We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Picture House

The Picture House
24-26 Princes Drive, Colwyn Bay LL29 8LA, Wales
01492 535286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 66 Restaurants in Colwyn Bay
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
conwy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

often nip in here after work for dinner with a friend. we always find the staff very polite and helpful its just pub grub but it is very reasonably priced and excellent value for money.
we shall kep returning as at least its one of the few places that are consistant.
not recomended for fine dining, but its cheap and cheerful for when you have worked hard and dont feel like cooking you get great service with a smile and decent food(the rib eye steak is excellent as long as you ask for how you like it cooked)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    36
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gwynedd
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a let-down.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We live just outside Bangor, but prefer to travel to either Caernarfon or Colwyn Bay as the Bangor Wetherspoons (a former R.C. Curch) is a) not very clean and b) not very well run. However, on Monday off we went to Colwyn Bay for lunch. Upon ordering a half-chicken lunch for my wife, I was told that there were no vegetables available except peas as the day before had been quite busy. I was advised however that they were prepared to give us some extra peas in lieu at no extra cost! I'd ordered chips to go with the chicken, but after a long wait, it was presented with luke warm microwaved roasters. Bad experience on this occasion - let's hope things improve. In fairness, The Old Picture House has in the past been quite good; we used to go there when it was a cinema. Possibly just a management glitch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Decent food, fantastic price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have just got back from a festive lunch with 14 ladies who all live in Colwyn bay. You can park in the near-by streets for two hours, so that was't too much of a problem.
We only paid £8.25 for a very large main meal and a drink.
There were crackers on the table, and we had the top balcony area to ourselves, so quite private.
The bar staff helped to bring the drinks to us, even though they themselves were rushed off their feet.
The meals were pre-ordered and so they were all brought out pretty quickly. WE all enjoyed our food, the choice was limited to Turkey or Salmon ( UNLESS YOU WANTED THE VEGGIE OPTION).
Some managed to fit in a pudding as well, which again was limited to Christmas pudding or cheesecake, but both looked really nice and was priced at the low cost of just £2.00. I woud have had some if the main course hadn't of been so big.
My only complaint is that it wasn't waitress service but then they have never advertised themselves of having that facility, I never expected it but I think it would have relieved the bar staff a little.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a Great Place to Have a Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We discovered Wetherspoon's restaurants this year and probably due to the specials boards located outside the location...nothing but good eats, I mean really good food for not much money at all. Meal Deal of the Gourmet Burger which includes a beverage can't be beat and the burger is really, really delicious. Burgers, we have found in the UK, have come a long way and can be even tastier than their USA counterparts! The Picture House in Colwyn Bay was a little bit difficult to find since we'd never been there before and were on foot but with the help of strangers we located a little treasure of a place...beautiful on the inside and since we hope to return to north Wales one day when it isn't cold and raining, we'll dine there again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We did breakfast here both days of the holidays. Fantastic start to the day. The only criticism is that they put calories on the menu - that was I knew the large breakfast weighed in at a hefty 1453 calories. Ouch. Would highly recommend this to anyone who needs good cheap food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Picture House also viewed

Llandudno, Conwy County
Rhyl, Denbighshire
 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 

Been to The Picture House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Picture House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.