We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family owned B & B with friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Holcombe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bryn Holcombe to your Saves list
Bryn Holcombe
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Grovsvenor Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7YF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leek, Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent family owned B & B with friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Bryn Holcombe from 18th - 20th April. As I am currently pregnant we wanted a nice relaxing break as we know it will be our last one for a while! We certainly got a relaxing break and this is one of the best places we have ever stayed.

On arrival we were lucky enough to get parked in the grounds, however this wouldn't have been a problem if the car park was full as there is plenty of off street parking. We met both the owners of the B & B during our stay and found both of them to be chatty and friendly.

The room itself was lovely. We had the superior room which is front facing and was decorated beautifully. The bathroom is amazing with a roll top claw foot bath in the middle of the room and a large shower in the corner. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, as are toiletries (shower, conditioner, body wash, soap).

Breakfast was excellent. There was plenty of choice such as cereals, croissants, fresh fruit, yoghurts and a cooked breakfast. Both my partner and I enjoyed our breakfasts on both days.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again in the future - maybe with our new arrival :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
53
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed at this guest house 11th april 2014 for two nights. Room was lovely facing the front of the house very spacious and clean. Kettle provided to make tea with cups and coffee sachets.Central heating was on during the day which made the room very cosy.Ensuite bathroom was very spacious with shower and bath.Toiletiries were provided which was a nice touch.Breakfast was very nice set in a lovely dining room facing the garden at front of house.Guest house was in a quiet residential area but within walking distance of town centre and welsh mountain zoo a 20min walk up a steep hill. Landlady was very welcoming and very informative with places to visit .Glad we found this place for our short stay in colwyn bay a real home from home.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the front of house nice to look out of the window into the garden.Some traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We enjoyed a most peaceful sleep at Bryn Holcombe. A beautifully presented B and B in a quiet street with ample parking. The host was welcoming and most helpful. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and served by friendly staff. Our room and ensuite were spacious, clean and comfortable. It was an easy walk to the town along the beachfront. A perfect place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Central Location not far from town centre. Rooms spacious and very clean. Great welcome, superb breakfast. What more can I say?!! A very pleasurable stay and if I was to visit Colwyn Bay again I would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

just back from a weekend stay here. the breakfast here is outstanding, very filling, not greasy and loads of choice, croissants and muffins and full welsh breakfast, fruit and toast, the landlady was lovely ad also met the husband and he was lovely. the room (4) was lovely and clean, bed was comfortable and i have a bad back ad had no prbs, the room was very clean, could do with a more powerful shower but other than that fantastic stay, warm welcome and very close to the beach but far enough to be quite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Bryn Holcombe and we would definitely return. We received a very warm welcome and there was good, safe parking. Our room was large, beautifully decorated and very clean with tea and coffee facilities, widescreen television and free wifi. Breakfast in the morning was superb - a wonderful selection of fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals followed by a full English with endless tea, coffee and fruit juices.

Bryn Holcombe is perfectly located with a short walk to the town, to the beach and promenade. We would definitely go back and we highly recommend to anyone that's visiting Colwyn Bay!

Room Tip: Our room was located at the front of the house, it large with great facilities and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Bryn Holcombe whilst visiting my parents in Old Colwyn. We will definitely return! The room was extremely clean and comfortable. We were greeted by the owner who was very hospitable and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely and the food fresh.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryn Holcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Holcombe

Address: 9 Grovsvenor Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 7YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Colwyn Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Colwyn Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Holcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bryn Holcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Holcombe Hotel Colwyn Bay
Bryn Holcombe Colwyn Bay, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Holcombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.