We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run, comfortable resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dyserth Falls Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dyserth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dyserth Falls Resort
Save
You added Dyserth Falls Resort to your Saves list
Allt-y-Craig, Dyserth LL18 6DX, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well run, comfortable resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We (family of four) stayed in a refurbished lodge with two bedrooms. The lodge was pleasant and spotlessly clean. The open plan lounge, kitchen and diner were unusually spacious. The sofa was probably the best one we have encountered world wide - for once, all of us could fit on it together and watch films in the evenings. The kitchen was well-equipped and there was even a washing machine. The twin bedroom was fine, and our daughters had an ensuite to themselves. The units are close to one another but they are so well placed that you are unaware that you have neighbours at all. But our lodge was detached, so I can't speak for the apartments. The bed in the main bedroom was not particularly comfortable and there was no chest of drawers for undies etc. The uncomfortable mattress was a problem and anyone with a bad back would not cope.
Staff on the resort were delightful. They are not simply doing their jobs - they really do want you to feel looked after (a matter of pride, I think). We enjoyed watching the impressive band of peacocks parading about the lodge. The bar and fitness suites were of a good standard. We didn't eat in the restaurant, so I can't comment on that.
It was clear to us that the new owners are spending money on the resort and they're not finished yet.
If you go there, visit Bodelwyddan Castle. We really enjoyed ourselves there.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    45
    29
    19
    28
See reviews for
52
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

well what can one say , if this is an improvment then it really must have been a dump.
This was an exchange through RCI (a 3bed in south carolina for a tiny 1 bed hovel in wales.)
Bear in mind that the vist was the end of November and you would have thought that this company would have been over the moon to let its few guest have a refurbished unit. However the unit which was given to us (and told it was an upgrade ) was no more than a dirty hovel. The cooker was dirty the shower (which was never hot ) had a piece of used soap in the tray showing it had not been cleaned the other soap had also been used (see previous guest review)
The staff had a could not care less way about them and the sales staff crowed the bar early evening slagging off all the people who had been to one of their presentations. They are trying to sell fractional vaction time ie 26th of a unit for £10000 for 16 yrs only then they will sell it and you get a 26th of the selling price, how much do they think a hovel will be worth in 16yrs time?
All in all it is a very run down and gives any visitors from outside the UK a very poor insight into British Timeshare . The mf for a traditional time share are so very costly compared to our Points system in the US vacation club we belong to and with far less for your money.
The pool was ok but the changing rooms were dirty.
In this day and age there is no excuse for the dirty presentation of these units and they should be ashamed to even offer them to people.
The wifi in the recetion did not work very often and the staff only tried to reboot after a number of complaints.
To the mangment get a grip on your resort and your staff , I know you got it cheap since the previous owners are banged up for fraud ( I have seen the newspaper article) are you heading the same way ?

Room Tip: stay away what else can you say
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dyserth hotels

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The resort was a blend of hotel and rental lodges. We stayed in a lodge. The resort is undergoing a period of transition with the new owners upgrading the premises. Our lodge had not been renovated and so looked a little jaded. Nevertheless, it was warm, relaxing and a good size. The staff on the resort were excellent - friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. The public areas (bar/restaurant/recreational areas) were of a good standard. The local area was handy for tourism, and even the weather was good!! We will return in the future, if only to check out the restoration of the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a lodge/room near to reception otherwise you may have a walk with your luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We spent a week at the resort in August and were very pleased to see the improvements that the new management have made. The public areas are now up to a very good standard and the staff were most helpful and efficient. The grounds were well kept and the lodges that have not yet been completely refurbished were much improved. We thoroughly enjoyed our week.Dorothy R-F

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Allegedly the resort has been through rough times, however now it has new owners it is well worth a visit. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and Ffiona tipified all that is good with the place. It is an excellent centre and visits to Chester, Conway and Llandudno are all very special.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

This ''resort'' was a disappointment. Room had seen better days carpet dirty no working fan in bathroom,one tiny piece of soap with remnants of previous use. Tv missing.Tv brought to room but no ariel so pointless. Hairdryer wired to wall and wrapped around drawer leg making it useless. Notice on A4 sheet taped to wall with smoking FORBIDDEN and no hair straighteners.I dont smoke so the convent like instruction was irrelevant but no hair straighteners???? Hello? forwarned would have been good.
No restauraunt so no breakfast. A drive into Rhyl for something you would expect as standard. Bill halved.

