We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, hippest place in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glass Lounge

The Glass Lounge
2 Penrhyn Road, Colwyn Bay LL29 8LG, Wales
01492 536 666
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 66 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Nyiregyhaza, Hungary
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good staff, hippest place in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you're younger than 60 in Colwyn Bay, there are unfortunately not too many places for you to go. Oddly enough, cafes in general don't open until well after 09:30. So, when I discovered "The Glass Lounge" I was pleasantly surprised by not only the coffee (the made REAL caffe macchiato just like in Italy!) but by the atmosphere and free WI-FI. It's well priced, lovely inside and out, and has great drinks. The staff was very polite and helpful and even gave me additional information about places I should try to visit as long as I was in town.

The music is geared to be a bit more alternative and laid back, but is a very comfortable and relaxing spot for a younger crowd. Having said this though, I did see some folks in there who were at the age of grandparenthood. ;)

Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“A nice place to lounge about.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This decent little cafe is situated at the top of Penrhyn Road and the building used to house an old fashioned shoe shop. However, there's nothing underfoot here - it's clean & warm, has comfy seating areas and the limited menu is good. In particular, the smoothies are delicious and a must-try! My only reservations are towards the few staff who seem disinterested in your custom and not very approachable. However, everything else deserves a step up to 4/5.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I come here a lot now to meet friends for a coffee and a catch up. The staff are always friendly, it's a really comfortable place to sit back enjoy a coffee and watch the world go by! I Havnt eaten here but the food always looks fresh and smells delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My Fav Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great food - especially the paninis, amazing smoothies and juices - the one with Chilli is the best!!
My kids love it too. It's where I take all my friends / business associates for lunch.
Best place in the bay bar none.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a medium sized cafe, that does what it does very well. Excellent Sandwiches in a really friendly cafe. The children were made to feel welcome. A good choice of drinks. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glass Lounge also viewed

 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Glass Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glass Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.