We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations in every aspect, including beautiful setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The West Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The West Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The West Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llanarmon DC | Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations in every aspect, including beautiful setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

Paid for upgrade to Willow suite which was spacious clean, comfortable, with fabulous view, and a massage chair ! Staff were accommodating and friendly. Food was excellent. Would highly recommend for a weekend of simply getting away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a wonderful review - it was a pleasure to look after you all, from the time of your booking to throughout your stay, and we, as a team, are happy that your time at The West Arms was so much appreciated from start to finish and also that you were able to enjoy the luxury of The Willow and The Howard rooms. We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    66
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
30
177
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alegrete, Portalegre, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Both my husband and I have not lived in the UK for many years, and recently took the opportunity of visiting Wales (after having lived there for many years)it was also our first trip alone for 10 years. The West Arms was recommended by an old friend, and all we can say is many thanks dear friend! Being two middle aged lovers of nature and good food we were more than pleasantly surprised. We were allocated a charming room at the back of the Inn with the most spectacular views of the Berwyn Hills, the room was light airy and very comfortable. The atmosphere was relaxing and cosy and the all the staff extremley friendly and helpful. After a day rambling across them there hills, a glass of wine for me and a good old pint for the hubby by the fireplace was just heaven, and then supper cooked to perfection by the chef Grant Williams, we felt rather indulged! Thank you for having made the experience unforgettable, really made us miss home!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you - Old Romantics - for your wonderful compliments - it was a pleasure to look after you and Portugal are lucky to have such charming guests as their full time residents. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the not too distant future and thank you for choosing The West Arms as your place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We took all 16 rooms in the main inn for a tutored weekend of amateur viola da gamba playing organised on behalf of North West Early Music Forum. Everyone enjoyed the weekend and was very happy with the venue and the service provided. We had excellent food, and attentive staff. For our playing, we needed five or so rooms for small groups, and we were able to find sufficient space, even if we sometimes had to use the bar area. As we were playing 17th-century music, we wanted the right period charm, and the West Arms certainly provided this. At the same time, everything was comfortable and of a high modern standard. Event organisation is a time-consuming business, and one important factor is how well the chosen venue meets your needs and deals with matters efficiently. Geoff and Gill have been impressively business-like from the beginning and we have got through all the matters that arise without hassle, while they have also offered a welcoming and friendly service. So I commend the West Arms not only from the accommodation point of view, but also from a business management perspective. We shall, all being well, return next year.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you so much for such a quick and positive review. It was great to be able to accommodate you all, and a pleasure to listen to such professional and accomplished musicians. The West Arms resounded with wonderful harmonies. We look forward to next year and are both flattered and honoured you have re-booked already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

A marvellous welcome from the minute we arrived. All the staff were attentive and friendly with tremendous food and accommodation; as important was the dog-friendly welcome for our chocolate lab.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive review - we appreciate the time and effort it takes and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.....and all the team are really pleased with your kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked the West Arms following a Travelzoo weekend offer which advertised a package including a 3 course meal by chef Grant Williams. Due to this, the rooms were fully booked so we were offered the cottage next door, which we took. The cottage was lovely, recently modernised but retaining the charm of an older building. The food though, was exceptional. It was a small menu, but my wife and I found dishes to our taste and they were cooked and presented to perfection. We ate in the restaurant the first night and in the bar the second night and the food was of the same standard - superb. The other element was the staff - universally creating a 'family' atmosphere - rankings, ratings and how you felt about things were paramount. - and they were charming with it.

The area itself was stunning, we went for a couple of long walks and, admittedly did get lost on one of them, so were out for around 5 hours, so if you want a tip - take a good map and don't rely on local instructions!

Overall, a fabulous weekend matched by the surroundings and weather - thanks everyone at West Arms and Travelzoo!

