We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Ffordd Isaf, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2SW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Harlech B&B and Inns
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The very best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B & B early October. After looking at their web site and video showing the rooms and location we decided this was the perfect place to take my father, who is now 92, and not too far from his home in Cheshire, for a break during our stay with him. We live in Victoria, BC and it is always a challenge finding juHst the right accommodation and location from another Country. We ended up taking all but one of rooms as more of my family joined us. We felt truly spoled by Derek and Bridget,a delightful couple, so freindly and hospitible. Our breakfast each day included everything we could possibly want. Our rooms were spotless and comfortable. A real treat for my father and my family. We stay in B & B's in difference areas of the UK each year and Maelgwyn House is by far our favourite.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
181
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haughton Green
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just spent a few days in Wales with my wife and we stayed at this excellent Bed & Breakfast for three nights.
We received a very warm welcome and our room was first class with views overlooking the sea and nearby castle.
The house is very interesting with a lovely tiled hallway and lots of interesting artwork.
The breakfast selection was extremely good and very well presented.
The owners, Bridget and Derek, make your stay an enjoyable experience.
Will certainly look forward to returning for another stay.

Room Tip: Choose one of the front facing rooms. Also take the video tour on the guest house website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towcester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

we stayed in the month of september , very pleasant folk, welcoming and very hospitable, and also flexable for our choice of breakfast which we did appreciate, fantastic sunset across the sea as we sat in our room. found it to be very clean and we enjoyed a good chat in the morning at breakfast, nice display of art work too! glad we found you !! kay and zafi iqbal

Room Tip: you pay for what you get cheaper rooms no sea view or right at the top of the house, pay more for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Wonderful, friendly, comfortable. Only a few words that describe the Maelgwynharlech House. The rooms are beautifully appointed and supplied. The breakfast was splendid, the owners, Derrick and Bridget, are gracious,accommodating, and friendly. Cannot imagine a better B&B in the Gwynedd, Wales area. Thank you so much, Derrick and Bridget.

Room Tip: If you do not require loads of space in a room, room 3 is a fantastic bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Excellent. A room with fantastic sea views. Wonderfull breakfast. Derek (a very accomplished artist) and Bridget could not have been better hosts. Ideally situated being a short walk to town and the castle. Parking. What more do you want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fabulous view, fabulous breakfast. Room comfortable and very clean, although linens & decor a little tired for the money and 5 star rating. Not sure what we did for Derek to be so utterly unwelcoming from the moment he set eyes on us, although Bridget was charming and very helpful with local knowledge etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view.....and hope Derek likes you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meddw, Owner at Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear reader, this is curious review which we feel we have to answer. Let us start with the linen; this was replaced only a few months ago so we're not too sure what the problem was...if any.
By September, and being a very busy B&B, the decor does get a little marked in places, however that is taken care of over the winter redecorating programme.
From time to time we have guests to stay who don't seem to wish to chat or be conversational and sometimes to the point of appearing unfriendly.
When this is the case we don't wish to 'pester' or be overbearing, so we just try and keep it on a polite basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was our 2nd visit (first was 8 years ago) to the Maelgwyn and we were not disappointed. Bridget & Derek were very welcoming. The view from our bedroom was glorious. The full Welsh breakfast is a must & sets you up for the rest of the day! We will definitely be returning- hopefully in less than 8 years time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ffordd Isaf, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast Harlech, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.