We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and good home cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Llwyndu Farmhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Llwyndu Farmhouse to your Saves list
Llwyndu Farmhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Llwyndu Farmhouse, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Llanaber B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice room and good home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had a pleasant stay. There was a friendly greeting and a welcome tea was served upon our arrival. The room was nice, however the windows didn't seal very well and there was some wind noise and draft caused by the stormy weather. The property is some distance from the main highway, so road noise was not a problem. An electric heater was provided to take off the chill. Meals were good home cooking. Overall our stay was comfortable, although the tariff seemed a little high for what was provided

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    19
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
61
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I had a pleasant two night stay while in the area for work and was made to feel very welcome and looked after. I have stayed in converted outbuildings before, which have been cold on arrival, so I was very pleased to find that the heating had been on in the granery so that I arrived to a lovely and thoroughly warm room. The forethought that went into this should not be underestimated as winter sets in, particularly as fuel costs continue to increase and budgets are squeezed, very very good service.
The basics were done well and breakfast and dinner were lovely. A shower would have been beneficial if I'd have been in a hurry, but I wasn't, so it was nice to be able to treat myself to a relaxing bath, which is an increasingly rare luxury in BnBs these days. I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We made a Trip with our two kids (6y,8y)from Germany to Llwydu Farmhouse and stayed 8 days. The view was great and Paula and Peter did everything what we needed. They organized f.e.rental bikes, gave us very got information about sightseeing and they made everything for the kids. The meals were great and also the room with the big TV was execellent. We often shared the short ways to the beach and loved the talking in the late evening. Even if you have a special wish, Paula and Peter can organize everything. Thanks for the trip to the farm. The Kids are still talking about the trip so that we have to come back. Wonderful Nature and History all arround. Thanks for everything Paula and Peter

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

A comfortable 1 night stay, Paula was very pleasant no sign of Peter even after dinner, but for £200 I feel we could have got better value elsewhere and eaten at a time more suited to us ,the outside lighting needs to be improved for guests safety who are staying in the granery and a more modern tv would not go a miss.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyjape, Owner at Llwyndu Farmhouse, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear RodneyHampshireUK,

Many thanks for the review and the points about the lighting and the TV are noted. The lighting at the end of the building you pass to get to your room, which is well lit, was off for some reason and we can only apologize for that.

When you checked out you made the comment that you were made most welcome - had a lovely stay, excellent food with many thanks but you didn't mention these problems or that you were unhappy in an any way so we are a little puzzled at this review although we wouldn't wish to alter your opinion which we value.

However, we don't feel your comment about your bill reveals some of the pertinent facts. You complain about the value of your stay being £200 and your bill came to £207 but of that your accommodation and 3 course dinner came to £148 for two for the one night which we feel IS good value. The rest of the bill - nearly a third of the total - was made up of drinks - pre-dinner drinks and wine you had with your dinner.

of course, if you have a problem with this please get in touch and we can talk it through.

Very best wishes,


Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

As keen motorcyclists my wife and I were looking forward to exploring West Wales' sights and riding some of its lovely roads.
Staying at Llwyndu Farmhouse made a brilliant trip into a memorable holiday.
After long days, and many hours 'in the saddle' the warm hospitality and great meals (dinner and breakfast) helped us relax and plan each new day with relish.
Our hosts, Paula and Peter proved to be helpful in respect of the room/food etc, and very knowledgable about the area we were exploring.
Our room had a great view, and the bed was comfy!
We will go to Llwyndu again, as there are lots of things still to see; and we now know it will be a great base for our next expedition.
Thank you Paula & Peter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Llwydu Farmhouse is a lovely old house stepped in history. The views from it are great. The owners, Peter and Paula couldn't do enough to help us chill out from our every day stress. I would recommend the Framhouse as the perfect place for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed three nights, would have liked to extend our visit but unfotunatly we couldn't You just quite simply get better, eveything was totally exceptional and the service was brilliant. I would highly reccomend this place and the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Llwyndu Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwyndu Farmhouse

Address: Llwyndu Farmhouse, Llanaber, Barmouth LL42 1RR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Llanaber
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llanaber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llwyndu Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small independent hotel with licensed restaurant. Informal & relaxed. Ensuite rooms in house and converted granary. All very individuel and of great character. Good food & wine. Marvellous views over Cardigan Bay. There is great walking and biking in the area and the sandy beaches go on forever... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Llwyndu Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llwyndu Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.