We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The warmest welcome imagineable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lion Hotel

The Lion Hotel
Pen Dref, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2SG, Wales
01766 780731
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Harlech
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Derby England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The warmest welcome imagineable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We frequented this pub on three occasions whilst staying in Harlech in a cold, blustery week in February. The landlady was so very welcoming as we're the locals including us in their banter and pub games.

The food is excellent homely fayre, the beer and wine exactly as it should be and I would not hesitate to recommend a visit. Dated and just as a village pub should be.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

It's a national treasure here very dated but a proper traditional pub log fires
Warm welcome, lovely atmosphere, great ales and good wine

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

20 family members have just returned from a weeks holiday in Harlech. I pre-booked the Lion Hotel for a meal on the Sunday evening. Rhian and her staff were more than helpful. It was not easy to feed 20 people in one sitting but they did it very successfully. The atmosphere and food was brilliant, we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The red wine is excellent. We returned on halloween night just for a drink - everyone was dressed up, the pub was decked out, the fire was roaring, another great night was had. The staff remembered us and made us very welcome.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always a warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Rhian and her staff are always welcoming to locals and visitors alike. Friendly warm atmosphere and great real ale. The B&B rooms are a little outdated but are clean, warm and the breakfast is great. The Lion is good value and we will be there next year for our golf weekend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A real pub as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Crackling fire friendly locals and a varied selection of drink. Food not bad either.
The way a pub should be.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lion Hotel also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.