We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morwendon Guest House

Save Saved
You added Morwendon Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morwendon Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I had a thoroughly pleasant stay at Morwendon House recently. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable, and had a great view of the sea from the side window. The towels, bottles of water and biscuits were replenished every day. The communal lounge was cosy and relaxing with fantastic views. There is on site parking, and it is a two mile walk into Barmouth, although the train station is a five minute walk away and costs less than a pound to get into the centre of Barmouth! The patio area at the front of the house is great for relaxing in the sunshine and looks right over the beach, we shall miss that view!! The breakfast is fantastic, and we would have loved to try the evening meal but unfortunately we didn't realise when we tried to book that this isn't avialable on a Thursday evening, but Geoff was very helpful in recommending alternative restaurants. We shall definitely visit Morwendon again in the future, thanks Geoff & Teresa for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff and Teres... C, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed your time here and hopefully we will see you again soon. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    24
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Morwendon House for 3 nights and would highly recommend it. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable with a fantastic view. Fresh towels every day. The owners are friendly, polite and attentive and have a good local knowledge. The food is fabulous, breakfast and dinner with a good menu choice. There is no need to use your car as the Llanaber train request station is a few minutes away which we used and had no problems with. We wished we could have stayed longer and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We had room one which is at the back and had a view of the mountains and a sea view side window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review. We look forward to welcoming in you again in the future. Kind Regards, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at Morwendon House for 2 nights and would highly recommend to anyone. We received a lovely warm welcome and were shown to our room (Room 3) which was lovely with fantastic sea views. We booked dinner on the night which I would highly recommend as it was excellent as so to were the breakfasts with a great choice. Thank you Geoff and Teresa for making our stay so enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again. Charlotte & Alice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review, we greatly appreciate that and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Morwendon. We look forward to weloming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Morwendon for a couple of nights at the beginning of August, and would thoroughly recommend it. Our room was lovely and comfortable with absolutely fantastic sea views. When we said we liked walking, Teresa recommended a local walk and arranged for her husband to give us a lift into town the following day to get the bus to save us paying for parking! The breakfast was excellent, with a good menu choice, using local produce.

Thank you for an enjoyable and relaxing couple of days - wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Book early as there was only one room left when we booked - but it was still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write areview and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We welcome your return. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Morwendon and would definately recommend it to anybody. Take no notice of the lesser starred reviews, this place sets the standard for other guest houses in North Wales. The house is tastefully decorated whilst keeping some period features. The owners are perfectly polite and attentive, and the location is perfect. This was the first time we decided to travel by train (from Brum) and there was no problem, and the local stop Llanaber is around 3 min walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at Morwendon for your Wedding Anniversary. We are delighted you had a good time and felt able to tell others too. You highlighted the train which stops literally 150 yds from the house and you used that to full effect during your stay as well as arriving and departing on it. It is a facility very much appreciated by our guests as it frees them from car travel and parking etc. Once again thank you for choosing Morwendon and we hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A very nice B&B, excellent breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice!
The only pity was that we were staying in the attic room which is too small to be comfortable... Taking a shower was difficult for me (1.90m) because of the low ceiling. It felt like they wanted to take every space out of the building and they created an extra room which wasn't there...

Room Tip: Don't pick the attic room, it is really tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you had a "Great Stay".

We take our duty to our guests very seriously which is why we go to great lengths to ensure that guests who book that room are under no illusion that it is a 'SMALL DOUBLE' and 'unsuitable for tall people'. These phrases are repeated again and again whether you book through our website or an agency such as 'Booking.com'. They are also repeated one last time in our email letter of confirmation which every guest receives. It is somewhat of a mystery then why this guest appeared to have been taken by surprise and not only that but never mentioned it whilst he was here. It is a small room with a small bathroom but it has been passed by the AA inspector as suitable for a double bed. The price of the room reflects it's size and at £31.25 p.p. + VAT we think it is good value. The food and the service you receive are the same. But please don't book on price alone without reading the details and then moan about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
curlynirvana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night in order to attend a family wedding, when we arrived we had a lovely, warm welcome from Teresa, who immediately arranged a taxi for us to get back to the party in Barmouth. The room was lovely, had great views across the sea, a nice sofa to sit by the window. The bed was nice and comfortable, the bathroom was also just big enough. The breakfast was also nice, with choice of cooked breakfasts. Really enjoyed our night here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you had a pleasant stay here for your brief visit to Barmouth. Regards Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morwendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon Guest House

Address: Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House (meaning "white wave of the sea") is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay; an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the delights of this beautiful part of Wales. Teresa and Geoff are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. For a taste of quality living in superb surroundings Morwendon House fits the bill perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morwendon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morwendon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.