We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great views and lovely welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morwendon Guest House

Save Saved
You added Morwendon Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morwendon Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
curlynirvana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great views and lovely welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night in order to attend a family wedding, when we arrived we had a lovely, warm welcome from Teresa, who immediately arranged a taxi for us to get back to the party in Barmouth. The room was lovely, had great views across the sea, a nice sofa to sit by the window. The bed was nice and comfortable, the bathroom was also just big enough. The breakfast was also nice, with choice of cooked breakfasts. Really enjoyed our night here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you had a pleasant stay here for your brief visit to Barmouth. Regards Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    24
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Thank you Teresa and Geoff, we enjoyed a very comfortable week stay at the Morewendon. We stayed in room 2 which has a huge comfy bed and a super sea view. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the same for evening meal. We do travel a great deal and it was very nice to stay somwhere with such a freindly feel and lovely owners. Very best Robert and Maureen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geoffchallenor, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. As you are seasoned travellers we appreciate your positive comments. Best wishes, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broseley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I would like to thank Teresa and Geoff,for a wonderful weekend..Nothing was too much trouble for them,they are very helpful and pleasent people.The room was very comfortable,and the food was excellent.
We could not have found any place better to spend our anniversery and my 65th birthday.
Thank You very much,from Ray & Wendy Carter.(We will be back)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for the comments you have made. It was apleasure to have you stay with us and at such an importnat time as well with an anniversary and a milestone birthday. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was the surprise destination my husband booked for a 2-night stay to celebrate our anniversary. He couldn't have chosen anywhere nicer! Not sure what to mention first - the stunning location overlooking the beach; the friendly welcome from the owners; the tastefully decorated and very comfortable room at the top of the house; fresh milk and interesting biscuits with the tea/coffee making facilities; and the superb breakfasts (especially the kippers)! We didn't eat there in the evening but the delicious aromas from the kitchen would suggest that the evening meals were of an equally high standard.
Despite being June the weather was a bit stormy (well, it is Wales!) but this just enhanced the cosy warmth of our room. We will definitely be back, assuming the guest house isn't already booked solid with all the friends we've told about it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. One of the best things about this occupation is meeting wonderful people and knowing that they have enjoyed an important date in their life here at Morwendon. Thank you one again and we look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Thank you very much Theresa and Geoff for making our short break so relaxing. Your house is run perfectly with everything anyone needs well catered for. The amount of hard work you put in is a credit to you. This really is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Morwendon Guest House, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review, we do appreciate that. Thank you also for your kind remarks, we are pleased you had a good time here and enjoyed you much needed break. Best wishes to you both. Geoff & Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Trawling through the internet pages looking for somewhere 'nice' to stay I cam across this beautiful guest house.Standing on the edge of a hillside , with spectacular sea views I did not hesitate to book. On arrival the owner was most polite and showed us to our room. The room was spacious with a lovely bay window. There was a large bowl of fresh fruit and a decanter full of a most pleasant tasting Sherry.And as it was a cold, blustery day when we arrived the Sherry was most pleasing! We stayed at this guest house for 3 nights and it was superb! The breakfast menu was most suitable with a huge choice to choose from. As it was Valentines weekend we put our names down for the Valentine Evening Meal. The service was outstanding and the food delicious.I would recommend this Guest House and look forwrd to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We found this lovely hotel by chance when searching for overnight accommodation for a wedding in nearby Barmouth. Lots of careful thought has been put into the whole package: a helpful exchange of emails beforehand: a warm welcome from hosts who provided just the right level of friendly service; a beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean room with sherry and chocolates and a comfy sofa from which to gaze at the spectacular view of the beach and the Lleyn peninsular; a mouthwatering selection of evening meals and freshly cooked breakfast, all of which were delicious; chairs on the terrace from which to watch the sunset. What a shame we could only stay one night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay window! Book dinner several days before your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morwendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morwendon Guest House

Address: Morwendon, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morwendon Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morwendon House (meaning "white wave of the sea") is a high quality licensed guest house which is situated in the quiet village of Llanaber, just north of Barmouth with beautiful views over Cardigan Bay; an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the delights of this beautiful part of Wales. Teresa and Geoff are your hosts at Morwendon and will personally ensure that everything possible is done to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. For a taste of quality living in superb surroundings Morwendon House fits the bill perfectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morwendon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morwendon Guest House Hotel Barmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morwendon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.