We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some unexpected pleasures” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dyserth Falls Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dyserth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dyserth Falls Resort
Save
You added Dyserth Falls Resort to your Saves list
Allt-y-Craig, Dyserth LL18 6DX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
North London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some unexpected pleasures”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went to this resort as timeshare members but you don't have to be a timeshare member to go there. Certainly we were disappointed with the quality of the lodge we stayed in which was very "tired" and not up to the standard we would normally expect. None of the cutlery matched and nor did any of the glasses (some of which were freebies from somewhere). We were, as a couple, given single beds. My matress extended over the base by a few inches each side. This meant that every time I turned over I felt like I was falling out of bed. I ended up propping one side up with the vanity stool! The freezer compartment of the fridge did not have a door and the door to the fridge would only stay shut when being held by a chair. The pool heating had only just been fixed when we got there, but only one of the showers in the changing room had a head on it. We are however easy going, and these were all problems we worked around and we did not let it spoil our holiday. The resort is in a beautiful area with lots of places to visit within easy reach. (It's only about 45 minutes to get as far as Anglesey). What you don't find out about until the end of the week is their wonderful "hidden treasure". On booking in we were asked if we wanted to go on a guided walk on the Thursday and a trip to Snowdonia on the Friday. We were hesitant as there was no charge for either and we thought there must be a catch (nothing comes for free does it?) but to have put our names down for both was absolutely without question the best decision we would have made. Our guide for both the walk and the whole day trip (14 seat bus, so limited spaces) was Lal. He was incredibly knowledgeable and a very personable gentleman. He had lots of stories to tell and made fascinating company. I would very happily go back (even if faced with the same accommodation problems) because of the spectacular beauty of the area and the very lovely friendly people. Just one warning - the peacocks are very friendly - we hand fed them every day, but they wake early and can be VERY noisy. I can imagine that in the summer with the early mornings you will be provided with a "natural" alarm clock at daybreak! So bottom line is look past the tired features - the resort is under new ownership and have promised this will change - and look to the benefits of being in such a wonderful area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    64
    45
    29
    59
See reviews for
98
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

we loved the resort great holiday!! the staff were all very friendly and very helpful!!! so much for the kids to do.... the swimming pool was very nice and the surrounding were beautiful.i would stay there again..mybe in the summer. THIS RESORT IS A MUST GO TO PLACE

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Just had a week here and it's pretty terrible, nothing is working, we are in the half term holiday and no facilities! Pool still freezing, no showers, no whirlpool, no restaurant accommodation very basic! Staff say had a problem with the boiler this week!!!! Check your reviews before you lie to us this has been going on since last year!!!!!!
Avoid if you can the only nice thing about the place is the peacocks! Our son was hoping to have a week of swimming so very disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dyserth hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our children were very comfortable and welcomed at this establishment and it was a proper treat to see happy staff and the food was excellent value for money. Struggled with places for children to eat in the local area and this place really made our children feel at ease. Well worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a week here and very disappointed I rang before I came (after reading previous reviews) and was assured pool heating, gym showers, whirlpool and steam room had all been fixed....... Not so!! Other than the fact of being lied to... it is almost humourous walking around counting the out of order signs. The story about new owners taking over too is a load of bull as the previous owner has simply leased it to his mate. The new timeshare scheme they promote 'fractional ownership' needs real careful thought before entering....... say no more. The actual area around the resort from towns like Chester are really nice and well worth the visit. If you go to this resort as just a place to sleep its okay, just to see the places around.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent a week here with children for half term. Lodge was warm, clean and tidy and well equipped. Few minor issues resolved with reception staff although could have been a little quicker. Didn't use pool as advised boiler to heat pool not working and no hot water in showers (at pool - plenty at lodge). No restaurant on site but very easy access to local supermarket nr Rhyl and takeaway just down the road. Great location to explore local coast, recommend Llandudno. Also cycle path along old railway behind the site provides nice circular walk to Dyserth Falls or a longer walk to Prestatyn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My family and I had booked a month's stay at the above resort. We had spoken to the "Business Development Management" about our requirements and had arranged the reservation personally with her as we were wanting to stay longer than a "typical" holiday stay. Two weeks before we were due to stay we still had not received any written confirmation from the resort despite frequent phone calls to request this and despite leaving numerous messages for the Business Development manager who did not return our calls.Eventually a Receptionist rang us to say that our stay had been cancelled because other bookings had been made and they could no longer accommodate us for that period of time.
We appreciate that our reservation was not a typical request however the customer service provided by the resort from the beginning has been at best frustrating and a worst appalling. I hope that the staff are better skilled at working with people on a face to face basis as their telephone skills are unprofessional and at times rude.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dyserth Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dyserth Falls Resort

Address: Allt-y-Craig, Dyserth LL18 6DX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Dyserth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dyserth
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Dyserth Falls Hotel Dyserth
Dyserth Falls Resort Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dyserth Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.