We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real foodies paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Tyrch Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Tyrch Inn
Capel Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Capel Curig
1 review
“Real foodies paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Ate here over new year and has the pleasure of doing so on New Year's Eve. We ate at a 3 Michelin star establishment last new year so we thought we'd take the risk and slum it, sluming it being the complete opposite of what we received, a taster menu that was absolutely first class and much better than what weve eaten, my partner is a chef and he was blew away, in his words the chef here has some talent. Could not find faults here, we didn't stay he overnight but plan to in the future. Service at time was slow and with not as passionate as the food but what a place to visit if your in the area. A really foodies retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    47
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
65
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ate here on 4 consecutive evenings over the New Year period. Food was consistently excellent, with choices ranging from burger (with fantastic Welsh rarebit topping) to glorious roasted butternut squash and red pepper risotto with goat's cheese. 5 course taster menu on New Year's Eve was absolutely first rate, better than many meals I have paid more for; especially liked the halibut! Atmosphere was cosy and friendly, with professional but also very welcoming staff. Nothing not to like!
Did not stay over so cannot comment on the accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We live locally so have been past loads of times but never been in. Well I'm glad we have now. Hands down the best food in the area. We have a 6 week old baby girl so having a meal isn't always the easiest thing in the world but the staff could not have been more accommodating. We will definitely be returning and we have already told our friends how wonderful it is.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visited here on Saturday night for a fabulous meal. A very warm welcome with the roaring log fire and a busy but not overcrowded restaurant. The spicy aroma of the glühwein as you entered the bar was too much to resist and a warming start to the evening. Service, though not fast was "just right", very attentive but not obtrusive. Eyeing other people's dishes being delivered made the menu choice very difficult as everything was so well presented. We started with a pave of duck confit and the scallops. Both dishes very tasty and decorative without being flashy. Main course was lamb shanks for myself and duck breast for my partner. Again, presentation, vegetable selection, meat quality and overall tastiness of the meal were worth far in excess of the £22.95 for two courses that you pay. Would highly recommend this inn for a cosy meal, or just a hearty fill up after a day on the mountains. The clientele were a mix of outdoors people just off the hills, we ourselves had been mountain biking all day, as well as couples having a romantic meal. Will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well worth a visit to this roadside hotel. All rooms have been recently refurbished, and our room at the back of the hotel was a stunner. Three separate spaces (rooms), bedroom, lounge and bathroom made up this suite with two Televisions and a couch to lounge on. The food was superb throughout our stay with Chef Simon Hough outdoing himself to present beautiful meals. Simon was off duty one evening and his assistant also presented a wonderful meal. Girl friday, Simona was a joy.

Well placed for sightseeing and hill walking, you need to check availability, especially at weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, away from the road which is busy in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having ventured out and caught by the rain, we stopped at an unassuming inn nestled within the mountains of Snowdonia for some Sunday lunch. We were glad we did. Greeted by casual but certainly friendly service we were very impressed by the fine selection of local ales on offer at the bar. We found with the 2 course price (under 15 pounds) Sunday lunch a bargain, and thought it would be a cheap and cheerful affair. We were wrong. We were treated to a sumptuous Crayfish Rissoto brimming with vibrant flavour and a hearty portion at that. Our mains consisted of locally sourced beef swimming in a delicious gravy that warmed us up no end. The pudding was also a delight. A rich chocolate browny .... warm and gooey.

We left full and happy and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our second and defiantly not our last visit to this warm, friendly and welcoming Inn. The rooms were of a high standard and comfortable especially after a long days trekking. The food was impeccable and plentiful (full complements to the chef).
Nothing was too much to ask of the staff at any time as we wanted a early start up Snowdon and would miss breakfast , but they went out of their way to provide us with a full cooked welsh breakfast early to see us on our way.
The bar area has a cosy warm fire to relax by after a long day out.
Overall the staff were all very courteous and welcoming and we were quite sad to leave. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Room 15 for the views and room 12 is the lovely mini suit/family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bryn Tyrch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Tyrch Inn

Address: Capel Curig, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bryn Tyrch Inn is situated in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park surrounded by magnificent scenery. Capel Curig is an ideal centre for outdoor pursuits and the area is very popular with walkers and climbers. The lakes, beaches, castles and other attractions of North Wales are less than 30 miles away.The Bryn Tyrch aims to provide a warm welcome in the hillside with high quality rooms and good food and drink ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Tyrch Hotel Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Capel Curig
Bryn Tyrch Inn Capel Curig, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Tyrch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bryn Tyrch Inn to your Saves list