We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rather unexpected find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Restaurant & Armoury Bar - CLOSED

Castle Restaurant & Armoury Bar
Castle Square, Harlech, Snowdonia National Park LL46 2YH, Wales
01766 780416
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Castle Restaurant & Armoury Bar Caribbean food has its roots in many cultures and influences, from the indigenous Carib and Arawak Indians to French, Spanish, Dutch, British, African, Indian and Chinese. The cuisine is an amalgam of all these influences and offers a wide range of flavours. Caribbean food is spicy but not necessarily hot. The word spicy should be defined as packed full of flavour! For those of you who like hot food hot pepper sauces are available for you to try. When you visit Castle Restaurant & Armoury Bar, known locally as "The Caribbean", you're in for a treat. We are the first Caribbean restaurant in Gwynedd, perhaps the whole of North Wales. Experience our unique take on Caribbean food. Creole-style dishes, jerk meats and fish, curries, vegetarian choices are amongst the mouthwatering dishes we offer. The proprietor was born in Trinidad and Tobago, renowned for its creative combinations of spices and sauces. "Trini" cooking provides the basis for many of our dishes. However we serve many popular dishes from across the Caribbean. Our warm and friendly atmosphere will instantly relax you while you listen to the sounds of jazz, soul, blues, reggae, calypso and R&B. Choose from a selection of spirits, wines, beers, cocktails and soft drinks while our attentive staff take your order for dinner. Castle Restaurant & Armoury Bar is the perfect destination for your next night out, whether an intimate dinner for two or a large group celebration. Call or email us to reserve your table.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“a rather unexpected find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

fantastic service, fantastic food and fantastic cocktails! our two teenage travelling companions loved it. we all ordered different dishes and each one was superb - highly recommnded

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    26
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had the best food ever here.The host is very friendly and the setting is stunning not every restaurant has a castle across the road.We had goat curry and fish curry with jerk chicken to start the menu is varied with a couple of specials per night also.If staying in the Harlech area I would highly recommend a visit you are in for a treat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic carribean food, good service and swish decor. Very reasonable.Why cant we have one of these in Manchester!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Something different - a refreshing change.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As locals, we've been aware of this restaurant for a while, but hadn't got round to visiting - but finally got round to a meal there only to find what we'd been missing!

We are not overly spoilt for a choice of restaurants or cuisine in our corner of North Wales, and I can honestly say I don't know of any carribean cuisine like this within 60 miles or maybe even further.

We received a very warm welcome from the owner and had a browse through the menu. Unusually for me, there were several items I liked the sound of - so I was spolit for choice. everything we had - startes and main courses - were exceptionally tasty and of a very high standard.

The prices were reasonable - on a par with other retaurants in the area. The owners don't appear to want to just cater for the tourist season, but offer an all round good experience for locals as well - which is refreshing.

Definately going back - and can confidently recommend this restaurant - don't be decieved by the name!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived in Harlech at 4pm, were recommended this restaurant by the B&B owner, called straight away and managed to get a table for 2 at 7pm. Booked up for the rest of the evening - so you would be advised to book in advance! Well worth it! Fabulous menu, all food cooked by the owner or his wife. Very pleasant staff, atmosphere and is clean and modern.
We had deep fried soft shell crab to start, I had a Cuban chicken dish whilst my husband had a spiced pork belly dish. There is curried goat if you wanted to try it. The food was delicious, generous portions, varied accompaniments with the main meal already, was excellently presented and considering the quality was very good value for money. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Restaurant & Armoury Bar also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Restaurant & Armoury Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.