We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dyserth Falls Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dyserth Falls Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dyserth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dyserth Falls Resort
Save
You added Dyserth Falls Resort to your Saves list
Allt-y-Craig, Dyserth LL18 6DX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dyserth Falls Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This resort was taken over in March 2013. I came here in October 2013.
All the staff appear to have a multitude of jobs.
The reception was very welcoming and clean, as was rest of the main building. the food was exemplary in the restaurant but the service was a let down. I waited over half an hour for my starters, which was a prawn cocktail, (mostly lettuce with 12 prawns) and never once asked if I would like a drink. Tables were left untidy for the whole duration of my meal, the waitresses would walk pass the tables with no attempt to clear them. When this was mentioned to the manager, I was promptly told that half an hour was acceptable.
The swimming pool was lovely and warm a balmy 20 oc. But the water stung my eyes, not due to the chlorine but due to the bacteria in the water. Having a black rubber mat in the Jacuzzi area was not a good idea as my feet turned black, also the amount of grit in that area was rather off putting when this was mentioned to the management they said the pool was due for a deep clean in two days time, so unfortunately the pool will be out of action. On returning to the pool, I noticed the grit and black mat were still in the pool.
on arriving in My room, the bath had hair in that did not belong to me, as I had not used the bath, the floor around the sink also was covered in dust and hair, cutlery and crockery were missing from the kitchen, the room was for four people, again when mentioned to the management regarding these mishaps, I was told no-one is perfect and that the rooms are all for total refurbishment which has been on-going since the new company took over the resort since March and as they have 90 chalets is does take time.

Hopefully when I return this time next year, all this little mishaps will be rectified and more staff will be employed to help with the smooth running, of what could be, a beautiful resort.

Room Tip: If you have any medical impairment at all , it would be advisable to let the reception know so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    29
    19
    28
See reviews for
52
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Resort is a little tired, but it is in a great location for exploring North Wales. We had the lodge with one of the best views (No. 47), on a clear day you could see Great Orme and lots of wind turbines out at sea !!.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned today from a one night stay in the hotel, It was booked for us by a friend. Seems nice on the surface, the public areas seemed clean and tidy although it was just a sweeping visit to the bar and because we were chatting we didn't look around much. The hotel was full that night but staff seemed minimal and reception was unattended when we wanted to check in so we had to wait. The receptionist was efficient to the point of being almost robotic. Our room was in the hotel block and upon entering the corridor noticed an odd smell, it was however clean but in need of TLC. Our room was a good size and once again clean and comfy. The facilities are very basic, and ladies you cannot use hair straighteners in the room as it sets off the fire alarm ! There are 5 points of lighting in the room but even with all of them turned on, it is still dark. The light is also a problem in the bathroom along with the poor shower. It is more of a drizzle that you cannot get a good wash in and the temperature is hard to control too. All of this makes it difficult to get ready for a night out. The door lock on our room 102 is temperamental and took 4 attempts to get it to stay locked and even more to open after a few drinks. On opening the door after our night out we were almost knocked out by the heat of the room, it was roasting ( nice for some but not our cup of tea). I cannot tell you about the comfort of the beds as we were tired and tipsy so slept really well. There is very little information about the resort in the rooms other an a map. I looked online to find out about breakfast and it says they serve it until 11. We went to breakfast at 9.50 and the waiter told us we were just in time. We opted for the 8 item full breakfast which is bacon sausage egg mushrooms beans tomato hash brown and black pudding. Ours came minus the hash brown and black pudding, for which we were still charged. Despite this though the food was good and hot, and the waiter very pleasant. The dining room looked like it was set for a wedding and this made breakfast seem a little formal, it might be better if the chair covers and double tablecloths were removed and please get rid of the plastic grass on the tables.
All in all for the money our stay was ok but I probably wouldn't return as the rooms are not designed to get ready in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Have just returned from Dyserth and once again we are more than happy, we stayed in a lodge in June which was fantastic, this time we used the hotel. Excellent value for money, room was clean, beds were very comfortable, tea and coffee were provided which was very welcome. We had several meals in the restaurant and every single one was cooked and presented to an extremely high standard , staff and management were pleasant. polite and nothing was too much trouble. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

All in all the hotel was brilliant. We stayed for three nights and were pleasantly surprised at the value for money. As we both work in the hotel industry ourselves we probably had greater expectations than most. However, the room was clean and well presented. Tea and coffee was there waiting for us. The room and bathroom were a good size. The only issue worth mentioning is the curtains weren't particularly thick, and let sunlight through, and possibly gave the window cleaner more than he expected to see one morning.

The swimming pool is lovely, and fits in with the relaxing break away sentiment the hotel provides. The reception could do with a bit of a refresh, it looked 'busy,' and that isn't always a comforting sight for guests. However, the staff were friendly if a little unable to help with issues such as more pillows and a faulty tv remote as housekeeping was closed.

The standout feature of the hotel is the food and beverage. The barman was helpful and friendly and the drinks well priced. However, the restaurant was superb. Dinner for two was well priced, and served politely. We ate there on a steak night, and both meals were cooked perfectly. The restaurant waitresses were helpful, polite and seemed pleasant!

After our stay, we found out that it would have only been marginally more expensive to have stayed in a cabin for the duration. Given that we did not spend a great deal of time at the hotel during the day, it was not of huge significance. However, if I were to stay again I would definitely stay in the cabin.

Overall, the hotel was absolutely lovely. Ideal for a break away. Particularly as you're only a short walk away from Meliden, Prestatyn and Dyserth waterfall. The views are lovely too. If you're afraid of peacocks like my boyfriend though, be aware they sometimes float around the area, or man up!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a cabin, if we were to go back we definitely would.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent a week at Dyserth Falls over the bank holiday weekend. We were a group of six adults in a 'six adult berth lodge'. Unfortunately on arrival we found the sofa bed in the lounge was a single. We spoke to the staff who told us there was nothing they were able to do until the manager returned on Monday. When we asked where the sixth member of our group could sleep we were told we could get a discounted rate in their hotel! On Monday, the Manager told us it was a standard sized sofa bed. We informed her that two adults were sleeping on it as it was advertised as a 6 berth adult occupancy and she laughed at us and stated "oh I bet that is cosy". No empathy for our two nights lack of sleep. She refused to do anything about it and kept stating it was a standard size.

The male receptionist informed us he had had to move a family of four from their booked lodge into the hotel due to their lodge not having adequate sleeping arrangements so we were not alone.

Normally I take towels with me but we were informed they were provided so I broke tradition and didn't take any. Mistake! The resort had ran out of towels on our arrival and we were only given four bath towels. We were informed there was a delivery on Tuesday. We were given a handful of hand towels and told to use them.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed Snowdonia and the surrounding areas. With a lot of TLC to the buildings, swimming pool changing rooms and the manager being taught some manners this would be a lovely resort, it is such a shame we were dealt with so badly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dyserth hotels

Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Resort under new management and they are trying hard to raise the standard of the accommodation. Our 2 bedroomed appartment was ok but needed a bit of TLC (lodge 47). The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. Phil behind the bar is chatty and can tell you where to visit. The restaurant offers excellent value for money & the Sunday carvery is particularly good. Swimming pool is good but the changing rooms need refurbishing. No spa facilities available. As a base for visiting North Wales it is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dyserth Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dyserth Falls Resort

Address: Allt-y-Craig, Dyserth LL18 6DX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Dyserth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dyserth
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Dyserth Falls Hotel Dyserth
Dyserth Falls Resort Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dyserth Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.