We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cousin's Reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The West Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The West Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The West Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llanarmon DC | Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Southampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cousin's Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I, my sister and several cousins met at The West Arms for a reunion at the end of February.
We were made extremely welcome and everybody was very helpful.
We ate in the restaurant every night, and I have to say that the food was quite delicious! Whatever you do, hang on to that chef!
This lovely old inn is warm and cosy and in a very beautiful part of Wales.
I and my dog will certainly return, he loved it too! I look forward to a nice peaceful weekend, walking and then reading by that lovely fire.
Thank you. Jeanette Kell

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and such a positive one too! Your party were a pleasure to welcome here and also to look after - we are all very pleased the whole weekend was a complete success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    66
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
177
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a one night break booked through travel zoo. The hotel staff are friendly and the hotel is cosy. We ate in the restaurant as part of the deal and were very happy with the quality of the food. My only negative comment would be that we booked our table for 8pm and weren't taken to our table until 9pm by which time we were ravenous. Also the prices in the bar were expensive 5.20 for a pint of ale is a bit steep. Also we had a room in the main hotel but our friends were in the annexe which wasn't as nice. All in all a lovely place, warm, cosy and inviting with excellent food

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We wish we could charge £5.20 for a pint of ale - as then we would be able to retire very soon! Our current price for a pint of local Stone house real ale is £3.30. We are sorry you had to wait for a while before going into the restaurant - but as our team of Chefs cook everything to order and we are quite a busy hotel, this does happen sometimes but we always hope that due to the location no one is actually in a rush - and that the food is worth waiting for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just 10 miles from civilisation but the rush and hustle of our working lives could have been a million miles away.
A great hotel to escape to with quirky, comfortable bedrooms complete with oak beams and outlooks to the surrounding hills. A roaring fire welcomes you as you enter the reception area which extend into the cosy lounge with another comfortable snug beyond. The a la carte restaurant has a very good reputation and our experience fully supports that status. For less formal dining the lounge bar with its open fire provides an excellent venue with the same high quality food. Next door the bar is a great place to meet locals for drinks and share the warmth from yet another open fire.
The location of the West Arms at Llanharmon Dyffryn Ceiriog is ideal for most country based pursuits and the water falls (Pistyl Rhaeadr) near Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnan are well wirth a visit.

Room Tip: There are character rooms and suites which are well worth considering
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you Mr and Mrs Watkins for the lovely comments - you were exceptional guests - and indeed a pleasure to welcome and look after once again at The West Arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just be aware that this inn is a good distance from Llagollen itself as that came as a suprise to us. It is however in a lovely, quite remote village almost facing The Hand Inn (which we had almost booked at). My husband and I travel on business with our dog and we look for a warm, friendly, comfortable, clean characterful place to stay where we can enjoy a relaxing meal in the bar with our dog, ideally by a log fire. The West Arms fulfilled all of our requirements. We asked to stay in the annex in order to have direct access to outside and I suspect that this may be more basic than the rooms within the inn. It was clean, comfortable and suited our needs but don't expect "up to date chic" The annex has other rooms and did appear as though it could suit a group/ family booking. Staff were all friendly and helpful, thouh there were occasionally waits for service.
The food appears to be highly acclaimed, but we were a little disappointed. The bar meals were not cheap but neither were they anything exceptional and we felt the use of herbs was over heavy. Overall though most people seemed very positive about theier stay and we would happily stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sarah's room in the annex which suited our needs. There is a room next door, Steph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you Elaine for your review. We are happy you had an overall good experience at The West Arms. The quality of the annexe rooms are reflected in the price and a little more basic than other rooms. We do not claim to offer cheap meals as the quality of the produce we serve is extremely high and everything is freshly sourced, freshly prepared and cooked at the time of ordering. Obviously we aim to please everyone and we are glad to say that most of the time Grant, our Head Chef and his team do achieve this and receive superb compliments - hopefully you will re-visit and be pleasantly surprised next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break with my sister and husband, our rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly,Food was excellent had a bar meal the first night which was super.had a really relaxing time would go back again .thankyou.

Room Tip: all rooms see nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review - we are very happy The West Arms lived up to its reputation and you would gladly return. Our constant aim is to please, so reviews such as yours makes the whole team all feel extremely rewarded for our efforts that are ever present. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My other half and I booked a one night stay at the West Arms earlier this week as a treat after a very busy few weeks at work.
Our room was lovely, warm and cosy, with everything we needed for a short break, including a well stocked tea tray, a never-ending supply of hot water and plenty of clean towels. Even BBC Alba on the television was an education!
We enjoyed a fantastic 3 course meal and bottle of wine in the restaurant that night, but both agreed that the cooked breakfast served to our room the following morning, for a small charge, was a highlight.
The staff were friendly and helpful and we would recommend the West Arms to anyone.
During our short stay we visited the nearby waterfall which was beautiful, but the narrow roads took a fair bit of negotiating - especially with the errant herd of cows we came across! We would have liked to visit Chirk Castle too but the heavy snow stopped us from getting there. We took a trip to Shrewsbury instead - a bit further away, but no snow!
Overall, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
How lovely to read such a great review - thank you so much! We are really really pleased you had a wonderful time.....come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Feb 2013 as part of a mini break. We got a deal on the booking and upgraded to a superior room (we stayed in room 15). On arrival the owners greeted us and showed us to our room. They were very friendly and welcoming. There was a fab fire in the reception to greet us too.

The room was a good size - see pics - with a nice en suite. The bed was a king size and there were chairs to sit on as well as sitting on the bed. There were extra bits in the room e.g. shower gel and lots of fluffy white towels. The drinks tray was well stocked with a choice of coffees and a tea pot. There was plenty of hot water for baths.

We ate at the restaurant which was really lovely. We had the three course meal which was well presented and high quality food. The tastes were very well put together and we really enjoyed the food.

Breakfast was also good - good choices and plenty of food on offer.

We were very impressed with the staff who were kind and polite and helpful. The whole setting was perfect - what I was hoping it would be - old fashioned inn with comfy sofas and open fires with yummy food.

My only constructive feedback / thing I would change (but which would not stop me from returning) are: the room was chilly at times; there are odd bits of decoration / maintenance which I would upgrade but I appreciate the challenges of running an inn and the time and costs this would involve.

We also went to see Chirk castle and the tall waterfall nearby which finished off our stay nicely. Thank you for a lovely visit. We'd love to come back and try the Welsh Rarebit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks Jacqui for taking the time to write your positive review with constructive comments - all which have been noted. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will return to stay with us in the warmer weather to enjoy the spectacular scenery we boast about!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Address: Llanarmon DC | Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.