We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Y Branwen Hotel

Y Branwen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Y Branwen Hotel to your Saves list
Y Branwen Hotel
Fford Newydd, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2UB, Wales (Formerly Rum Hole)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harlech
north wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

A group of us went for a meal here on a busy saturday night. The food was all well cooked and presented to a very high standard. Service was a little slow but the place was packed. Prices good for the standard of food. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    24
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
27
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
anywhere
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I have dined at some terrible places, but Y Branwen Hotel, Harlech, beats all!
The food is fair, the service poor, and the portions were pathetic.

Room Tip: If you want a place to eat, avoid Y Branwen, please!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We booked to stay here and were stunned at the level of cleanliness, facilities and outstanding customer service for a three star hotel. I have stayed in five star city hotels that weren't as clean or well ran as Y Branwen! Throughout our stay we were treated very well by the owners and all of their staff. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well equiped. The bar had a lively atmosphere as it was full of locals and visitors. The restaurant service and food was brilliant and affordable. We are a family of mam and dad and 'young adults'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We chose Y Branwen for an overnight stop on a cycle trip between Towyn and Bangor. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were very willing. Particular thanks to Amy who did everything from bicycle storage - to waiting at table - she was a star. Having said that the food was rather ordinary and some parts of the building did look a little worn. The last reviewer can't have been to many hotels in Wales if he thinks this is the best-! But hey ho - it was fine as a 3 star and we were grateful.

Room Tip: Front rooms are on the main road - so traffic could be a problem to light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

due to a family bereavment. my brother and i. booked up. not knowing what to expect. no need to worry. the staff were the most freindly,s people. the bedrooms were spotless. the food out off this world. the selection of beers were outstanding. out off all the hotels i have stayed in. Y BRANWEN is second to none. thank you all.

Room Tip: no tips they are all second to none. immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend away for her birthday in November 2011. The location was perfect for us as it was close to Porthmadog where we spent quite a lot of time. Also nearby was Portmeirion as well as the beautiful scenery of the Snowdonia National Park.
The hotel owners and their staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The bedroom was lovely, clean and met our expectations completely. We did not eat in the restaurant for our evening meal, however the breakfast was good.
This is a nice place to stay and did not disappoint us at all. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

As a member of Royal St David’s GC that is opposite I have had the pleasure of staying here on a number of occasions this year and have always enjoyed my time here.

First of all, please remember this is only a 3 star hotel so you have to review it in that context.

Plus points
Location - Not far to walk to the sea (breathtaking), opp the Golf Course and sits under Harlech Castle. Getting to the town does require a VERY steep climb so be aware. Yes it is next to a road and railway line (very few trains) but at night its very quiet indeed.

Service always very good and friendly, in reception, the bar and restaurant.

Food excellent both for dinner and breakfast

Good choice of real ale and whiskies

Bedrooms comfortable and clean (not immaculate but very good for a 3*)

Negative points

None really for a three star hotel.

Would I return?
Definitely

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Y Branwen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Branwen Hotel

Address: Fford Newydd, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2UB, Wales (Formerly Rum Hole)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park and nestled below Harlech Castle, Y Branwen is a warm and welcoming family run Hotel, Brasserie and Bar. With a cosy atmosphere and a unique contemporary theme, we offer a more personal touch with high quality service. There are seven individually designed bedrooms, some of which have beautiful views of the world renowned Royal St David's Links Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Y Branwen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Branwen Harlech
Y Branwen Hotel Harlech, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y Branwen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.