We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bron-y-Graig

Save Saved
You added Bron-y-Graig to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bron-y-Graig
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   London road, Corwen LL21 0DR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Corwen B&B and Inns
SW England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked for a weekend break to explore the area & visit the West coast, after reading previous positive reviews. Glad we did as this place has a lot to offer.
Lovely house & gardens, to be proud of, with a nice colourfull aspect from the gardens at the front.
We didn't use the lounge but it looked lovely. The dining room was well prepared, bright & welcoming.
We were located Room 1 with a large double & 1 single ( we had a toddler & 2 dogs) A pretty & spacious room with beautiful views which suited us perfectly. We saw many Nuthatches & a woodpecker passing by the window!
A few things to note is that plug sockets were not easily accessible, the floorboards were squeaky in the room & above and the bathroom extractor fan was quite noisy. Not critisisms as some of these issues exist if you like period buildings, but our little one was sometimes disturbed by it whilst sleeping.
We felt very welcomed and at ease here and other guests friendly & pleasant.
We found it very easy with our dogs as there was enough space in the room & we could still keep it tidy, quick access to the car right outside the front door ( up the drive away from the main road) and within 1 minute walk there are fields to exercise them. Superb.
On a side note, the local convenience store is handy and well equipt. The Festiniog Steam Railway is a great way to spend a couple of hours. Also Caerau Gardens & Cafe is very pretty with stunning gardens & view of Bala Lake.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
18
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Maybe I caught the hotel owner on a bad day. We arrived at about 4 PM to be told that he had gone out and will be back soon. After an hour or so we were about to drive off for an evening out. He, aparently having returned, jumped out of the front door to say 'Did you have difficulty in finding us?'. I responded not very graciously 'obviously not'. He responded rather tartily ' I was just trying to be friendly and welcoming'. Not a brilliant start but we spoke after that affably enough. He informed us that his wife had to take a part-time job because of lack of business. I suppose I wasn't immediately interested in that item of news but there it was anyway.

The room overlooks a lovely valley and has been designed Victorian style with a large bed, actually two single beds together, and the very nice large bathroom with a long bath which we both enjoyed.

Next morning we turned up at 8:30 on the dot to have breakfast. We helped ourselves to cereals and about 10 min later a young girl in jeans came in telling us apologising that she 'did not hear us coming' and if we wanted tea or coffee etc. The ordered breakfast came. What was curious was the lack of any sign of any personal interest in us. Even if you don't like the guest, you ask them if they had a good evening or night or something. The waitress did not ask us if we wanted more of anything, was everything all right? Usual stuff. She just simply left us alone ...and we were the only guests.

The owner never showed up at all except to take money from us when we left. No conversation, no enquiry, no 'have a good journey', no 'see you again' in fact absolutely no interest. In my hundreds of nights at hotels and bed and breakfast I cannot recall such a lack of interest.

I think if the manager/owner don't have an interest in people he shouldn't run a hotel so maybe this place has become a millstone around his neck and he should consider selling it to someone who can perhaps breathe some new life into it. I could not get away fast enough and will not return.

This attitude contrasted with all the other people I met - bar tenders, shop keepers who were unfailingly friendly and keen to engage. North Wales is great if you dont mind the rain (and BTW 5 degrees on 23rd MAY). Also lovely local ales, good value food and brill. scenery..

Advice to landlord - sell.

Room Tip: facing the front but all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for making the time to write a review. We are sorry you were not welcomed personally when you arrived. In a relatively small establishment it is sometimes necessary to go out for a couple of hours to replenish supplies. On the day you arrived, yours was the only booking in the midst of a week when all other days had several arrivals, so this was the afternoon chosen for shopping. As we did not know when you were to arrive, we left you an envelope with a key to the house and your room, and a note inviting you to come in and make yourselves at home. We apologise if you did not see this and therefore waited to enter. The reference to one owner's part-time employment was not intended as a plea for sympathy, as many people in rural Wales have two or more jobs, but to explain why there was no-one there when you arrived.

We are sorry you were disappointed in our communication with you during your overnight stay, as the other owner enjoyed chatting with you and hearing about your family event at St Asaph Cathedral. It was certainly not our intention to offend you by apparent lack of interest. At breakfast which we serve from 7.30 to 9.00 am weekdays and 8-10am on Sundays we concentrate on bringing guests their choices and we try not to overwhelm people with chat, particularly if they are the only guests in the breakfast room. On departure you indicated that you wanted us to charge the card you used to secure your booking so we did not have a chance to speak to you again then.

Thank you for your scoring us 5/5 for sleep quality. The beds at Bron-y-Graig are supplied by a Yorkshire manufacturer specialising in the hotel trade and all rooms except one feature zip-and-link kingsize beds which can be arranged as two singles if desired. Thank you too for your high score for cleanliness and we are glad you enjoyed the large bathroom and appreciated the views from your window.

