We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B & B with a Cherry On The Top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pen Y Garth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pen Y Garth to your Saves list
Pen Y Garth
Old Llanfair Road, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2SW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Harlech B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous B & B with a Cherry On The Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I cannot BIG this place up enough. A real home from home, with wonderful home comforts, such as homebaked Welsh Cakes left in our room on our arrival, an electric blanket, bath robes, slippers, homebaked bread at Breakfast, homemade preserves, organic produce used when possible, and a truly 'five star' cooked breakfast cooked to perfection. Our room 'the Castle room' had the most amazing views ever and the village of Harlech and the beach, which is in easy walking distance, is absolutely stunning. We had an amazing little break and cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: The Castle Room had fabulous views, comfortable, clean and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great place to stay were the host's have provided a fantastic service from the moment we arrived. The room was great with brilliant views of Harlech Castle and we were greeted with traditional Welsh cakes. Along with further home comforts such as an electric blanket (if needed), home made bread, home made jams, a great full English breakfast with corpious amounts of coffee or tea, and......a great host/mechanic when I experienced a flat battery when leaving. Thanks for the help Pete, we made it home safely.

Room Tip: Ask for the Castle Room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I can only add to the glowing reviews. We had the Harlech room and we could take the dog in and out via the fire escape, which was fine but might have been hairy in worse weather.

Looking forward to finding an excuse to go back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for a short break to celebrate my partners birthday. The room was very comfortable and clean, we couldnt have asked for better service. The breakfast was lovely, very good value for money. We shall be returning in the summer I'd recommend this b & b to anyone who wants a relaxing break. Especially appreciated the freshly baked bread at breakfast and homemade cakes :)

Room Tip: The harlech room is very spacious the second room allowed us space to spread out. Lovely to have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We arrived on Valentine's Night as the rain was coming down in stair rods, the night was closing in and the wind was howling round the eaves. Warmly welcomed by the host, Peter, who showed us to a lovely room that overlooked both the castle and the sea - just a shame that the view was largely blotted out by the weather! Our room was large but cosy, nicely furnished and decorated - also equipped with a marvelous walk in shower and a DVD player.

The piece de resistance was the breakfast the next morning; home made bread sat cooling on the sideboard, and we were presented with a king sized, cooked-to-perfection breakfast that saw us through most of the day.

We love Harlech, and have stayed in other B&B's in the area before, but will definitely return here for our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed here overnight and had a thoroughly comfortable stay. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. The standard of room and service is great value for money and the views across to Snowden are breathtaking. Room was very clean and spacious with a fantastic shower in the bathroom and we were even greeted with freshly baked welshcakes! Not to mention the homemade bread and jams at breakfast. Perfect location for walking and enjoying the beauty of the area. We really liked how the owners have kept all the traditional features of this lovely accommodation and introduced all mod cons for the guests. Will definitely go back for two nights next time and enjoy some walking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Relaxed, clean, comfortable, welcoming......perfect
A great base to explore the locality and great to come back to at the end of the day
Electric blanket and welsh cake were the highlights
Recommended for a long weekend... And also the breakfast was first class

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pen Y Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Garth

Address: Old Llanfair Road, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Pen Y Garth B&B is a classic Victorian town house with views of Harlech Castle,the beach and the mountains of Snowdonia. Just 2 minutes walk from the town centre. Wherever possible we use fairtrade products for our home cooked breakfasts. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. No very young children and pets by arrangement only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pen Y Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Y Garth Harlech, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Y Garth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.