Room Tip: If you go for the cottage, the King size room is really comfortable and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We do appreciate your kind comments and all of us here at The West Arms are very chuffed that you had such a wonderful time and welcome the opportunity to look after you again here in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Wanted to eat at The Hand over the road, but unfortunately, they were fully booked. We were seated at a small table in The Lounge Bar, which is tatty and in desperate need of a new carpet. As the place was virtually empty, I'm surprised we weren't offered a choice of tables. My instinct was to leave and wish we had. The Lounge Bar seems to be the area dogs are allowed, unless of course they're allowed in all areas of the pub. I wondered whether this is why it had been allowed to get so tatty and I thought a bit smelly. However, dog owners still like nice clean surroundings. We have a dog, but do not take him with us when we eat, so I don't really want to sit in a tatty area with other people's dogs whilst I eat. When the food arrived the portions were small. I thought the new potatoes had been missed off my plate, but then realised 2 or 3 had been chopped up and mixed in with a small portion of vegetables. Our child's chicken in batter looked like factory produced chicken nuggets with about half a dozen chips, no peas or beans included. £5.95 for less that you would have got with a McDonald's happy meal!
Could benefit from a visit from The Hotel Inspector, or just checkout what's on offer over the road at The Hand and match that.
I would not return or recommend, certainly not an enjoyable experience or value for money. A disappointing end to an otherwise great stay in this lovely area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
What a shame you did not have the courage to complain to our friendly team at the time of your visit! (Much easier to write a review!) We offer food all day on a Sunday and the time you requested to eat was 3 pm. When you first came in at 1 pm to ask if you could return later - you may remember that we were buzzing with business at 1 pm. The choice of tables at 3 pm was limited as we had a large party of over 20 booked in the lounge bar for 3.30pm - who again you may remember as they were waiting to use your table when you vacated...? The Lounge Bar has been recently renovated in keeping with the character of the whole building which is very very old but most definitely clean. There was only the one small dog in the lounge bar when you arrived who was clean and white and sat quietly with its owners. Unlike other pubs locally, we do not have a House Dog but we do welcome other people's.....and their children and any visitors generally as we are a country Inn where the clientele enjoy walking, cycling and other country pursuits which the feline is part of. One of the food choices for children is breast of chicken deep fried in batter and what most children seem to like - we would not know what McDonalds serve. Beans are always available if required. With regard to Hotel Inspectors - coincidentally only last week we had an anonymous visit from the AA Inspector who gave us a glowing report - as did the Health Inspector last month and we are very pleased to have been selected to be included in The Good Food Guide for 2012 which is one of the greatest accolades recognised by today's Top Chefs. Judging from all the excellent reviews we have recently received, we are all justifiably proud of what we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My wife's 50th birthday is in March, so as all our weekends were booked between the end of February and the actual date, we decided to stay at The West Arms on the weekend of 18th/19th February, to "kick-start" a few weeks of celebrations. We had actually stayed there for her 40th birthday in 2002 and enjoyed an excellent time then. Our welcome from Geoff, Gill (the owners) and their cheerful and helpful staff was delightful. We were given the "Willow" suite, which consisted of a large lounge, a bedroom with a king-sized bed and adjoining bathroom with a "king-sized" bath. The rooms were warm and very comfortable, with nice extra touches such as a decanter of sherry, plus two glasses and a massage chair in the lounge, as well as the usual tea and coffee-making facilities. As we had our 11 year old son with us the staff had erected an extra bed in the lounge, but there was still plenty of room.
We had lunch in the bar, which provides a first class range of drinks and bar snacks and booked our evening meal in the restaurant for 8pm. The food and service were truly excellent with an extensive selection of wines to accompany the 5 star dinner we had on the Saturday evening. There was no problem ordering a child-friendly dinner for our son, even in the main dining room, and no adverse remarks when he requested tomato ketchup instead of the chef's special sauce, which can happen in some of the so called top restaurants!
The location of the West Arms is ideal for exploring the many delights of the local area and after waking up to snow and having a really good "Chef's Breakfast" we went to see the Pistyll Rhaeadr waterfall, which is about 30 minutes drive away. As we had enjoyed our stay at The West Arms so much, even though we had booked out of the hotel, we decided to return there for Sunday lunch on our way home.
We loved our weekend stay at what can now be described as one of our favorite "get away" locations in the UK and certainly won't be waiting another 10 years before we return to this idyllic old hotel.

Room Tip: The "Willow" suite is very spacious, has nice views and extras such as a massage chair and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review with your kind comments and we are very happy you had a great stay at The West Arms. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Address: Llanarmon DC | Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.