We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No welcome in the hillside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capel Curig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel
Save
You added Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel to your Saves list
A5, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EE , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Capel Curig B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
west of england
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“No welcome in the hillside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Great location but very unfriendly staff - mainly foreign. Are there no locals who want to work and promote this area? The food was overpriced and unappealing, my scampi was overcooked and I think the waitress lost a few pieces on the way from the kitchen. My husband's meal of meatloaf looked pale and unappetising, just grey mush on a plate.
Chaps who looked like they could be owners or managers didn't actually go out of their way to be great hosts, what a pity as a friendly chat would have been nice even a smile given by us returned would have been nice!! This was a perfect lesson in how to make sure customers don't come back.
We only ate at this hotel but nothing about the place would make me want to return to eat there never mind stay there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    34
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
28
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We spent last weekend in Betws. We have visited many times before and have always found it difficult to find somewhere good for evening meals for the family. Betws is now even worse in this respect. The town is now full of "would be" gastropubs all trying to justify charging £13 - £15 for a Main Course. Finding something that our teenage daughter would eat was almost impossible.

Luckily we had done some research and and already knew of the Tyn-y-Coed Inn at Capel Curig, on the A5 just beyond Betws.We did not stay at this Hotel, but we ate there.

This is an uncomplicated Pub/Hotel with good Beer and Food, not a pretentious dining pub. Due to the Inn's proximity to the Snowdonia mountains groups of walkers and campers were dropping in for "refuelling" after a hard day's exercise. We visited on a very busy Saturday night, the restaurant was full and they were also catering for a large party in the function room, so we sat in the bar area.

The food service was very efficient and our meals arrived hot and plentiful.
The pizzas was particularly good and the toppings contained generous helpings of good ham. There is a fairly short range of sweets, but they are very good value, and the accompanying honey-crunch ice-cream is particularly yummy. They had three Real Ales available. There is a large car-park and play-area for young children on the opposite side of the road. If you are looking for a good value place to feed the family near Betws then try the Tyn-y-Coed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

we had a great stay at the inn,lovely room each, great breakfast to start the morning. after our snowdon climb, back to our rooms for a piping hot shower and rest then down to bar for drinks and dinner. the food is great as is the hospitality in the bar. we spoke to the owner who was fine to have a chat with. also the barman who is eastern european is a great laugh when you get chatting to him, we had a great time
here and its within easy reach of the mountain if your climbing. all said and done its a great place to stay no complaints here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed at the Tyn-y-Coed on new years day night, the room was lovely (room 15) huge 4 poster bed and big clean bathroom, gorgous views over the river and mountains. Found the staff very friendly- it is a small family run hotel, they just have 2 forgein staff who are pleasant and friendly i didnt see the problem unlike previous reviews. The breakfast was quite good-nice homemade toast and local sausages and bacon, didnt eat there in the evening so cant comment ofn the restuarant. Only slight niggle is the main road outside, was ok on new years day as very little traffic-but i can see it being a bit noisy on other days.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

we stayed here after walking snowdon, we were given our room keys but not shown to our rooms the rooms were small but had everything in them and it was very clean.
we had a few pints in the hotel bar to sample the guest ale's and had dinner in the bar we had no complaints about the food it was of a very good standard.
The bar service is a bit slow but the food was quick once ordered. the breakfast was good in the morning and the only girl serving was very quick and helpfull. the jams with the local bread was great.
this place just needs more of the local touch as nearly most of the staff are from eastern europe.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brynarth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Found this hotel on the internet - promised a family run business with local food. Should have realised when telephone booking taken by someone with broken English - Polish/French?- the same chap that we met when we booked in - lovely but definately not local! Not shown to our rooms, just given a key and told where bar and breakfast area was and the times. Not bad but not exactly a warm welcome. Rooms were good size and the beds were comfy. Blackout curtains would help as would better double glazing as the first car came past at 5.45am and the light came streaming in too...
We waited 15 minutes in the bar whilst the foreign girl behind the bar finished her phone call to her friend - and then she went to get the original chap we had met to serve us - 4 drinks she obviously couldn't manage. Dinner was ok, one of our sirloins was so grisly as to be 50% inedible but our friends were too polite and didn't want to complain.
The personal service from the owners only came when we presented ourselves at the desk following an indifferent breakfast (murdered local sausages by baking them dry, ditto the bacon) and they managed to give us the hastily-scribbled out bill. At £95 for the two of us it wasn't cheap either. This place could just be so much better! They have got lots right - the emphasis on local produce (the local bakery's bread that was great toasted) , cleanliness, rooms - but it falls down on too many little things to make it a place I would recommend or want to return to. Seeing the owners walk past discarded cigarette packets outside for example...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel

Address: A5, Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park LL24 0EE , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Capel Curig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Capel Curig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tyn-y-Coed has recently been refurbished and upgraded to WTB 4 star inn. It is family run with fourteen individually designed bedrooms & guests are assured of a warm welcome.For more modest budgets we have a five bedded bunkroom with ensuite shower.Situated in heart of Snowdonia National park five miles west of Betws-y-Coed. Plas-y-Brenin outdoor sports centre is 1 mile away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel Capel Curig, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tyn-Y-Coed Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.