We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and facilities, nothing was too much trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Y Branwen Hotel

Y Branwen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Y Branwen Hotel to your Saves list
Y Branwen Hotel
Fford Newydd, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2UB, Wales (Formerly Rum Hole)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harlech
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and facilities, nothing was too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Y Branwen for 1 night on Friday 28th June, we were playing golf at Royal St David's and decided on this hotel due to it's location, literally over the road from the course. Upon arrival we were greated by a very pleasant lady (sorry didnt get her name) who enabled us to check in early, we had a twin room overlooking the road at the front which was a good size, had comfy beds and was clean. Bathroom and shower over bath, usual other facilties, hairdryer etc.

We didnt eat in the restaurant that evening but from the report we had from Pat at Royal St David's Golf Club the evening food is fantastic, not a massive menu but what they do is very good. Us 4 lads opted for a curry in Harlech which was good.

The following morning we were greeted in the breakfast room and seated very quickly, tea & coffee ordered when we sat down and we were then handed a breakfast menu, on offer were cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts etc. There is options on a cooked breakfast too and also kippers if they take your fancy.

4 x full english breakfasts were ordered together with mixed toast, all arrived pipping hot and was very very tasty.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and I am sure we will be revisiting next year when we play again at Royal St Davids.

Great job by all of the staff, well done.

Room Tip: room 6 is very spacious, it is above the restaurant but didnt cause us any issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    24
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. It's in a lovely area, directly under the castle and about 5 minutes from a beautiful beach. The young staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, lots of windows that we could open and the bed was very comfortable. Yes, we were above the restaurant but we had no noise from that at all. There was a bit of noise around 11, which I believe is from when the lounge closed, but it was just people chatting as they left so it wasn't anything major. The food was very good and again the service was great. Definitely recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wetherby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This B&B is a friendly place all the staff are young and eager to please.The general decoration is good, it looks like the place has recently had a makeover.The room we were given was big enough and was nice and warm.The en-suite was a shower and toilet/sink and was very small. We were a bit disappointed that the cleanliness of the en suit was poor. The shower cubicle was particularly dirty around the base and the floor was soiled with dirt. If cleanliness had been up to scratch we would have been very pleased with the room. Breakfast was excellent, great choice and quality. Evening meals were good but not as good as breakfast. The location of the Y Branwen was off putting initially as it seems to be located on a main road. We were not disturbed by any passing traffic.

Room Tip: Take a room over the restaurant not the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This pub/restaurant with rooms is right next to Harlech Golf Club, literally 2 minutes walk away. This really is its biggest asset. The accommodation was a little disappointing for the price, but the room was warm and it was nice to have cotton sheets. The beds were a bit soft. The shower was a bit leaky but powerful enough and plenty of hot water and thick towels. Kettle and tea/coffee in rooms. We were over the restaurant which was a little noisy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was nothing special, but perfectly adequate. Having eaten here a couple of years ago we expected the room and breakfast to be a bit special. The menu has been seriously dumbed down, the owners are the same but they must have a different chef. We didn't eat here this time, although we had intended to, as the menu looked decidedly dreary. Maybe the previous menu was too sophisticated for this location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Called on Friday (15th March) evening on spec for a meal having been highly recommended. Luckily managed to fit us in, probably the best meal we have had in a long time, Food was superb and not overly expensive for the quality. Management and staff were attentive and friendly, a most pleasant change these days.. Will definitely be back. Give it a try, a much needed value for money good quality food and service in Harlech.!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night while working in the area. As soon as I arrived the freindliness of the staff was evident, and all the relevant meal times, location of bar / restaurant, fire exits and access details were efficiently given. Had a room at the rear of the premises with a view of a stone wall - but it was dark within an hour, and I was only there for the night anyway. Had a meal in the bar area (was asked if I wanted to sit in the restaurant, but the bar was more than suitable - and I could watch the football on the TV). Food was very tasty and filling, and there were a couple of Real Ales available as well. Not many guests or locals were in, but it was midweek in February, and suited me as it was quiet and relaxing. Breakfast the following morning was freshly cooked to order and ample. Would definately stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Room at the front if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have always wanted to visit Harlech Castle, and I booked a stay at Y Bronwen because it is literally right beneath the castle.

Everything about this little gem of a hotel was absolutely perfect. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the facilities provided were those I would have expected to find in a much more expensive, higher rated hotel.

The staff were very friendly indeed. Food at both breakfast and evening meals was of a very high standard.

Although the hotel is situated on a main road, there really wasn't much traffic noise at all.

I would definitely stay here gain....hopefully for much longer next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Y Branwen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Branwen Hotel

Address: Fford Newydd, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2UB, Wales (Formerly Rum Hole)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park and nestled below Harlech Castle, Y Branwen is a warm and welcoming family run Hotel, Brasserie and Bar. With a cosy atmosphere and a unique contemporary theme, we offer a more personal touch with high quality service. There are seven individually designed bedrooms, some of which have beautiful views of the world renowned Royal St David's Links Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Y Branwen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Branwen Harlech
Y Branwen Hotel Harlech, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Branwen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.