Room Tip: Take a snack
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just got back from a week’s holiday at Dyserth Falls Resort – and it was lovely.

To be honest, I had my doubts before arriving, having read a number of mixed reviews about the place – but my worries were unfounded. The new management are certainly making every effort to turn the resort around and it seems to be paying off.

We went as a family of four – ages ranging from 20-56. On arrival we were greeted by friendly, polite staff and were happy to hear that a free buffet was being laid on for all the new arrivals that evening – a great bonus after a long journey from London!

We were not in one of the refurbished lodges (though they look lovely from the photos we saw) – but we were more than happy with our accommodation. Yes, the décor is in need of a facelift but it was clean, practical and comfortable.

The kitchen seemed fine – providing most of what you would need on a self catering holiday. I was surprised that there was no bread/cutting board or measuring jug. It is possible that had I mentioned the lack of these items to reception we’d have got them – but I didn’t, I just made do with what was there and it was fine.

The main bedroom was huge by my standards, with an en suite shower/toilet/wash basin. The second bedroom (two single beds) was a reasonable size and had access to an en suite bath/toilet/wash basin and shower. There was ample storage throughout the lodge – but it would be worth bringing your own coat hangers as there were barely any in our lodge.

The main thing that struck us all was that there was limited natural light – and even when the electric lights were on, it still seemed very dim in certain areas of the lodge, such as the main bedroom. This was due to the fact that our particular lodge was backing on to a high, dense woodland area – coupled with the fact that energy efficient bulbs were used, which I find never give off enough light anyway. Having paid a £20 charge for electricity on arrival I think we probably got our money’s worth by the end of the week!

The entertainment was good but definitely aimed at the older generation. It made a pleasant enough evening though, and even the two young adults in our family enjoyed it – though I can see how people with children would feel that the resort had nothing to offer them entertainment wise.

We did go in search of the games room at one point, but were told this no longer exists and had been turned into a large tv screen viewing room for sport instead – though the staff added that there were plans to bring back a games area at some stage.

There seemed to be plenty for young families to do close to the resort though – with sandy beaches, crazy golf, tenpin bowling and all the usual seaside attractions just a few minutes drive away.

My daughter used the pool, gym and sauna regularly and was happy with the staff, facilities and cleanliness of the areas and changing facilities – which staff told her were next in line for an upgrade. Unfortunately the spa was not open the week we were there as the person who runs it was on holiday - but the list of treatments and prices looked very attractive.

We took most of our own food/drink with us so didn’t need to go shopping much. There is a very good One Stop Shop about 10 minutes walk away from the resort and opens until 11pm everyday – good prices too, with lots of special offers while we were there. There is also a cash machine there. The towns are a car journey away – but obviously offer a wider choice if needed.

We used the restaurant a couple of times – the Sunday carvery was very good, with a choice of three meats (beef, pork, gammon) and all the usual trimmings. We also ate in the restaurant on our last night. The service was slow (only one waitress on duty, presumably because September is considered slow in general). It was nice to see a bit of teamwork though, when the chef came out of the kitchen to help serve food, clear tables etc when he realised things were getting too back-logged.

Many apologies were made for the long wait for food – but to be honest, it tasted that good, we really didn’t care.

The free Snowdonia tour is a fantastic bonus with an excellent guide – but put your name down as soon as you can. There is just one minibus used for the tour and the places go quickly.

The grounds are clean and well-maintained – and any rubbish sacks put out before 3pm each day are collected very quickly indeed. Recycling hasn’t reached this part of Wales yet – so everything goes in one bag.

Our family loved the resort peacocks. They were regular visitors to our lodge and very friendly. The resort itself had a very peaceful, relaxing atmosphere - and was ideally located for so many attractions and places of interest. The reception is well stocked with leaflets of where to go and what to do – and we found the staff to be very knowledgeable too.

RCI have told the resort that they could reach silver standard by next summer if they carry on they way they are. Having seen the new management at work and their keenness to make it succeed, I am sure they can achieve it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dyserth Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dyserth Falls Resort

Address: Allt-y-Craig, Dyserth LL18 6DX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Dyserth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dyserth
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Dyserth Falls Hotel Dyserth
Dyserth Falls Resort Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dyserth Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.