We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, fantastic value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pen Y Garth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pen Y Garth to your Saves list
Pen Y Garth
Old Llanfair Road, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2SW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Harlech B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, fantastic value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lovely warm welcome from Peter, our host who came out to meet us in the car park and offered to carry our bags for us. We were shown up to the top of the house - essentially 3 rooms, one with a single bed, two chairs and small table plus TV and tea making facilities together with delicious home made Welshcakes for afternoon tea.
Then large double bedroom with large bed and nice crisp white bedding. Another TV available in this room - just in case guests want to watch different programmes.
A small bathroom off with full size "P" shared shower bath and abundance of hot water with a really good shower over.
Stunning views out over the Estuary and plenty of hints and tips of where to go and what to see that evening in Harlech.
Excellent cooked breakfast plus different home made breads and a variety of different cereals. Minor point but would have preferred a slightly later breakfast on Sunday (served 8 - 9am only) but service was so cheerful it more than made up for this.
On top landing small fridge available for guests that held fresh milk for teas and coffees and could also be used to store guests food. Plenty of books and games available for use by guestsl.
For the money this was absolutely superb value - my only gripe with the rooms would be that as we were on the top floor Mr JJT had to constantly duck to avoid banging his head - not that he learnt his lesson first time, or the second time come to that.

Room Tip: There are only three letting rooms and assume that the two on the top floor are identical. NOT sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charafern, Owner at Pen Y Garth, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Just to clarify .... of our three letting rooms only one is on the top floor and has lower ceilings.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just stayed two nights in the Harlech room with our dog. The room, (although more like a suite to be honest), had an external staircase so we could take the dog for a walk without disturbing other guests, was scrupulously clean with a modern bathroom and had fabulous views overlooking Harlech castle and the bay.
The hosts couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, and the food and service was excellent.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

great hospitality
beautiful airy rooms
amazing views
homemade cakes
freshly baked bread every morning
free trade products
optional robes and slippers
fascinating history
etc etc etc
x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.

Room Tip: The Harlech Room has an additional single room space which can be left open or screened off and bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed two nights here recently and wished I didn't have to move on! From carrying my case from the car to tips a-plenty about local eating places, shortcuts, and attractions, the hosts couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
The house itself is a delight - great views from all three large airy guest rooms, spacious well-fitted bathrooms, fresh milk for tea and coffee and a homemade cake each afternoon. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I would heartily recommend this place to anyone who can cope with the short, but steepish, walk uphill from the town.
Only one TINY niggle - larger mugs in the rooms for tea and coffee, please. Then you'll be perfect!!

Room Tip: All great, 2 on first floor, one on second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We, unfortunately, only stayed one night but would definitely stay here again. It is situated on top of a hill, though there is a short cut to the centre of Harlech which makes the walking easier, but from here you get fabulous views over the beach, the bay, over to Snowden and I over Harlech itself. We have great views from our room, which was pleasant, comfortable, clean and had a fantastic shower!! Breakfast was plentiful, freshly cooked and staff/owner was friendly and informative.
We were recommended to try the local Caribbean restaurant and we called straight away and just managed to get a table. It was fabulous! (Castle restaurant & armoury bar) We would also recommend the Cemlyn tea shop for lunch and a walk/drive down to the beach on a good day is definitely worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

from when we got there everything was lovely with a great friendly reception. the rooms are lovely and clean, gorgeous homemade welsh cakes on arrival, great bathroom with homemade soup. nothing was too much to ask for and breakfast was delicious- i loved the homeade jam, maralde and bread. the view from the rooms was amasing we could see the castle and the beach. would definately go back and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Harlech/ surrounding area.

Room Tip: the atic room and king room were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Pen Y Garth is an outstanding B and B. They welcome walkers, have stunning views of Harlech castle and the sea from bedroom windows, make their own beautiful soap, a sample of which is in every room to use, make superb breakfasts and have a lovely garden. They even have a fairy tale in their information booklet! I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pen Y Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen Y Garth

Address: Old Llanfair Road, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2SW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Harlech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Pen Y Garth B&B is a classic Victorian town house with views of Harlech Castle,the beach and the mountains of Snowdonia. Just 2 minutes walk from the town centre. Wherever possible we use fairtrade products for our home cooked breakfasts. Walkers and Cyclists welcome. No very young children and pets by arrangement only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pen Y Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Y Garth Harlech, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pen Y Garth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.