We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb venue for a country house party !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powys Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corwen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powys Country House
Save
You added Powys Country House to your Saves list
Holyhead Road | Bonwm, Corwen LL21 9EG, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Corwen B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Superb venue for a country house party !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

14 of us stayed here for a long weekend recently. It was sheer heaven from beginning to end .The bedrooms are extremely comfortable, the three lounges (!) enable people to enjoy relaxing, watching TV or simply chatting. The kitchen has everything that could possibly be needed ( as has the house in general) and the separate games room was a welcome surprise. Of course those brave enough used the hot-tub outside to much merriment all round ! We went on the History Trail around LLangollen on a crisp, sunny day which was really enjoyable. Powys House is THE place for any group to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent though two are smaller but not restrictive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heswall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our family have just returned from our second week end break at Powys Country House,it was every bit as good as the first. We cant praise it enough. Brilliant !!!!!!!! You really should go and see for yourself, seeing is believing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here with friends for 60th birthday. What a lovely house. There were 12 of us and it was great to find somewhere where all the rooms were so comfy and well appoinstay. Loads of seating and the dining room was super. Loved the round table as it meant that we could all chat together. Much more sociable than long tables.

The hot tub was fantastic especially after a long day of sightseeing. The gardens were good, lots of different areas. Even a tennis court. Very friendly owners who only ask that you treat their property with respect. Yes there are a few house rules but that is because of some of the thoughtless behaviour of some previous renters. Loved our stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

we were a party of 27 and took over the House and Cottages for the weekend. All properties are beautifully maintained and of an excellent standard. The kitchens in all properties are excellently equipped from cling film, tupperware boxes and every pot and pan you could need. Almost all rooms have full en suite facilities and the standard of décor is excellent. Gardens lovely and the tennis court, games room and hot tub are all great added extras. We had outside caterers in for one evening and the 3 course meal was lovely as were the staff. You couldn't wish for better accommodation in a beautiful location. We would certainly like to think we would return either as a group or a couple in one of the cottages in the near future. Thanks must go to the very friendly owners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Stable Cottage, everything was just perfect. The cottage was so very comfortable, clean and we appreciated the attention to detail.The arrangements were conducted in a speedy and efficient way and Toni and Terry were very friendly and welcoming. This was our first visit to Wales and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at Powys Country House. We rented the large house to celebrate our parents 50th Wedding Anniversary. We were delighted with the house. Beautifully restored and decorated in keeping with the age of the property but with a modern twist. The Bedrooms were all large, extremely clean with beautiful views. There are 3 lounge areas so we had plenty of room to spread out and there was a TV in every room too. The dining room was fantastic with a beautiful large oak table that seated us all comfortably. Everything that we required was catered for. The gardens were also lovely and the hot tub very clean!! The children enjoyed playing tennis and using the games room. They said it was the best holiday they have ever had, even better than going abroad!!

I did not meet Toni and Terry, however my family did and they were very helpful.

We will definately be booking for next year, if there are any dates available!!! Would highly recommend this property if you are looking for a relaxing place to stay in the wonderful welsh countryside!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked the main house for 7 days and shared the eight bedroomed accommodation with friends and family. The run up to our booking was dealt with in an extremely professional but friendly manner and all our questions and requests were answered promptly.

During our stay we were made to feel extremely welcome and both Toni and Terry did everything possible to make our stay just perfect from the minute we arrived to when we left. We really felt taken care of and very welcome. They went that extra mile for us to make group gatherings at the house run smoothly and kept the gardens in perfect condition. They treated the hot tub regularly during our stay and made sure we had everything we needed during the week, but did not intrude at any point.

We have kept in contact via email and will definitely be booking the use of their cottages at some point in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms had en suite, only one room did not have a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Powys Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Country House

Address: Holyhead Road | Bonwm, Corwen LL21 9EG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Country House offers superb accommodation, in a beautiful setting of 3 acres. We are well situated on the A5 for all the main attractions in North Wales, Llangollen, Betwys-y- coed, Bala Lake. We are 5 star rated by the AA and Welsh Tourist Board for our Country House, and 4 star for our cottages. Powys country house can accommodate max 20 people, cottages up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Powys Country House Corwen, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powys Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.