We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morwendon Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Morwendon Guest House to your Saves list
Morwendon Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cheshire england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

on arrival hotel owner was very friendly . And the house was immaculate . rooms were nicely set out with amazing view of the sea . The breakfast was perfectly cooked and was a good portion that set us up for the day . Would definately stay here again if was going back to same area .

Room Tip: we stayed in the supierior which was beautiful with full coastline veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you Dawn for your review. We are pleased you chose to outline some of the things that we feel are important in a guest house stay, namely cleanliness and good quality food. Rest assured we will continue to strive to maintain these standards. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    26
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
22
230
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Do you want what we had for 4 nights in early September 2013:

1. An excellent base for exploring this part of Wales?
2. Preserved steam railways wihin easy reach?
3. Views for miles along the coast?
4. A warm welcome and a very pleasant room?
5. A beautifully cooked and served breakfast?
6. A choice of excellent dishes for dinner? (providing you book early to avoid disappointment)

Then look no further than Morwendon House.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a superior room with the coastal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and may we say what a concise and to the point one it was - no beating around the bush there!. Seriously we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have recently spent four nights at Morwendon House and what a fantastic time we had! The location was gorgeous, right on a beautiful beach, with out-of-this world sunsets. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a view over the coast. Breakfast was second to none and the evening menu was so delicious. We will definately be returning and have told all our friends about this brilliant guest house. Thank you Teresa and Geoff, you made our stay such a pleasure.
John and Sue Birmingham

Room Tip: So sorry, there is no pool, clicked in error, but with that beach who needs one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you John and Sue for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed with Teresa and Geoff for three nights. This was my first venture out solo, no adult kids or dogs! I had chosen an attic room, which for me was more than adequate, with a lovely view up the coast towards Talybont. I ended up eating a cooked breakfast each morning, all locally sourced and home made bread. I didn't however have an evening meal, which in hindsight I should have, due to indefinite plans, as the smells were mouth watering. Geoff and Teresa were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. I have been to Barmouth and the area for many years, previously in a touring caravan and I shall certainly be returning to Morwendon House, a real home from home. For anyone wanting a base to travel it is ideal. If you like walking, it is about a half hour walk into Barmouth, though be warned there is a hill coming back out of Barmouth, although not steep it is drawn out, as I don't drive, I know it well! If you are lucky you might even see the dolphins out in Cardigan Bay. Teresa and Geoff have been warned, I will be back!! I would definitely recommend Morwendon House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Really pleased we were part of a much needed break and we look forward to seeing you again soon, perhaps with your daughter next time. Best wishes, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed with Geoff and Teresa for four nights and wished it could have been longer. Our lovely room looked straight out to sea where we could watch the beautiful sunsets whilst sipping our complimentary sherry, a really nice touch. The room was immaculately presented and clean and the bed was huge and very comfy. Breakfast had plenty of variety and was generous and well cooked, I particularly enjoyed the scrambled egg and smoked salmon and the crusty home made bread and marmalade. We opted for dinner on the day of our arrival and were so impressed we ate in three nights. We know Barmouth well and the food here was better than many restaurants. Geoff and Teresa are friendly and welcoming and very professional. We will be returning and recommending Morwendon House to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the food and accommodation and that you had a good time here. We look forward to meeting you again soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great host, fab breakfast, clean. Bedrooms very disappointing ;Garden room smells of damp very badly. Attic room very small. Both very old-fashioned. What i thought was going to be a treat of a night away was somewhere we felt cheated out of a lot of money from. WILL NEVER COME BACK...EVER. Have always used Tripadviser for advise when travelling and so far they have always been good but this time reviews have been very mis-leading.

Room Tip: We had two different rooms and both awful for different reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Morwendon House, its very important that future guests have a balanced view of the place that they are hoping to stay at. Your comments start off well complimenting us on the three key points that we feel are important to your stay, namely friendly host[s] clean, and a great breakfast, we are pleased that we got all of those right, after all, those are the important points. We then looked at the rest of your review with a degree of puzzlement. You chose, and booked your rooms on our own website, each room has a picture and description of the rooms that you booked, so to say that you felt that they were old fashioned, was a strange comment to make, perhaps we havent understood what you meant by " Old Fashioned". Both of the rooms that you booked are good sized doubles, which have the usual furniture in them, beds bedside tables, seating areas, and in the "Attic Room" the seating area also has a coffee table, so hardly "Small". Perhaps it felt small with the 4 of you in the room. As guests house owners we greatly value "Tripadvisor" it offers people a brief insight to what places have to offer, and indeed on arriving your mother pointed out that you were great advocates of Tripadvisor, and yet I see you only have one review, and you have yet to leave one for the very nice meal that you had at a local restaurant recommended by us, strange!!!. I personally checked your party of 4 in and out, and on checking out had a long conversation with your Aunt who stayedalong with your grandmother in the room that you claimed smelt of damp, the room i might add that you ALL crowded into for the best part of the evening after returning from dinner, and during that conversation i asked her if everything had been ok, her reply was" everything has been lovely". why, on being given the chance, did your Aunt not say anything about the room that she had stayed in? We then chatted about what the rest of the day held for you all, so she had the chance to say something .This year Morwendon House was awarded the "Trip advisor certificate of excellence for the third year running. This is awarded to us by our guests. We have over 200 reviews that rate us as excellent, and we are very proud of them. We are however, more than disappointed that we didnt get it 100% right for you, and we truly wish that the adults in your party had said something whilst you were here. We are more than aware how important a night is, and especially when you can all be together. Finally I would like to say that there are some wonderful boutique hotels/ guest houses in this area, which is perhaps what you expected from Morwendon House. They are of course more expensive than us, but perhaps more of what you are used to. I look forward to seeing any further reviews that you place with tripadvisor, and thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights one of the best b & b's we have ever stayed in. (Maybe the best) Worth every penny, just the little extras in the room bottled water nice biscuits. Decorated to high spec too. We would definitely return and book room 2.
The breakfasts were superb loved the homemade toast! The restaurant was spotlessly clean, my only regret was we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening for Geoff to show us his culinary skills as I believe from other guests the food was gorgeous! Mmm ... next time! Great stay would highly recommend anyone to stay here. Theresa & Geoff keep up the great work.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We try hard to make guests' visits as memorable as possible and the added extras go towards that aim. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morwendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon Guest House

Address: Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House (meaning "white wave of the sea") is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay; an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the delights of this beautiful part of Wales. Teresa and Geoff are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. For a taste of quality living in superb surroundings Morwendon House fits the bill perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Morwendon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morwendon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.