We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All it should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morwendon Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Morwendon Guest House to your Saves list
Morwendon Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Burntwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Lee & Debbie.

A big thank you to Geoff & Teresa for a lovely relaxing stay at Morwendon. They show from the beginning a pride in their business and all they do. We were asked regularly if all was ok. The house is spotless , the bed was a dream. Everything was so fresh. It was our anniversary and they put a card and some lovely chocolates in our room. ( lovely touch ).
The view over the bay was lovely to wake up to. The breakfasts were amazing, very fresh and hot unlike some places we've stayed at. Even the furnishings oozed quality. It was all the little things that made the difference that many people seem to overlook and take for granted.
Many thanks to Geoff & Teresa and hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased we were able to make your anniverary one to remember and we look forward to seeing you both again soon. Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    26
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
222
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

An immaculately presented Hotel in a superb location. Room (3) was extremely comfortable with wonderful views over Cardigan Bay.
The Hosts were very welcoming & obliging & made us feel at home. The room & the rest of the hotel was very clean & tastefully decorated.
Breakfast was excellent. Definitely fresh local produce.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We spent three nights at Morwendon. The welcome was warm and friendly and we were made to feel comfortable from the start. The room itself (room 2) was lovely, very clean and warm with beautiful views of the sea, the extra touches such as chocolates and sherry; fresh bottled water; biscuits and tea/coffee making facilities were especially nice. Both Geoff and Teresa were so helpful and charming and made our stay a pleasure. The breakfast is to be recommended and the choice of breakfast items was very good.

Room Tip: Room 2 has 180 degree sea views with a settee in the bay window and a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review of Morwendon. Our 2 Superior rooms overlooking the sea are indeed well worth staying in. We use local produce as much as possible and nearly every day we have comments from guests about the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is our third time staying at Morwendon and we absolutely love it. Great position with fantastic views, especially from our favourite room 3. Geoff and Teresa always make us most welcome and all the personal touches are excellent . Everywhere is so clean and fresh and cosy.
The food is excellent and even though we eat out at least once in our weekend break the evening meal at Morwendon is excellent.
We will continue to return and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Barmouth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. It was good to see you both again and your continued bookings mean a lot to us. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We recently stayed at Morwendon in room 3 which has a stunning outlook over Cardigan Bay.we were made to feel very welcome.the room and bed were spotless. The shower room was tiny and the towels had seen better days.
For us the bed was very uncomfortable and we had a restless night.We were revived by an outstanding breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. Very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, something which Teresa and I are quite passionate about.
We are sorry you had a restless night's sleep, something, which for some reason, which you didn't mention at breakfast. It is difficult to please everyone when it comes to beds but most of our guests comment on how comfortable the bed is in your room , Room 3. We accept that the towels were a little past their best and although we endeavour to replace them at regular intervals this one got missed and we sincerely apologise for that. We wish you every success with your holiday let. Regards Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed for three nights with Geoff and Teresa and they made us very welcome. Our room was a really good size with wonderful views of the sea and extensive garden. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated with nice touches such as chocolates and a good dry sherry and also coffee/tea making facilities with fresh milk daily and bottles of water. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and the ingredients were of a very good quality and delicious. The homemade bread was excellent which meant the toast was crisp and light even at the end of breakfast. We would have liked to buy a loaf to go home with! This couple work very hard to reach these standards and it has paid off. This is how guest houses should be.

Room Tip: We liked our room with the bay window and comfy sofa. Great views but all the rooms are of a high s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for kind review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try hard to make our guests'experience the best we can and it is pleasing when we have achieved that. Thank you and we hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worsley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 3 , we was greeted by Teresa on our arrival and she was just lovely , very warm welcome and good knowledge of the local area, we was taken to our room and felt the room was grand, excellent deco, great fresh clean bed linen, fresh milk, little chocolates and sherry, a great touch to the room, excellent sea views , the bathroom was very small, and only had a shower, and the towels needed to be upgraded as they was a little ripped at the edges, great little toiletries tho, the shower was not very powerful, we went down for breakfast and was greeted by Geoff , he was just so welcoming and offered a good choice for breakfast, the breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was truly excellent !!! and the added bonus of homemade bread fantastic, we didn't have a evening meal, but did have a supper homemade soup and sandwiches on homemade bread, and couldn't fault it ,it was truly 5***** next time will defo have a meal as the food was amazing !!! Teresa & Geoff are great hosts and couldn't do any more for you , we even got some bread to take home ( a very BIG THANK YOU for that ) the only thing I would suggest is maybe a cheaper rate in the winter months, but overall 10 out of 10 we will defiantly be returning and highly recommend , so a massive thank you for our great stay and hope to see you both again soon !!! .x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.x.

Room Tip: choose a room with the sea view truly worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for highlighting the quality of our food. Shame you didn't manage an evening meal though, perhaps next time. We do offer discounts between October and March as long as it is for more than 1 night, the thinking with that is the service and quality of food we offer remains the same throughout the year, the only difference is the seasons and we cannot control the weather! Hope to see you again and thank you once ore for your excellent review. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morwendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon Guest House

Address: Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House (meaning "white wave of the sea") is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay; an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the delights of this beautiful part of Wales. Teresa and Geoff are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. For a taste of quality living in superb surroundings Morwendon House fits the bill perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Morwendon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morwendon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.