and coffee one might reasonably expect some culinary excellence in this beautiful Ceiriog Valley.

The Hotel is not without reputation so perhaps we caught this kitchen team on an off day

- but ?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It's not often that I can dine out on a Sunday lunch and enjoy a roast dinner of such quality . The beef melted in the mouth , the home made Yorkshire pudding was light and well textured , and a generous portion of fresh vegetables cooked perfectly.
My partner enjoyed the vegetarian option which was not just a menu filler but a real notable full flavoured dish.
Obligingly the very accommodating staff even welcomed us back later to enjoy our puddings in the garden after our walk . Again both perfect. Thank you for a lovely afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangynog
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited on a Sunday evening, the food was fantastic and really good value. The hand is set in a beautiful village and is a superb example of a great welsh gem. Can't wait until our next wedding anniversary - we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay at The Hand at Llanarmon this weekend. The hotel is lovely and has a characterful charm. The outdoor areas were very well maintained and provided plenty of seating areas to enjoy a morning coffee or dinner in the evening. The setting was gorgeous, with the hotel located in a very small village at the end of a long road with very little passing traffic which makes it all the more peaceful. We were able to drive to Llangollen in less than half an hour which offered numerous walks.

Our room was lovely too. We had our dog with us so were staying in a 'country' room. The décor was pleasant and the room had views out over open fields and a hill at the back of the hotel. There was a nice supply of tea, coffee and biscuits provided. The bathroom was modern, well presented and clean. As with other reviewers my only negative comment would be the lack of water pressure which resulted in the shower being rather weak.

All of the food we tried was excellent. I would highly recommend the smoked salmon starter and the McCardles pies. My husband had a curried style chicken main course which was also fantastic quality. Delicious!

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After an up and over hilly trek, one might wonder exactly where you're going and then you arrive in the pretty little village of Llanarmon.... Two hotels a church. School and about a dozen houses, yes that's it but its beautiful!
There's lots of walkers, visitors and locals alike, everyone chatting together after what was a superb meal, from a well varied menu to suit all pockets and tastes.
Our room was cool & calming with a fabulous view of the hills and was decorated tastefully in cream and red which was well fitted out with a high standard of bathroom fittings and toiletries - the only downside was the almost non existent shower flow!
The staff were very welcoming and friendly and chatted happily to all, nothing seeming to be too much trouble...
Thank you Martin and Co for a very pleasant pause in an all too hectic world!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hand at Llanarmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand at Llanarmon

Address: Upper Ceiriog Valley, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand at Llanarmon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hand is an ancient hostelry with all the attributes you'd expect - bags of character, a cosy, relaxing ambience and a warm welcome from your hosts, Jonathan and Jackie Greatorex. As soon as you arrive you feel the weight of the world dissolving as the surroundings work their magic. All the classic ingredients are here - old beams, roaring fireplaces, a casual mix-and-match of pine and oak furniture, real ale and good food. The latter is seriously good. Thanks to the talents of Head Chef Grant Mulholland and his team, The Hand is renowned for award-winning food, an inventive marriage of country fare and sophisticated metropolitan cuisine. The bedrooms, in a variety of sizes, reflect similar influences, with rustic decor and sparkling modern bathrooms. Country lovers just love the location. You can walk in the Berwyns for hours with only the sheep for company and the ever-helpful Hand can arrange many country pursuits, including horse riding, fishing and shooting. You may be away from it all, but you'll also be in the swing of things; this gem of a country inn is so much a part of village life that locals and visitors mix in unaffected harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Hand at Llanarmon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand At Llanarmon Hotel Llanarmon Dc
Hand At Llanarmon Dc
The Hand At Llanarmon Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hand at Llanarmon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.