We take all our guests' comments seriously and appreciate people taking time out of their busy lives to share their views. We hope you will give Bron-y-Graig another try if you are visiting this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

beautiful view and friendly people here. we arrived in a chilly evening, but soon we found this hotel was waiting us walmly. we also loved large and tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are particularly pleased that you felt warm and welcome, as most of our guests book online in advance instead of finding us as they pass by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent hosts a super room really very comfortable and warm very nice coffee tea and biscuits in our room . This was the best breakfast we have had in a long time . I can still taste the kippers and the great fried bread ( we must have a treat now and again ) . I would love to go back to this lovely house . My wife and I had a wonderful night in this super place .
Michael and Clare

Room Tip: We stayed in the stables .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review Bron-y-Graig and are glad you enjoyed your stay, especially the fried bread, which I enjoy cooking! We are pleased you were warm and comfortable in this unseasonable May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

General overview: this is a lovely guest house. The owners go to great lengths to provide the extra touches which make it special. The house is impressive in its own right and has been lovingly restored to Victorian splendour. The decoration throughout is totally in keeping with the period and the William Morris wallpapers and furnishings are delightful.

Bedroom: our family room on the top floor was spacious and clean with tea, coffee and biscuits, TV with integral DVD player, free wifi (excellent signal) and sofa. Bed was enormous and very comfortable with quality sheets and pillows. The shower worked really well in the bathroom which was just outside the bedroom in a little hallway. Shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and soap were all provided in cute little bottles!

Breakfast: served in an elegant room with beautiful views. There was a wide selection of high quality breakfast items such that over 4 days we had plenty of varied choices. It was all cooked to perfection.

Parking: ample space right outside the establishment. Might require a bit of juggling around when busy but the owners will take care of that for you.

Grounds: there was still plenty of snow around when we went but there were some areas that would be very pleasant to sit out in. Immediately across the road is an excellent dog-walking field and the owners are very dog-friendly. There was, however, no sign whatsoever in our room, or any part of the house, that dogs were accepted, which is a good thing! Dogs were welcome everywhere except the breakfast room, quite understandably.

Location: views in almost every direction plus the pretty River Dee. You need to drive West to Snowdonia, the coast and most attractions but there's plenty to do more locally including an aqueduct which is a world heritage site. Don't go if you suffer from a fear of heights! We also enjoyed the slate caverns at Blaenau Ffestioniog, the steam railway from there to Porthmadog, Criccieth with its ice cream parlour, Cadwaladers, Chirk Castle, Conwy Falls and Trawsfynedd Lake.

Eating out: the guest house does not serve evening meals but we liked a pub in the neighbouring village of Carrog - the Grouse Inn. A bit unprepossessing inside but good food. I'd give the fish and chip shop in Corwen itself a miss!

Amenities: Corwen has a leisure centre with pool. Do support the lovely little gift shop in the village on Bridge Street.

Conclusion: the owners of Bron-y-Graig go out of their way to be hospitable and it is beautifully run. A very comfortable and memorable place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the views but all looked to be done in the same style and all appeared very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you liked the Victorian atmosphere of the house and that you enjoyed our newly-extended breakfast menu. Thank you too for all your suggestions about activities in the area and places to eat. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Back again...... lost count of the amount of times we've stayed here! As always lovely clean rooms and good facilities. Nothing is too much trouble. Judith cooks a lovely full English and her poached eggs are still the best !! Its an ideal base for exploring the surrounding areas. There are a couple of good pubs a short drive away which serve good food.
Brony-y-Graig has lovely views..... is very relaxing..... and once there I never want to head back home !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for coming back to Bron-y-Graig - we are always so chuffed when guests return and I am glad you like my poached eggs! Thank you too for your useful tips about local pubs - we particularly recommend the Grouse in Carrog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed two nights for a local wedding nearby. The guest house is well decorated and clean, the breakfast is good lots of choices. We arrived late and were left to book ourselves in as pre arranged which wasn't a problem. The room was a good size with a spacious bathroom and freeview TV . As we are fairly local and walk/cycle in the area, we would recommend it for anyone on a walking holiday in the area as well as tourists looking to explore the Dee valley and world heritage sights.

The guest house also has a relaxing lounge with great views across the valley.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2. which looks out onto the courtyard and the hill behind the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bron-y-Graig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron-y-Graig

Address: London road, Corwen LL21 0DR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron-y-Graig 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bron-y-Graig is a luxurious 9-bedroom Victorian Town House Hotel in North Wales with tranquil river and mountain views. Set in the beautiful Dee Valley, it is the ideal base for exploring Snowdonia, Chester and North Wales Castles and Coast, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Bron-y-Graig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron-y-Graig Corwen, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bron-y-Graig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.