We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and sweet...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bron-y-Graig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bron-y-Graig to your Saves list
Bron-y-Graig
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   London road, Corwen LL21 0DR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Corwen B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Short and sweet...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night over the weekend - very friendly hosts. We had two rooms, both on the top floor (the stairs are a bit steep, but this is a 130 year old property!). Lovely tiles, vibrant wallpaper and clean bedding, rooms and en-suites...

Hearty breakfast, lovely views....

Good value, wish we were here for longer - definitely worth a return trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments - we are very pleased that you liked the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Outstandingly good value and an absolute pleasure to stay here - dog friendly and free wifi, plus an excellent location for great walking.
Faultless

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a great pleasure to meet your delightful dog Jack!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at Bronygraig first of all three years ago when visiting Llangollen Eisteddfod.
We were so pleased with the welcome, we have now made it our home every year.
We've already booked for the 2012 Eisteddfod.
A&M

Room Tip: If you want privacy, try the rooms in the outbuilding, but if you like a view there are rooms lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a lovely hotel. It's elegance and grandeur make it something very special. The surrounding area is also absolutely wonderful, so much to see. The room we had was right at the top, and had lots of low beams and was like stepping back in time. It was spotless, and the ensuite was also top class. However, my wife and I encountered something quite strange in both the nights we were there which unfortunately prevented us from sleeping and I'm afraid we wont be returning. Can't explain it, and maybe we were being daft, but we both encountered a feeling that we were not alone in the room and both felt a very uncomfortable feeling of being watched. We did not see anything - but had to sleep with the lights on. It felt even more pronounced the second night and again, we could not sleep. I've not experienced anything like it, and it was a relief to go down for breakfast which was wonderful. We dont drink and I just hope it was us being silly, but we simply can not go back even though it is a gorgeous place.

Room Tip: Erm, dont choose the one right at the top and to the left when facing the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thank you for your comments on our décor and facilities. We are sorry to hear you felt you had to sleep with the light on, and wish you had told us during your stay as we would have made every effort to put your minds at rest. We have lived here for 22 years and never felt or seen anything supernatural. Moreover none of our rooms is overlooked, the walls are 2-3 feet thick, and the doors are solid so it is not possible for any living person to watch you in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here several years ago and enjoyed our stay then so we wanted to show our friends what a great plece it is. Great generous rooms with fantastic views. You don't have to stay in your room as there is a wonderful library in the sitting room to relax and unwind. Great area for an early morning walk or just to wander around Corwen at anytime. Breakfast again was fantastic with a beautifully presented selection available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I stayed here recently as part of a walking holiday and was pleasantly surprised.

The house was spacious and older in style (which isn't a criticism!!)...

This meant that the room that i received was very spacious and light with a good sized flat screen TV and the ensuite was simply huge!!

The ensuite had a bath with shower over, plenty of hot water and good toiletries...

The bed was really comfortable (or maybe all of the fresh air and walking had finally got to me!!)...

I can't comment on the town as i went pretty much straight to bed!!

One thing to note is that there isn't a huge choice of restaurants in town - but there are a couple of decent takeaways in town...

Breakfast was good (I had a full cooked breakfast) and the service was pleasant.

I would definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Bron-y-Graig for a 2 night weekend getaway, just to get away from the rat-race and chill out, and we couldn't have picked a better spot or a comfier, nicer hotel to stay in.
The hotel is beautifully located in the green countryside of Corwen, stunning views from the bedroom window (we stayed in room 1). The room was beautifully furnished and decorated, immaculately clean, with all the basic essentials one could need, fluffy white towels to use, complimentary natural shower products, hot drink facilities - with biscuits, flat screen TV with DVD (and a complimentary selection of DVDs to borrow, if you wish). A wonderfully comfortable bed. After the first night we stayed, we had bought a bottle of wine to drink the following evening, when we returned to our room later that day after it had been cleaned, 2 wine glasses had been left by the wine - the small details really count :-)
The breakfast was simply delicious, with a great choice.
The owner, Judith, gave us a warm welcome and was kind and helpful. We really recommend this hotel, and it is situated in a fabulous place to see beautiful Snowdonia and surrounding Welsh coastline. We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bron-y-Graig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron-y-Graig

Address: London road, Corwen LL21 0DR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron-y-Graig 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bron-y-Graig is a luxurious 9-bedroom Victorian Town House Hotel in North Wales with tranquil river and mountain views. Set in the beautiful Dee Valley, it is the ideal base for exploring Snowdonia, Chester and North Wales Castles and Coast, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Bron-y-Graig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron-y-Graig Corwen, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bron-y-Graig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.